We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Tombstone Canyon Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tombstone Canyon Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Bisbee B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

David and I were in Bisbee to celebrate our anniversary, but we nearly froze instead of celebrating in the bedroom with the king-size bed. We slept with wool sox on as the many windows must have been single-paned and the single furnace register could not keep the small bedroom and tiny bath warm. Also, the furnace was so noisy, earplugs were necessary to block out its noisy blast.

We also never saw the owner or manager. We waited around for hours since the office door had a "Closed" sign until we accidentally discovered the keys had been left in the unlocked room.

The room itself was uncomfortably furnished although the bed was great. There were only two spindly bistro chairs but no comfortable lounging-type furniture and we found only one wine glass in the cupboard.

We would not stay here again and certainly do not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

You can find yourself spending hundreds a night in over-pampered luxury hotels, but I always leave feeling like I forgot to just take a deep breath and relax. This amazingly comfortable historic hotel is doused in local luxuries; art, photos, rich coffee. Located just above the Main Street in Bisbee, you can spend hours people watching from the perfectly affixed wooden patio or take a short walk from your front door to some of the eclectic art galleries. Everything is at your finger tips, and with a free round of golf so generously included in this bargain, it's the best little getaway that has to be experienced. Only downside, you won't want to leave, but the incredibly accommodating owner of this great secret will always go above and beyond for you to extend or plan your next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmleclair25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I LOVE this Inn and it is the only hotel i go to when i visit Bisbee. The service is very great and the owner does whatever he can to accommodate the guests. it is directly above Maine street, you can walk almost everywhere from here. perfect location.. i highly recommend this hotel. I think the rooms are very cozy. the queen suite is my favorite.

Room Tip: queen suite is my favorite the office is also a home so do not get mad if it is closed leave a cel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

First, you'll need to realize this is a two-room Inn, not a B&B as Trip Advisor suggests. Next, it is run by one person and your check-in is by appointment. We arrived an hour early and found ourselves buying time until we received a call 2 minutes before our previously communicated arrival. With those considerations out of the way, the room and experience was very nice.

BALCONY - The two rooms share a whole balcony and there is a table/chairs for each which are great for evening & morning sitting.

KITCHEN - We stayed in the Queen suite. You enter the large sliding glass door into a full kitchen (large fridge, gas stove, all dishes & cookware included). There's a tile breakfast bar as well, which had restaurant menus and suggestions.

BATHROOM - The bathroom was nice, uniquely laid out but in a nice way. Toilet, urinal (as a guy I enjoyed that perk), and shower/tub combo. All fixtures worked as they should, and the shower was a nice 'rainshower' style that was GREAT after a long day in the hot AZ sun. The cleanliness was 4 out of 5, a couple hairs on the ceiling but that's okay for an inn like this (I've stayed at plenty like this, most are worse than a couple hairs).

BEDROOM - The bedroom was really cool, 5 of 5 for sure. It's separate from the kitchen, has two tables, lamps, and dimming sconces. They really designed a compact space well. The bed was really comfortable and firm, I am a finicky sleeper and had no trouble at all.

SERVICE - Despite the issues at check-in, the owner was very informative about where to eat and drink, same for where to avoid. He also went out of his way to chat me up when on the deck in the morning...even called after we left to make sure we had a good stay (was not invasive about any of it, just certainly engaged in his property).

OVERALL - The price is a tad high IMO, most properties like this are maybe $10-15 less but Bisbee can be a bit more expensive than others. That keeps me from rating it a 5. By the way, the location was GREAT, half up the hill toward the best restaurants but still 5 mins walk to the heart of Old Bisbee. If we come back, I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MySalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Wasn't too sure about booking these place because it only has 2 suites? Wow were we surprised! It was nice not to have to share the Inn with others.. it felt almost like we were in a private home. Our friends were in the suite next to us so we had the balcony all to ourselves. A young lady showed up with clean towels and asked if we needed anything. The beds are very comfortable in both rooms. The rooms were very clean as was all the kitchenware. Its walking distance to all the little shops and restaurants. We loved having the place all to ourselves! We will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: This is a nice place to stay with kids too.. the rooms connect if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImaBelieverNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here on our way east after a long day's drive and no reservations. Bisbee seemed like an interesting place, so we drove through town and saw this Inn. A knock on the door brought out a very kind gentleman who said he had a room. The suite was spacious with a mini kitchen, comfortable bed, and shared balcony. The owner offered suggestions for good restaurants and everything you'd like to see in Bisbee is within walking distance from this location. Overall, the Inn is quiet and met all our needs. If we return to southern Arizona, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am the companion from Northern Ireland that stayed for two nights with reviewer Lewis D below. Lewis has related his experience of staying at this establishment in some detail and there is not a great deal that I can add about my similarly thoroughly disappointing stay at this property. As with Lewis's accommodation the bedroom and bathroom cleanliness left much to be desired and there were no comfortable chairs provided. Fortunately my bed was also of a good standard with clean linens, and luckily, in my case, having a duvet to keep warm. However, in two days the room and bathroom were not serviced at all. Additionally in my opinion a B & B classification certainly leads one to expect that a breakfast of some sort is provided; indeed the high price charged also tends to indicate a meal should be included.

In summary; a great disappointment and certainly not as advertised on the website, nor worth the money charged. Think again on this one. It certainly is in a convenient location in Bisbee for all the towns facilities. However, the property itself is a great disappointment in real life and one has to conclude is poorly managed by an absentee host/owner who can't even bother to show up at any point in a two day stay!

A similarly run and standard B & B establishment in Ireland or the UK charging these prices would get really bad reviews and most likely as a result of this only be granted a very low rating by the Tourist Boards.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bisbee hotels
0.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Castle Rock
The Inn at Castle Rock
#9 of 14 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Oliver House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Canyon Inn

Property: Tombstone Canyon Inn
Address: 102 Tombstone Canyon Rd, Bisbee, AZ 85603 (Formerly Old Bisbee Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're conveniently located in Bisbee's Historic District near shops & dining; a 100-year old establishment where your privacy is respected, the inn features one king and one queen suite, each with cable TV, wet bar, private bath and deck overlooking Castle Rock and Tombstone Canyon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing