We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service”
Review of Chilleen's on 17

Chilleen's on 17
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wickenburg, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

large space and good food -saw this on bar rescue show so we tried it out .Worth the stop when traveling on the interstate 17.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    56
    25
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile


The service started out really rocky. We sat at our table for 5-10 min waiting for someone to help us. Not enough servers and really disorganized, some peeps that came in a few minutes after us got waited on first and we waited another few minutes before someone came to take our drink order. When she finally did come we ordered our food as well as our drinks. For starters we had the fried green chilies. AWESOME! Our appetizer arrived at our table within 5 min of ordering, maybe less. They seemed to be freshly made and super tasty! Within 3-4 min of getting our appetizer our dinners arrived. The portions were fairly large. The brisket was a little on the cool side but still super juicy and fork tender. The beef rib and chicken combo was outstanding. Both the chicken and beef were very juicy, flavorful and piping hot. The baked beans resembled/tasted like they were right out of a can of Van Camp's Pork and Beans with some added earthy spices. The coleslaw was mediocre as well but we all know they are just extras, the meat is the main act and the meat was goooood!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinTots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“ok, but not worth the trip”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We live in Anthem, and had headed up to Old Towne Cottonwood for the day. We were headed home, and decided to stop in for a drink and late afternoon snack at Chileen's. We had heard a lot about it having recently moved to the area. We are KCBS Certified BBQ Judges, and have had some great and bad BBQ in the various competitions we've judged. Unfortunately, Chileen's just didn't 'cut the mustard'. It was ok, but we've had MUCH better. We had the chicken and rib combo, with beans and cole slaw. The ribs were close to done, but did not come off the bone properly. The chicken was ok, but the BBQ sauce was close to ketchup. The beans were bland, and the cole slaw needed flavor and salt.... badly. A better choice nearby in Anthem is Q-2-U-BBQ - a small place in a small strip, but with MUCH better BBQ.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Luv2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The New Chilleen's on 17 - Bar Rescued and beyond”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

To experience the changes that Chilleen’s on 17 has seen over the last few months has been very exciting. Ever since the show Bar Rescue came in and remodeled and reworked the menu the food, service and atmosphere here has been great. Donna, Scott and Chilleen family took the changes that Bar Rescue made and improved on them. The BBQ is fantastic but haven’t had anything bad on the new menu so far. Love the “17 Sweet Tea.” Worth the stop on I-17 anytime we are passing by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreekerCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Arizona
Level Contributor
600 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,048 helpful votes
“Okay if you are very hungry”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Not quite sure why this same restaurant (same address, same building) has TWO review sites.
We pulled into the parking lot on our way to Prescott, but it looked too "iffy" and we did not go in. That worked out well, as then we stopped at the "50's Backseat Diner" further up the road, and had a wonderful lunch there.
We were taking a different way coming back, and after checking on TripAdvisor and seeing this place ranked #2, decided to eat lunch here. It's really nice inside. Lots of atmosphere and very comfortable seating. The waitress was also personable and pleasant.
The food............................well ........ ! I inquired if the chili was spicy and was told no. Truth is that it was one of the spiciest bowls of chili I have ever had. It was HOT spicy, and I would not have ordered it had I been told. My husband ordered the "Western Burger". He was asked how he wanted it cooked, and he said "medium rare" (his usual!). Medium rare???????????? This was not even well done, it was burnt and dry. We were in a bit of a rush, so just ate what we could and left.
Not stopping there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NYU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilleen's on 17 also viewed

Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
 
Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
 
Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
Black Canyon City, Central Arizona
 

Been to Chilleen's on 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing