We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked our trip to The Boulders without really knowing what we were getting into. We wanted to go away for 5 days for a baby moon, but being 7 months pregnant, didn't want to fly more than 5-6 hours from NY. Another factor was cost, as a new baby sucks your wallet dry even before birth as many of you probably already know! So armed with Hilton Honors points and United Airline vouchers, we booked The Boulders. We never heard of Carefree and never been to AZ so it was a gamble, but we figured - at least it will be warm!

We arrived at the hotel with no issues, and were greeted warmly by reception. Our room wasn't quite ready so we had lunch in the Discovery Lounge in the main lodge. It was delicious! Then we were carted (in a golf cart) off to our room. We were in a casita on the 5th hole, pretty far from the main lodge, but nice and quiet. This brings me to my next point: the hotel is VERY spread out. On the one hand, it's nice because you feel like you're a part of the natural scenery, and even if the property is full, you never feel like you're bumping into too many people. However, it does make getting around a little exhausting (especially at 7 months pregnant in the desert!). The staff say that it takes 4 minutes to walk from the lodge to almost everywhere, but that simply isn't true, at least for us. What is nice is that they have bell service which is pretty much like a golf cart taxi service that is free of charge and will pick you up within minutes and take you wherever you need to go on hotel grounds. We tried to be good about walking for the first half of the trip but by the end we were taking golf carts everywhere.

Dining wise there are quite a few options on hotel grounds. We really enjoyed The Spotted Donkey which is in a mall that is just off 'campus' but a golf cart will take you there. We also had a great meal at The Grill/Bogeys which is in the Golf Club and a little fancier. For lunch and breakfast we switched between the restaurant in the Lodge and the Spa most days. It's all a bit pricey but I guess that's normal for hotel fare. We had lots of recommendations for great restaurants outside the hotel, but most of the time we got too lazy to get the car and drive out.

Over the 5 days we spent most of our time at the Spa pool. It is beautiful warm, and there is a delicious menu to order from. We also had treatments at the Spa itself which were divine. The amenities are so nice.

One day was spent driving up to Grand Canyon and Sedona. We had asked 3 different people how long it would take to get to Grand Canyon and the responses we got varied from 2 hours to 4.5 hours. It took us 3 hours almost exactly. It wasn’t bad at all. We split the drive back by stopping in Sedona which was beautiful. We were so glad we were able to fit Grand Canyon and Sedona in, especially since we had never been to either.

All in all, our stay at The Boulders was great. We wish we could have stayed longer. We’re already trying to plan a group trip here with friends and family (my husband is thinking golf trip while I’m thinking spa trip but it has both so no arguments from either side)!

Room Tip: If you don't like walking too far, ask for a room that isn't so remote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apc829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear apc829,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with TripAdvisor. Congratulations on your bundle of joy! We hope enjoyed your Baby Moon in the relaxing comforts of your Casita nestled in The Boulders. We are glad you were able to enjoy not only The Boulders Resort and our many dining venues, but also some of our surrounding areas, like the Grand Canyon.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Boulders whether it be a boy’s golf trip, or a girl’s spa trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,544 - 1,550 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

this is an elegant unique property which i wished that i had an opportunity to fully enjoy more. this is an ideal getaway for relaxationand golf if you have no need to go to scottsdale and/or phoenix. it is a beautiful property with excellent service in a natural setting.unfortunately i had to attend many spring training games and was travelling 45 minutes each way to and from games thus not allowing me the time to fully enjoy what this property has to offer, that is my fault and not the boulders fault. service is better than many 5 star hotels and i would return to only spend time at the resort.

Room Tip: upgrade for a casita which has the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Rafael l,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We hope that you had a wonderful time at the MLB Spring Training games, and we look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing stay!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I found The Boulders on line and went with a good friend for a girls only trip. What an amazing;y wonderful trip! From the moment we arrived we were pampered. The spa gave me the best facial of my life. The instructor for yoga was wonderful. The rock climbing instructor, Kerry, was fantastic and I would tell everyone that this is a must do activity! The concierge sent us to great places for hiking and dining outside the restaurant and helped use book tickets for the Taliesen West night tour. Was this pricey? Well, what would you expect from a Waldorf Astoria? But they earned every penny, and we will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocRose42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear DocRose42,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We hope you had a wonderful girls trip, enjoying all we have to offer from the Waldorf Astoria Spa to the one-of-a-kind Boulder climb!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great hotel nice rooms and dining options within walking distance. Hotel retains it old world charm, but has been upgraded over the years to meet modern standards. Very quiet location with fantastic sunsets and great desert sounds in the evening and early AM.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Phillagirl,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us from our old world charm to our beautiful Sonoran sunsets.

Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcome your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

There are no places to eat there, that are worthy of a 5 star hotel. I went to get a slice of pizza while I was waiting to check in and they flipped out. The rooms are great. Excellent TV, excellent coffee maker, great beds and sheets extremely clean. The pool had a lot branches and leaves in it so that was a problem. I felt the pool wasn't clean enough, but it was ok It's a very good place otherwise. The woman at the bar was rude about me eating my slice of Pizza. Some people their are extremely rude and some people there are very rude.

Room Tip: This is the best place you can get in Scottsdale Az
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aptiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Aptiva1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Boulders Resort and for your kind words. On behalf of our entire Team we are truly sorry for the lapse in service you received. We strive to provide our guests with great service and a wonderful experience and we truly regret the disappointments you encountered.

Our Food & Beverage venues, menus and offerings have been revised since your visit in August 2012. We are grateful for your insight and look forward to welcoming your return to introduce the changes we have implemented.

Once again, please accept our apologies and our thanks for bringing your experience to our attention. We look forward to your return; if we can assist you in anyway, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Quiet, well appointed, beautiful casita rooms. Beds were some of the most comfortable I have slept on. Staff was excellent. Golf courses were well run and fun. Restaurants were the only disappointment - adequate for breakfast and lunch, just OK for dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Linda F,

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to acknowledge the service provided by our Boulders Team. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and we appreciate your thoughtful comments.

Please accept our sincere apology for the disappointment you encountered with our food and beverage offerings. We are most grateful for the constructive feedback, as we are in the process of reviewing our menus and implementing various changes.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved this place. Beautiful Casita with fireplace and patio. It was a little chilly when we were there and the fireplace in the room was perfect as were fireplaces all over the resort. First class service, a little pricey but it was expected. We stayed just a couple of days, wish we could have stayed longer. The spa was nice and serene although the pedicure was really no different than what I get at home, same with the facial. They were pricey too but we expected to pay more for those services than at home. The fitness center was good and the trainers were friendly. The Spa Cafe was great for lunch. Breakfast was expensive. The second day we went to a town breakfast place(The good egg) for half the price. I found all the restaurants to be delicious. I am a vegan and the chefs were accomadating. We didn't have time for a yoga class or golfing, maybe next time. Also, the place was spotless. The bed was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear gbina,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We hope you had a wonderful time enjoying the wood-burning fireplace in the privacy of your casita, and the wonderful Waldorf Astoria Spa. We hope you had a wonderful stay with us!

Thank you again for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range: $314 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing