We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My wife and I have had the good fortune to travel extensively for the past 20 years. We have stayed in some of the finest hotels and resorts in the world and The Boulders is at the very top of our list.
Everything works at The Boulders starting with the setting and location in and around giant million year old boulders, some bigger than my house. The grounds are immaculate. We never spotted a cigarette butt or debris of any sort. The rooms are individual casitas. Some have better views than others but each is very large and comfortable. Great king bed, two large leather easy chairs with ottoman, small desk, good lighting and outdoor furniture. There is a working wood burning fireplace with the wood and starter supplied and restocked daily if you use it. There is a Big functional bathroom with double sinks and jetted bath with a separate shower. There is plenty of storage along with a handy walk-in closet. A new 46 in. Flat screen TV and good A/C and ceiling fan finish off the perfect resort room.

We played both golf courses and thoroughly enjoyed them. This property is one of the nation's top rated golf resorts. I can't imagine a better one. The courses were in impeccable condition and the scenery was distracting. What a great golf experience.

Lastly a work about service. The best of the best. It didn't matter whether it was in a restaurant, or ordering a receiving room service, or asking for your car, or interacting with the golf staff, it was always very good and very friendly.

It seems like I've left out some stuff that you should know. But know this: It really doesn't get any better than The Boulders.

Room Tip: They are are good but ask for a room with a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    355
    182
    111
    63
See reviews for
364
1,065
83
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

What a beautiful place! The hotel has been built right against huge boulders (-duh) and a nice golf course. The rooms are located in separate buildings away from the main lodge. You can walk around or they will drive you in one of the many golf carts. The main lodge is very nice with comfortable dinning and a wonderful pool poised in front of some huge stones with a tiny waterfall. My room (303) was very large (22' x16') and well appointed. The wood burning fireplace was a very nice touch, as it really cooled off in the March night. The bed was very comfortable and the flat screen TV was nice and big. All the units have a private patio or balcony. The bathroom was also very large (16'x 11') and provided a luxurious feel. The exercise facility was also filled with many newer machines and was very clean. There is second pool area there. The free Wi-Fi everywhere was very strong. Every member of the staff was extremely friendly and knew the right blend of trying to be helpful without bugging you. It is a great place to go and relax. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin_WalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a five night stay at The Boulders resort. We have stayed at many resorts over the years and The Boulders is the best of the best. They invented the concept of customer service. It's a beautiful property, the tennis courts are amazing, the spa is the nicest we have been to. Hiking trails are nearby. Everything about the place is 5 star. We felt relaxed and pampered. We will certainly choose to stay there again if we return to Arizona.

Room Tip: I can't think of any place on the property that wouldn't be a place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank family k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersResort, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
It is a pleasure to receive such an amazing review from a recent guest. We appreciate your feedback regarding our exceptional service, tennis gardens and the Golden Door Spa. It is exciting to hear that we have succeeded in providing the service and care for which we are renowned.

We look forward to hosting you in the future when you return to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

What a beautiful resort!

Rooms:
- They are very spacious and have a fire place.
- The ground floor rooms are a bit dark and you hear every step of the people above you. So I would recommend to book a room upstairs.
- The bathrooms need updating. In our bathroom they updated the shower but this is not enough. Also there was no proper heating in the bathroom so it was very cold.
- They also need to update the AC. It was very noisy, also the one of upstairs.
- Not a fan about the wooden beams on the ceiling, feels dirty (they are painted white, but have lots of cracks)
- Housekeeping need to be more detailed, not clean everywhere.

Golf course: unbelievable beautiful

Bar: great margaritas, well done! Unfortunately they don't have an outside bar or dining.

Restaurant: a bit expansive and the breakfast was inconsistent, some days excellent, some days poor (service and food).

The spotted donkey is a great restaurant with BIG plates and reasonable prices. It's close by.

The spa is nice but overpriced.

Only downside: we found two moths in our room (at the walking closet). We didn't think too much about it but then I found several little holes in three of our shirts and in one expansive sweater. So the moths were clearly the ones who eat your clothes. NOT cool!

I hope this was just a one time incident. We would like to come back this year and bring the family but we are not sure yet.

Overall we had a great time!

Room Tip: Book a room upstairs (although it's more expansive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrauKritisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersResort, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
The Boulders Resort would like to thank this guest for the feedback, as it is through the valuable comments that you provide that allow us to improve upon the overall service and experience we extend. Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of consistency during your recent stay. Although we appreciate your positive review of The Spotted Donkey Cantina and our signature cocktails, we have unfortunately failed to meet your expectations at breakfast. We greatly appreciate the comment and extend our thanks for the kind words about our beautiful, award-winning golf courses. We are most grateful for bringing our attention to the descriptions of our accommodations. We are currently addressing this to avoid any future misunderstandings.

We have contacted the guest directly to make up for our shortcomings and look forward to welcoming this guest back to The Boulders in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel was amazing. It is definitely one of the coolest hotels I've ever been to. The only downfall would the location of the actual hotel rooms. You, more or less, stay in a little vila... and they're so far from the main hotel lobby/business center that you have to call the hotel staff to pick you up in a golf cart. Most of the time the cart or mini bus arrived in a timely fashion, other times, not so much. It's nearly impossible to just run back and forth to your rooms. All in all though, it was a really great experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank afelric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed here while on business, to break up my time, and admittedly i was a little lonely. The resort was so beautiful that it would have been much better to share the time with someone! There is so much to see in the landscape, a unique desert scape of varying colors. The rooms were comfortable and the fireplaces were a lovely finishing touch. I will definitely return, with company next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I went here with 3 other friends for an annual "girls trip" weekend.

From the time you drive up until the time you leave, someone is taking care of you! They charge you a daily resort fee, but this is WELL worth not having to tip someone every time you get help, and feeling like you can really relax.

The villa (I believe these are individually owned, but rented out by the hotel) was up-to-date, with what was basically 2 master suites. There was a kitchen, which was sufficient (although lacking a few minor things like a non-stick skillet). Small back patio as well.

You can easily walk around this resort, which reminded me of the Flintstones! There are brown boulders and cactus everywhere, so it was a very cool, and serene feel. The resort is spread out, so any time you want a lift, you just call the front desk and they come get you, on either a golf cart or a shuttle bus (which will also take you to local places, like the strip mall next door, where there are restaurants & shops).

The Golden Door Spa - just beautiful. Expect to pay some fairly steep prices for services, but it is worth it. We used the gym, which was well-appointed with modern equipment, and very clean. We all had massages - I did the hot stone massage, which was fine, but it was the first time I'd had one, and it was too "soft" for me. However, the setting was wonderful, and staff was on their game. There is also a sauna and steam room. Outside the spa, there is an adult pool & hot tub. It was too cool to use the pool, but we got plenty of use out of the hot tub.

We did eat at the restaurant in the hotel on our first night there (Latilla,) but I probably wouldn't go back (which apparently isn't possible, because they closed it!). It was very expensive (which we somewhat expected) but none of us were in love with our meal.

There are many short side-trips you can take from the resort if you have a car, including a short drive to a hiking trail called PIkes Peak. It's only about a mile to hike up, and well worth it, as the views are just awesome.

Note, I didn't get the impression that this would be the best resort for kids. It is a very adult atmosphere. There are swimming pools, but to me, it would have felt awkward having my kids with me in such a setting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2kidsneedvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing