We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underground Fun”
Review of Copper Queen Mine

Copper Queen Mine
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Bisbee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Underground Fun”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We've done this tour several times, and each one is slightly different - very much depending on the personality of the guide (who is almost certainly a former miner with his own experiences to recount). You will ride in on what is referred to as a train, but is in fact a series of cars with long padded seats. If you suffer from claustrophobia, you probably don't want to go a third of a mile into a long underground tunnel...but otherwise, it's definitely worth it! The presentation of the "toilet car" is probably worth the tour all by itself!

The tour is stated as taking an hour, but you should set aside two hours - get there well ahead to buy the tickets, and browse the little shop...more time is consumed getting everyone suited up. In the summer this may be a welcome cool spot - and in the winter, it might be warmer than outside!

Enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    135
    16
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“exciting experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

if you go to Bisbee, please experience the historical tour into the Mines. you travel 1500 feet into a mine on the small scaled train with your personal tour guide, learning about the different minerals that mined in this area. a fascinating experience.....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great taste of hardrock mining!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've been here before. Not much different really. But each tour guide has varying tales and information. Guess I feel it is such a great cause, giving them 13 bucks is a good idea even if I didn't take the tour again. Always did though, And I was always glad I went again. Not at all like a tour of a modern pit mine operation. This is the real McCoy deal. I hope it stays open for generations more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OregonLogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mine Tour”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Super informative, well priced for what you see and learn, you have to make this part of your Bisbee experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Burger was not at all fresh, definitely frozen and poor quality. The taste was with me all day. Soup was home made and delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copper Queen Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing