We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional English High Tea”

English Rose Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The English Rose Tea Room has been serving Afternoon Tea in Carefree for over 10 years. Try a scone with jam and cream or our much acclaimed 'Duchess of Bedford's Formal Afternoon Tea'. Better yet, sample one of our delicious salads or our homemade cottage pies. We import our cream from Devon and serve only the finest teas, with over 25 varieties to chose from on our menu.Open 7 days a week throughout the year, we look forward to seeing you! Call for summer hours.
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional English High Tea”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Pricey, but the experience is special and makes it worth it. My girlfriend and her mom were truly happy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    43
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very English , even a model of the Queen to greet you, made for a great photo. We ordered a Duchess of Bedfordshire afternoon tea each....we should have had one between us. It was enormous and very delicious. A good staff and excellent decor as an English tea room. My 3rd visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 740Elly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tea for 3 and lunch too!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a lovely lunch - quiche, salads and soup. The food was
very good but there was a huge group of ladies dining together so it was noisier than we thought it would be. We could have eaten
outside and probably should have. It was a fun place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Proper Authentic English Tea”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the restaurant. It almost felt like playing dress up as a little girl. All the tea cups are fine china and the tablecloth and decor are just beautiful. The Devon cream is imported from England and you can get a high tea with cucumber sandwiches and all the English delicacies. All the staff is very friendly and explains everything quite nicely. Nice

Helpful?
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Ladies Lunch”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Four of us had lunch including a teenager and everyone loved their meals. Salads, quiche, bread, tea sandwiches all delicious. Their chocolate desert was decadent and shared by 3 of us it disappear in a blink of an eye. This was a fun place and very different, very 'girly'. If you feel like getting all gussied up with a hat, do so.

Would go back again with out of town guests. A fun place for lunch - out of the ordinary.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Rose Tea Room also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Carefree, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to English Rose Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing