We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing! Desert Sounds and Sunshine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So relaxing! Desert Sounds and Sunshine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great hotel nice rooms and dining options within walking distance. Hotel retains it old world charm, but has been upgraded over the years to meet modern standards. Very quiet location with fantastic sunsets and great desert sounds in the evening and early AM.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Phillagirl,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us from our old world charm to our beautiful Sonoran sunsets.

Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    330
    163
    101
    52
See reviews for
334
1,004
78
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aptiva1
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

There are no places to eat there, that are worthy of a 5 star hotel. I went to get a slice of pizza while I was waiting to check in and they flipped out. The rooms are great. Excellent TV, excellent coffee maker, great beds and sheets extremely clean. The pool had a lot branches and leaves in it so that was a problem. I felt the pool wasn't clean enough, but it was ok It's a very good place otherwise. The woman at the bar was rude about me eating my slice of Pizza. Some people their are extremely rude and some people there are very rude.

Room Tip: This is the best place you can get in Scottsdale Az
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aptiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Aptiva1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Boulders Resort and for your kind words. On behalf of our entire Team we are truly sorry for the lapse in service you received. We strive to provide our guests with great service and a wonderful experience and we truly regret the disappointments you encountered.

Our Food & Beverage venues, menus and offerings have been revised since your visit in August 2012. We are grateful for your insight and look forward to welcoming your return to introduce the changes we have implemented.

Once again, please accept our apologies and our thanks for bringing your experience to our attention. We look forward to your return; if we can assist you in anyway, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Quiet, well appointed, beautiful casita rooms. Beds were some of the most comfortable I have slept on. Staff was excellent. Golf courses were well run and fun. Restaurants were the only disappointment - adequate for breakfast and lunch, just OK for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Linda F,

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to acknowledge the service provided by our Boulders Team. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and we appreciate your thoughtful comments.

Please accept our sincere apology for the disappointment you encountered with our food and beverage offerings. We are most grateful for the constructive feedback, as we are in the process of reviewing our menus and implementing various changes.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved this place. Beautiful Casita with fireplace and patio. It was a little chilly when we were there and the fireplace in the room was perfect as were fireplaces all over the resort. First class service, a little pricey but it was expected. We stayed just a couple of days, wish we could have stayed longer. The spa was nice and serene although the pedicure was really no different than what I get at home, same with the facial. They were pricey too but we expected to pay more for those services than at home. The fitness center was good and the trainers were friendly. The Spa Cafe was great for lunch. Breakfast was expensive. The second day we went to a town breakfast place(The good egg) for half the price. I found all the restaurants to be delicious. I am a vegan and the chefs were accomadating. We didn't have time for a yoga class or golfing, maybe next time. Also, the place was spotless. The bed was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear gbina,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We hope you had a wonderful time enjoying the wood-burning fireplace in the privacy of your casita, and the wonderful Waldorf Astoria Spa. We hope you had a wonderful stay with us!

Thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Gorgeous setting, excellent service, terrific amenities. The Boulders was a perfect place to spend spring break with family. We had a three bedroom villa with a huge patio, nice kitchen and three full baths, which was perfect for our family of six. The setting here is very dramatic and simply beautiful. Plenty of stuff for parents and kids to do with three pools, golf, tennis, wildlife and exploring the area. Every request was anticipated or met. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vecchiolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Vecchiolaw,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We hope you and your family made wonderful memories while here at The Boulders. Our three-bedroom villa was a great choice for your family of 6 to enjoy on while on Spring Break.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at The Boulders with TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This resort has been on my bucket list for years.
We finally made it here and brought my son and mother in law. It was a wonderful large room with a wood burning fireplace & two large cozy leather chairs. The service was excellent, the location was gorgeous and the room was lovely. I was having trouble getting our fire lit in my room, so the staff came in and lit the fire for me while I stayed in bed. What a treat! My husband tok the photography tour with Linda and he said it was motivating, informative and worth every penny! She was great! We ran over to the bakery in the morning and had an above average breakfast and visited the charming shops. My only regret was that we could not stay another night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear lovetotravel2012_13

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to see that you enjoyed all our casita’s have to offer, from the wood-burning fireplace, to the cozy leather chairs, to the Waldorf Astoria Bedding. And that your husband was able to enjoy the photography tour with Linda.

We hope you had a wonderful family stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We started off our stay with a reservation mix up which was totally my fault. They were so gracious, even though they were full, and worked everything out for us. The staff goes out of their way to meet every need and welcome each guest. We also enjoyed the surroundings. We normally stay in Scottsdale. The Boulders is farther north, and more remote. The boulders are just that, like someone dropped boulders out of the sky. Very unique! We had a great time exploring little towns of Carefree and Cave Creek. However, we decided to go into Scottsdale for a movie and it was 15 minutes. The best of both worlds.
One last thing, loved the fireplace in the room, and best hotel bed ever! Ok, that's 2 things.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klgarcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear klgarcadia,

We are so glad that you were able to share your experience at The Boulders with TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you were able to experience the best of both worlds, the relaxing Sonoran Experience, and the authentic southwestern towns of Cave Creek and Carefree!

We hope to see you back soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct and Jetsetter so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing