We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of Rome in Arizona”

Alberto Italian Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Carefree
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: owned and operated by Alberto Liani, it is a small (11 table) restaurant in Carefree, Arizona (near the Boulders Resort). He formerly operated a restaurant in Beverly HIlls and it is one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten in. he prepares all of his food (even the bread) from scratch. Telephone Number is 480-488-5800
Peoria, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Little piece of Rome in Arizona”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The owner is from Rome. What else do you need? The food was fantastic as was the service; it was like dining at a friend's home. A bit pricier than I would have liked; two entrees and two glasses of wine landed us at 75 plus a tip. So just be prepared. But the food, location, service and ambiance were all wonderful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Luv2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian food and welcome!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We love coming to see Alberto and enjoying his genuine Italian cooking. The venue is so cute, and this guy knows how to use his wood-fired oven. Everything I've tried off the menu has been good. Parking is really easy, and service is exceptional. The house wine is fab.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjgiantsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expected more for the money.”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Weekday dinner visit. Second time here. First visit was ok, thought I'd give it a second try. First visit had ravioli and sausage side. Ravioli was very good, sausage way to salty and dry. Other guest had lasagna that was reported good. Recent visit I had spaghetti pescadora, red sauce. Sauce seemed old and dry. Some of the seafood seemed fresh and other older and dry. Crab was very stringy and exceptionally small. Most was not worth taking the time to crack open. Other guest had Cesar salad and broschutto. Nothing special. Atmosphere was dated but clean. Owners were very nice and attentive. Other staff members did no interact much. With 3 glasses of wine, bill was nearly $100. Much to high for an ok experience.

Helpful?
Thank 446tjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in town..!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I recommend this restaurant to eat special italian food with Alberto and his staff always kind and professional.
See you soon...

Helpful?
2 Thank Cristiano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No very big but well worth it”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We decided to try Alberto's even though the reviews were mixed. We were met at the door by Alberto and he was our waiter. We had a terrific time and the food was outstanding. I requested something that wasn't on the menu and left it up to the chef how it was prepared. I was not disappointed. My wife had a pasta with a hot red sauce and she loved it. We will go back again for sure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank weholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Alberto Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing