We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cameron
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice staff and a great location”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Booked at the last minute while driving on I-40 east. Got last two bedroom room. Know location so wasn't expecting much but, I was surprised. Great view off of 2nd floor balcony. Very friendly staff. Great location for visiting south rim of canyon. Bring your appetite to the restaurant. Your plate will be full. I think the rooms are great. I've stayed in worse rooms at Disney World. If you are coming this way stay here you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertlpendarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    452
    118
    41
    24
See reviews for
263
439
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DK
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Me and my family was touring the South West and choosed this hotel on our way from GC to Page. We booked a family room for one night and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is comfortable and well located. The familyroom was spacious, two queen size beds in one room with hand washing facilities, in the "sitting room" there was a queen size couch which was okay. Very fine free parking facilities - we were able to park right outside and move luggage in easily. There were a restaurant, a large store with clothes, jewellery, hats etc. and also a little grocery. We had the nice garden outside our room. Fast check-in - nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsbouet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just outside the grand canyon an next to a gas station and restaurant makes this hotel a good stopover. Rooms are pretty big and clean. Free wifi. 100 + usd doesnt make it cheap but taking into account that there are not many options close and tuba city also filling up quickly in the high season it isnt that bad. Its a pretty big place and looks far better than a normal motel. If you arrive late go to the nextdoor shell station to check availability and pay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

After riding 400 miles by motorcycle down through Utah and the North Rim, this hotel was a welcome sight for us and a good place to stop before we continued through the South rim and on to Sedona the next morning. The hotel rooms were clean and well appointed. The rates were good. Everything was available to us in the massive store/gift shop and we were happy to eat in their dining room and not have to ride the bikes anywhere. The only disappointment was the lack of a cold beer with dinner to wash away the pains of the road at the end of the day. The hotel is dry, not sure if it is because the reservation is dry or what but just be forewarned that you need to bring your own for your room if you are that thirsty. Obviously wasn't an option for us. The iced tea made for a decent substitution to re-hydrate us for the next day's ride. Enjoyed a good night's rest and our brief stay at the hotel. Stocked up on plenty of trinkets for the people back home and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImATravelinFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbine ia
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

i would highly rcommend this hotel. I was clean, a good value for the money(even had plush bath towels).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tremwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We really liked this motel. Lots of fun, clean, terrific location (about 50 miles from Grand Canyon entrance) and great value.

However, steer clear of the restaurant. Awful! We ordered the burritos and enchiladas. We are very low maintenance eaters but both were inedible. Maybe they do better with hamburgers and fries but we're not going to bother.

Room Tip: If you are willing to carry bags to 3rd floor, you get a great view with low price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PokerScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Well we stopped here on our way from Grand Canyon to Lake Powell. We booked this place in advance because everything around the Grand Canyon was reserved.
The price is far too expensive for what you get. We paid around 100€ a night, for what is a very poor motel. Yet, they know that there is nothing around and they can charge whatever they want, but still there were stains on my bed sheets, the restaurant close at 10 p.m., which is not practical if you arrive late, and the rooms are very old!
At the same time this place is just made for overnight stops, so I guess you cannot expect too much!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrauniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron
20.1 mi away
Quality Inn Navajo Nation
Quality Inn Navajo Nation
#2 of 3 in Tuba City
606 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
239 reviews
49.7 mi away
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant & Inn
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant ...
#1 of 1 in Kykotsmovi Village
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel

Property: Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel
Address: US Highway 89, 54 Miles North of Flagstaff, Cameron, AZ 86020
Location: United States > Arizona > Cameron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cameron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodations range from motel rooms to RV hookups, located on the Navajo Reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Trading Post

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing