We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The owner of this resort is concerned with the loss of natural desert lands and habitat. He has designed with a successful incorporation of buildings and maintains an oasis for people and animals. We sat on our deck (room 225) overlooking the rocks and wash and watched the birds and prairie dogs. We heard and saw coyotes. Our room was clean and updated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Peaceful, beautiful grounds, walking trails and great food.... we were well taken care of and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask to face the mountain and desert, its almost as if you're alone there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenMerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear LDmerce,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We are glad that you were able to enjoy all the resort has to offer from the Castias to the true nature of the high Sonoran Desert.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    339
    167
    103
    56
See reviews for
347
1,017
78
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Happy Anniversary to Us! My husband and I just celebrated our first Wedding Anniversary at the Boulders. Truly it is the most beautiful setting for a special occasion. I celebrated my birthday there a year and a half ago and it was so wonderful that I wanted to go back. The property is gorgeous and the service was fantastic - we made a good call. Between the scenery, the rooms and the service I just love it. It's a special place for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were hoping for a relaxing family vacation. I can see how this resort might appeal to some guests, but we found it frustrating. We booked a villa as we have teenagers. What we didnt realize is that the villa was a mile away from the main pool ( more on that later) and a mile away from the fitness center. My kids are also under 18 and so can not access the fitness center ( not mentioned anywhere in the website). My daughter used it anyway. You really need a car to be there w/kids, and I felt like I was the minivan mom again, shuttling husband to golf, son to tennis, daughter to main pool or fitness.There is a shuttle but sometimes you wait for 30 min. The main pool was a disappointment- not nearly enough seats for everyone and filled by 10 am. When I complained they reserved seats for us the one day, but did not try to resolve issue by getting additional seating for the increased demand. the villa pool was tiny, sometimes had no towels and no poolside drinks, etc. So much for my one wish to lie by the pool and have drinks brought to me. Wasn't happening!The villa was apparently renovated in 2008. Strangely it still had stained wall to wall carpeting in bathrooms ( Nasty!!) and tiled countertops which were falling apart, appliances did not work properly, etc. The place clearly had not been renovated since the 90s. Big disappointment with a big price tag.

Room Tip: dont book a villa- some are renovated but others are not. Just avoid them entirely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaritimeAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MaritimeAnne,

Please accept our most profuse apologies for the numerous disappointments you experienced during your family vacation at The Boulders Resort. Our resort is located on 1,250 acres of land; nestled in the 12 million year old boulder formations with casitas, homes and resort amenities strategically designed and located to blend into the tranquil beauty of the high Sonoran Desert and the abundant wildlife which also calls this home.

We are most grateful for bringing our attention to several shortcomings you encountered and assure you we take your feedback extremely serious. Our website is currently being reviewed to insure proper verbiage is present regarding age restrictions at the Spa.

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at The Boulders Resort and for your valuable and candid feedback. We are truly sorry for the frustrations you encountered and for letting you and your family down as our guests.

With our sincere apologies,


The Boulders Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We actually leave this wonderful resort tomorrow, April 9th, but wanted to send a review while our stay is fresh in our minds. The facilities are wonderful and we enjoyed our stay in casita 304. While there is no great view from this casita, the unit is centrally located for all activities. The staff was very cordial and went out of their way to be helpful. The three issues we faced are as follows: (1) I am a college basketball adict and for the men's NCAA semis and the finals there was an issue with the TV "freezing". Someone was sent to look into it, but we were told it was a "system" problem and they could do nothing. (2) Another issue relates to how tennis court fees are handled. Since my wife does not play, I relied on the staff to find players. At any other resort I visited, the court fee is either free for guests or the guest pays only his share. As a guest at The Boulders I had to pay the entire court cost when playing singles with a local or doubles with three locals. (3) Last, the room phones are outdated.
Otherwise, we had a very relaxing stay. There were many touring experiences available, and the resort location was outside the city of Scottsdale which we appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlR427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear CarlR427,

Thank you for your kind comments and amazing review. The Boulders Team strives to provide our guests with a “relaxing” and “wonderful” experience and it was with great delight we read your post.

We are genuinely sorry for the disappointments you encountered, and regret we were unable to fulfill your request to watch the NCAA semis and finals without television interruption. We are most grateful for your valuable feedback and for bringing these shortcomings to our attention. Your comments are currently being reviewed to allow us to better serve our future guests.

Once again, on behalf of the entire Boulders Team thank you for taking the time to share your recent Boulders Adventure.

With our sincere gratitude,

The Boulders Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

There is something healing about the desert. I discovered this during my weekend visit to The Boulders in Carefree, Arizona. From the moment I arrived, I felt soothed. The resort is located on 1,300 acres of unspoiled Sonoran desert, and is home to 12-million-year-old boulders that loom above the dessert like sleeping giants.

This Waldorf Astoria resort offers plush villas, three serene pools, two gyms, yummy restaurants and an impressive spa. There are outdoor adventures available to guests who want to embrace the desert experience, such as rock climbing, hot air ballooning, desert jeep adventures and much more. It’s kind of amazing.

If you’re like my girlfriends and me, I recommend coming to this resort to put the world hold for a weekend. We rejuvenated with hikes and spa treatments. Even more of a treat for us was spending quality time by the pool, sipping fresh squeezed margaritas and eating organic, healthy food. I highly recommend it. Your entire being will thank you.
www.havetotewilltravel.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Nicole M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful and relaxing girls getaway. We hope you enjoyed all we have to offer from the woodburning fireplace in the Casitas to the outdoor walking/hiking paths, to the 33,000 sq ft Waldorf Astoria Spa.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at The Boulders to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. It was a truly wonderful experience for 7 days. The staff could not have been any nicer. The food at Palo Verde was fantastic. The golf courses were in pristine condition. Our bucket list is becoming shorter because our concierge arranged multiple adventures for us to experience. It was truly a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you like peace and tranquility stay in one of the Casitas facing the golf course. We loved the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coop3842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Coop3842,

Thank you for sharing your review with TripAdvisor. Happy 50th Anniversary! We are so glad that our service exceeded your expectations. We hope that you had a wonderful relaxing, and serene stay, enjoying all we have to offer from the Casita's to the Outdoor Adventures through our Concierge service.

Thank you again for sharing your review with TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I joined several other couples at this resort and had a fantastic trip.
The spa was top notch in every sense. The service was great and, to our surprise, the cafe at the spa was fantastic!
The accomodations at the resort are excellent and the entire facility was first rate. Golf course, restaurants and, of course, the views are wonderful.
It is very expensive, but well worht it for a get-away and trip.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms are great. Rooms 200-204 offer excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reillys1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Reilys1013,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with TripAdvisor! We hope you enjoyed your couples getaway, from the Waldorf Astoria Spa to the World-Class Golf Courses at the resort.

Thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing