We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stop for lunch/sounvenirs”

Cameron Trading Post
Book In Advance
More Info
$168.00*
and up
Grand Canyon Tour with Sedona and Navajo Reservation Stops in One Day
More Info
$144.32*
and up
Grand Canyon and Navajo Indian Reservation
More Info
$139.99*
and up
Ancient Spirits of the Canyon from Sedona
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Cameron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great stop for lunch/sounvenirs”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were coming from Sedona, heading to the Grand Canyon, by way of the Wupahti National Park, which I also recommend and stopped at the Cameron Trading Post for lunch and to check out the souvenirs, of course, since we had 2 teens in the car that like to eat and shop!! They have tons of things in there , some bargains and some beautiful pottery (more pricey but good).Lunch was the best. Comfortable atmosphere and good food, nice menu. I had this Indian Fry bread taco that was wonderful. It was the mini version but it was huge. I should have bought a package of the fry bread mix that was sold in the store to take home!! We went in November and it was just a little busy but there is not much else around and it is a popular stopping place and good for a bathroom break!! Don't miss it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chips57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    137
    40
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big Selection”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place has a huge selection of great finds, however some items aren't authentic Native American hand made. Lots of products had tags that said "made in Taiwan" or "made in china" which was kind of off putting. Also I found them to be slightly over-priced, but don't let it deter you there are still a lot of good finds here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Everything a tourist could want”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

What an Aladdin’s Cave of tourist treats this place is! We took a short break at the trading post on our way to the Grand Canyon NP, and were amazed at the array of not-inexpensive local handicraft and jewellery goods on offer at this extensive shopping experience. Luckily, we were able to find some coffee in amongst the merchandise. Certainly worth a look as there are some very attractive goods on display.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stop going to/from the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We found the Trading Post by accident when driving from the Grand Canyon (which was 'closed' due to the Government shut-down) to Sedona. We were looking for a place to have lunch and thought we would check out this dot on the map. Lunch was excellent - we had never experienced anything like the fry bread before. I guess this place would get very busy when the Grand Canyon is 'open' but when we stopped here it was very quiet. The gift shop has a huge range of items from cheap Chinese-made souvenirs to truly beautiful Navajo arts and crafts. We bought a beauthiful piece of pottery which now has pridce of place in our cabinet..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Walnut_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“cameron: more than just a trading post”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

if you are in northern arizona, say on your way to the grand canyon, a stop at cameron "trading post" is well worth the time. cameron is not only an active trading post, but also a gas station, a post office, a restaurant, a motel and a first-rate gallery with higher-end indian art. the restaurant caters to tour buses as well as locals. indeed, for a time the menu included lamb stew, which was delicious. today, the indian fry bread is probably the best of the fare. while in the restaurant look around at the gorgeous handmade navajo rugs. after visiting the post, stroll north to gaze into the gorge of the little colorado river. in the rainy season, the "river", shallow though it is, will be running a muddy chocolate brown, coloring the main river at their confluence where the colored water of the little mingles with the usually green/blue of the big river. if tired, the motel offers clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. be advised, however, because of its proximity to the navajo reservation, the post has no alcohol; bring your own.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameron Trading Post also viewed

 

Been to Cameron Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing