We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity & Pampering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serenity & Pampering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the resort for one night before a business conference at another 5 star resort. From the time of booking through checkout the staff was amazing. The concierge arranged travel and monitored my needs throughout my stay. The casita was warm and inviting with a wood burning fireplace to set the stage for a peaceful rainy evening indoors. I visited the golden door spa and found an organic yet luxurious oasis that most spas only pay lip service too. Though I am a frequent traveler for both personal and business, and read trip advisor reviews to influence my decisions, this property is the only one thus far to inspire my review. Highly recommended and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Marketing Coordinator at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment with your fellow tripadvisor reviewers! We are glad that we were able to make your visit to The Boulders and the Waldorf Astoria Spa so relaxing.

Thank you again and we hope to see you at The Boulders again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    340
    168
    104
    56
See reviews for
347
1,020
78
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although the weather was not perfect, everything else about the experience was. It was a cold rainy day so we took to the Spa & Fitness facility and managed to spend an entire day... breakfast, workout, yoga, lounge and ending with delightfully relaxing spa services. The staff is exceptional. The grounds are amazing. oh! and a wood burning fireplace in your room to relax and melt into. I couldn't ask for much more (except maybe some sun).

If you like to be treated like a high class resident, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Rent a car if you're in from out of town so you can venture out to near by towns and hikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyggggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at the Boulders for 3 nights at the end of January 2013 and while the weather was cold the staff was warm and welcoming. From the first greeting at the gate to check out at 6:45 am the staff were amazing! The property itself is beautiful with the casitas scattered throughout the rocks and the golf course meandering through the hotel everywhere you look is gorgeous.We were upgraded to a Sonoran Casita from my gold Honors level and the room was large and welcoming,a wood burning fireplace,Large walk in shower,soaking tub and nice patio view completed the experience. I didnt get to golf but talking to some who had and seeing the course I will play next time. The Boulders will be my new Phoenix hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Reserved a villa for a golf trip. Was promised 2 King beds, but bedroom #2 was 2 twins shoved together. Asked for a DVR to be put in room so I could record something while playing golf. They couldn't/wouldn't do it!
As to golf, the staff is great. Range is very good. The North course is good. South course is not. Marshall allowed very slow play in front of us.
Too many good alternatives to ever go back to Boulders again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PlC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Marketing Coordinator at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

On behalf of the entire Boulders Team we extend our sincere apologies for the disappointments you encountered during your stay. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and we are truly sorry we let you down.

Thank you for your candid and valuable feedback. All issues, you and your guests, incurred are being reviewed and addressed with our associates. We would be most grateful to have the opportunity to welcome your return and demonstrate the improvements you have inspired.

Once again, we apologize for the shortcoming you experienced and thank you for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent three nights at the Boulders for a brief getaway. We we very pleased with the check in procedure, valets and our Castita which was spacious and very comfortable. The resort was quiet and unfortunately (no fault of the Boulders) extremely cold, 19 degrees one morning with frost on the ponds and fountains. We did manage to play golf (it warmed up to high 40's during the day) at both on site courses which were both beautiful and challenging. We did check out the spa, outdoor hot tub (yes even in the cold) and enjoyed the workout facility. The restaurant next to he gym was awesome and super accommodating to food allergies. Amazingly good breakfasts. We also had literally some if the best room service I've ever had. (The room with its fireplace was so cozy it was hard to leave). We would definitely stay and play at the Boulders again. I think this resort is best suited for golfers and/ or couples looking for a quiet tranquil place to relax. Probably not as well suited for singles, families with small children or people looking for a lot of action or activity, but for us it was bliss!

Room Tip: Older travelers who may have difficulty walking would probably want to be closer to the main lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeekerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once with my husband on a golf/anniversary week trip and once with my sister on a spa weekend. Both times our stay was perfect. The grounds are beautiful, the golf course is amazing, tje spa is first class and the rooms are exceptional. We didn't eat any meals here other than breakfast, because of the wonderful restaurants in the area, but I cannot imagine another resort in the area that could be any better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I make a point to visit every summer due to the discounts given to Arizona residents. Truly lives up to its five star rating. The grounds are amazing, the location is sublime and the service is second to none!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyeaz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing