We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Mexican Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Charro

El Charro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alta Loma
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is an authentic family run Mexican food restaurant. The grandmother makes a great soup with tomatoes, noodles, onions, cilantro etc... YUM! The Carnitas burrito melts in your mouth with an explosion of flavor, oh so good! We went for lunch and loved it so much went back the next day for breakfast. The huevos rancheros was so good and flavorful with homemade tortillas. Our service was very friendly and quick. They even have music in the afternoon. We will come here every time we come to Bullhead City from now on. What a great place. It's worth the drive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The BEST!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Best home made tortillas and chile relleanos in town!!!! We go there all the time and the food is always consistent!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Service & Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

El Charro serves some of the best Mexican food we’ve ever had, and the service is so warm and inviting it is no wonder it is rated so highly after only being in business for 2 years!

Our waitress Silvia exuded tons of personality and enthusiasm, and we instantly felt like part of the family.

The chips were light and fresh, and both salsas were yummy. I usually find Sopa de Fideo a waste of time, but this is not the case at El Charro – it was scrumptious!

The better ½ had a delicious beef burrito with fresh Verde sauce. I had the 3 tostada special: one with carne aside, one with ceviche and one with pork – all were super fresh, not too heavy but hugely delectable! A bloody-maria was expertly made with a glass rimmed with (I think) a chile-lime salt.

Can’t wait until our next visit!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DazedNAmused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Best authentic Mexican food in southern Arizona ! Even grandma makes handmade tortillas right in front of you! Closed on Mondays but worth the wait.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BILLYWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mexican Delight, Great Food, Family Run, Bargain Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came to watch football on the 'Big Screen', and enjoy tall, cold, mugs of 'Happy Hour' beer. We ended up staying for a great dinner, while being treated like family friends, not just another customer. This is a great family and friends get together place, just off Hwy 95 on Zercon. With two dinnings rooms, a cozy 10 seat full service bar, draft Mex and US beers, served in tall frosty mugs, and servers who treat you like family. I ordered a Pick 3 comb. dinner rice, and beans. Just awsome, all fresh, homemade meals & tortillias, good salsa, cold beer, great prices and service.
Stop for a cold one, and tell Daniel hi for me, if I'm not sitting at the bar already....(<;

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank padre49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro also viewed

 

Been to El Charro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing