We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On my bucket list and finally made it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“On my bucket list and finally made it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This resort has been on my bucket list for years.
We finally made it here and brought my son and mother in law. It was a wonderful large room with a wood burning fireplace & two large cozy leather chairs. The service was excellent, the location was gorgeous and the room was lovely. I was having trouble getting our fire lit in my room, so the staff came in and lit the fire for me while I stayed in bed. What a treat! My husband tok the photography tour with Linda and he said it was motivating, informative and worth every penny! She was great! We ran over to the bakery in the morning and had an above average breakfast and visited the charming shops. My only regret was that we could not stay another night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear lovetotravel2012_13

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to see that you enjoyed all our casita’s have to offer, from the wood-burning fireplace, to the cozy leather chairs, to the Waldorf Astoria Bedding. And that your husband was able to enjoy the photography tour with Linda.

We hope you had a wonderful family stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    340
    168
    104
    56
See reviews for
347
1,020
78
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We started off our stay with a reservation mix up which was totally my fault. They were so gracious, even though they were full, and worked everything out for us. The staff goes out of their way to meet every need and welcome each guest. We also enjoyed the surroundings. We normally stay in Scottsdale. The Boulders is farther north, and more remote. The boulders are just that, like someone dropped boulders out of the sky. Very unique! We had a great time exploring little towns of Carefree and Cave Creek. However, we decided to go into Scottsdale for a movie and it was 15 minutes. The best of both worlds.
One last thing, loved the fireplace in the room, and best hotel bed ever! Ok, that's 2 things.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klgarcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear klgarcadia,

We are so glad that you were able to share your experience at The Boulders with TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you were able to experience the best of both worlds, the relaxing Sonoran Experience, and the authentic southwestern towns of Cave Creek and Carefree!

We hope to see you back soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Scottsdale for medical reasons & found the Boulders Resort by chance! It is a little remote from Scottsdale but that's what makes it so charming! The staff upgraded us to a casita on arrival. It was a wonderful large room with a wood burning fireplace & two large cozy leather chairs. The bathroom is huge & large walk in closet. There are several restaurants on the grounds but we only ate breakfast there & it was very good & service excellent. If you go try & stay several days because you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Karen B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are glad that you happened to stumble onto The Boulders during your stay in Scottsdale, as we are a hidden gem. We hope that you had a relaxing stay with us, taking in all that we had to offer.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your stay exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed there for 7 nights in Jan 2013

Grounds and pools are lovely

Stay in one of the casitas--a bit old but very well kept.
Dinner in the main restaurant was great. Regret did not go there more often-unfortunately we went out most nights

Scottsdale is superb for activities holiday and Boulders is a great place as a base

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kttan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Kttan1970,

Thank you for your sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We hope that in your 7 days here, you were able to experience what The Boulders has to offer, from dining to golf, to rejuvenating spa treatments, to Boulder climbing to walking trails. We hope you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

GORGEOUS setting...check
BEAUTIFUL weather...check
STUNNING landscapes..check
FANTASTIC villa accommodations..check
DELICIOUS food..best burger I've ever had at Bogeys ...check
YUM...Even better cocktails ..check
SUPER comfortable beds...check
LUXURIOUS spa ...check
WANDERING Javelina and quail and rabbits and coyote!..check
GOLF! ...check
POOL!...check
Need I say more?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Elaine C,

Thank you for sharing your Resort checklist with us! We hope that we have meet your expectations, and that you had a wonderful stay.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Boulders is not the most trendy or ritzy option in the crowded greater Scottsdale resort scene. But it is all of the things a resort should be: peaceful, beautiful, decadent and inspired by its locale. For certain travelers the Boulders may be the best choice; we loved it. More below:

Location: The Boulders is located on the Scottsdale-Carefree line among, you guessed it, boulders. While the surrounding area is tranquil it is more or less suburban these days. The property is about an hour from PHX and a solid 20 minutes or more from North Scottsdale's hub of dining and shopping venues. It is close to several excellent golf courses and a satellite of Phoenix's Heard Museum.

Property and Amenities: The resort is located in a master planned community with golf courses and homes. The views and landscape are absolutely stunning. The Boulder's architecture is unique; something newer build resorts often lack. Spa and golf are king here but there is a nice but dated pool and spa and pre-arranged nature excursions.

Rooms: This is where the Boulders shines... The rooms are huge with fireplaces, leather club chairs, a sizable walk-in closet and separate showers and tubs. Most rooms seem to have nice views. Unlike other parts of the resort the rooms seem to have been refreshed recently.

Dining: The formal and casual options at the main building are competent but not noteworthy. For other choices you have to either visit the golf club or the nearby El Pedregal shopping area. For a relatively secluded resort one hopes for more. Room service was good and an attractive option given the comfort of the casitas. Cafe Bink is a 5 minute drive from the resort and offers a locally celebrated modern bistro experience.

Service: Attentive but not in a too-polished corporate kind of way. During our stay several staff members went above and beyond with some unusual requests. You come here to be left alone and the restrained -- but not aloof -- service reflects this.

Bottom Line: This is a great option for those who want a relaxed but elegant view resort stay in Scottsdale heavy on golf and relaxation. This is not a good option for those seeking diverse dining or families with children. This resort will not to be all things to all people. The Boulders, a compelling option and a good value, seems to be the better for it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstClassFedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear FirstClassFedora,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor! We hope that you enjoyed your stay, from the moment you stepped on property to the dining, spa, and golf options, to your departure. We hope that we made each moment a memory.

Thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just stayed at The Boulders in February, eleven years after my first visit. This resort is just as I remembered it - perfection. At check-in, I was upgraded to my own free standing casita
(even though I'm now only Hilton Blue). The resort fee was explained to me and seems like a fairly good deal - wifi, in room coffee/tea, daily newspaper, spa/fitness center access, turn down service, and all tips included). The bell staff is awesome - showed me to my room, put away the bags, and explained all the resort amenities. The bed was extremely comfortable and the fire place created the ambience I had hoped for. The Golden Door Spa is perhaps one of the best spas in the US, if not the world. Had dinner at Bogey's one night - friendly staff, delicious steaks. I highly recommend this resort!!

Room Tip: Ask for a stand alone casita - no one above, no one below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkinCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear welovetotravel40,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with TripAdvisor! We hope that you enjoyed your treatment at the spa and take in all of the tranquil nature that we have to offer.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay, and that the facilities and staff exceeded your expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing