We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pie, pie, pie”
Review of Rock Springs Cafe

Rock Springs Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pie, pie, pie”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I believe that Rock Springs has undergone management changes in recent times, and it has definitely improved because of that. We have never had an actual meal here, but we have had large amounts of pie. Because it is usually busy, if you just want pie or ice cream, go to the back counter to buy a slice (there are tables nearby that you can use). Also, if you want to buy a whole pie for later, pick one up at the pie counter. Anyway, the staff are helpful and friendly. If you want to stop for a snack or dessert, stop here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leafshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    220
    103
    65
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pie with breakfast”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Prius had a mind of its own when I saw the Rock Springs Cafe billboard for food and homemade pies. I had every intention of sailing right on to Phoenix from Prescott. Instead I enjoyed prompt service at the counter for the Jack Daniels pecan pie AND the breakfast combo of corned beef hash-eggs-large biscuit-homefries. I loved this place; the bustle,the friendliness, the food quality, and the flashback feel of arriving by stage for vittles for the journey. Give it a try, enjoy the pecan pie!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Skip the Food, Buy the Pie”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After hearing so much about this place, we decided to take a Sunday drive to Rock Springs for dinner and pie. As usual, the parking lot was fairly full when we arrived but were able to be seated in the restaurant without wait. While I appreciate the "old west" look of the place, I agree with some of the other postings that point out that the place could use a good cleaning and update. There is no excuse for torn seat cushions and wobbly tables. My companion ordered a hamburger and I had the catfish. The best part of the entire meal was my small salad because at least it was fresh. French fries were cold, the cat fish was beer battered not corn meal fried (interpret as soggy) and the obviously frozen corn was a water-filled mess. However, the mixed berry pie was delicious.

The entire time I was there, I was hoping to see Robert Irvine, the restaurant makeover star, enter the cafe and begin throwing food on the floor. It's is that kind of experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallrdhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty Tourist Stop”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This cafe is in the middle of nowhere just off I-17 between Phoenix and Prescott Arizona. The few mismatched buildings that line the over-sized parking lot give the area a shanty-town impression. But for good reason the parking lot is practically full most of the time. The cafe, buried in the middle of this beat up, old western village lies a few steps beyond the pie case, which is very hard to pass without viewing all the decadent pies. The tables/chairs match the rustic wooden walls/beams. If it weren't for the refrigerated cases and overhead lights, the interior could come from the early frontier era.
The PO' boy catfish sandwich could not be handled; it was overstuffed and dressed for use by silverware only (that's a good thing)! The cobb salad was also overabundant but very fresh, even after taken home in a "to go" carton.
We've visited this place a dozen times, sometimes just for the pecan or lemon meringue pies, sometimes just for a scenic drive to lunch. We always check out the farmers' market/souvenir shop just to the north of the cafe. Once we stopped in the herbal/incense shop just to the south. All the shops are worth a visit, but eat first, so you can burn off some of the calories while souvenir shopping.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy, yummy”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The pies were wonderful just like we remembered. The staff were so helpful. Well worth the trip. It was a great variety of flavors and the Jack Daniels Pecan pie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Springs Cafe also viewed

Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
 
Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rock Springs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing