We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay. Not great.”
Review of Hotel San Ramon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel San Ramon
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Staff is friendly and helpful. Heater wasn't working when we got there and they sent a maintenance man fairly quickly. There was mold on the shower curtain and soap scum in the tub. ZERO counter space. Makes it difficult (at least for a woman) to get ready. No fridge. TV remote barely worked. WiFi is super slow. I didn't get much cell reception in the room, but my cell phone's internet was faster if I was outside. They recommended a restaurant that wasn't even open anymore, even though it was right next door.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WATraveler58708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanRamon, Owner at Hotel San Ramon, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear guest,

I am so sorry to hear your stay was anything less than perfect. We do take our customers' feedback very seriously and actions have been taken to remedy the issues you found. As a manager who inspects the housekeeping regularly, and holds our cleanliness to a high standard, this is unacceptable. In regards to the bathroom space issue, we've been on the lookout for small tables that will both fit, look nice, and work for the needs requested. We have yet to find the perfect thing, but it is at the forefront of our minds as it has been requested before.

I'm not sure which room you were in, but depending on the space available, we do have mini-fridges in two of our larger rooms, and a full kitchen in our suite. All this information is in the room descriptions on our website. We have also on several occasions moved a fridge into a guest's room on request.

Cell phone service in town is poor for certain providers, and in some areas of town. This is a Bisbee thing, not our hotel. The same goes for the internet. When it is slow at our establishment, it is slow all over town. This is an issue with Cable One, our provider. Usually however, it works great!

The bit that baffles me however, is your comment about the restaurant. I'm not sure if you mean it was "closed for good" or just closed for the night. Most all of the restaurants in town are open until 9pm and Santiago's next door is open until 10pm on Fri and Sat. Maybe there was a misunderstanding as to whether you were looking for something to eat immediately, or just a recommendation in general. No restaurants that I know of have gone out of business recently.

If you would be so kind, please email me at info@hotelsanramon.com with more information so I can look into the matter. Also, I'd like to extend you a coupon toward a future stay so that you have an opportunity to experience our establishment in the way it is meant to be enjoyed.

Thank you! -Tamara Page, Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place was amazing, clean, quaint, harming and well run. you cant beat the location and the restaurant (Santiagos) is also very good. I can't wait to go back! The fresh cookies by the door were an extra treat. Good quality linens, which i always hope for in a hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranatomica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our first time in Bisbee and are glad that we chose Hotel San Ramon. Very clean, well staffed (Tamara) and renovated turn of the 20th century building. Close to everything with a fabulous restaurant just below. Only downside is a little generated noise from outside with open windows (brewery gulch side) but this is to be expected. Pretty quiet at night with windows closed. If you ever want to experience this historic old Arizona copper mining town, Hotel San Ramon is the place to stay. Overall a very good stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for Campanilla room #5. We liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Simple clean rooms, great location.... We didn't get the wifi password or our cookies she said she would leave for us... We didn't call to get either... The king size bed was great, water pressure was good, the room was nice and warm.... They do have to fix the drywall on the ceiling, there must have been a water leak

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1bgrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a great little hotel in the heart of Old
Bisbee where everything is happening. Good
food just a few steps away at Santiago's and The
Bisbee Table.......

The room was comfortable and super clean. No elevator,
but thats the norm in this unique old town.......
Tamara and her staff got us settled in and they were there
to help us with everything we needed during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on Brewery Gulch have the best view but others are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1easyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This tiny little hotel tucked away next to the more ostentatious Copper Queen Hotel is a beautiful blast from the past. Historic building on the second story above Bisbee's best Mexican bistro "Santiagos." Creaky old wooden stairs up to the second floor where there is a small sitting room and about 8 guest rooms. Each is modestly spacious with floor to ceiling windows looking out over Bisbee (on Bewery Gulch), curtains for darkening the room at night, comfy beds, large bathrooms, historic furnishings, and a good measure cheaper than the adjacent Copper Queen. This is now my favorite place to stay in Bisbee.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We first stayed at San Ramon for a Valentine's celebration. The owner was terrific - even had
a special bouquet arranged and on the sitting table for my wife's arrival. We had a great time
and didn't seem to have any problems. The Mexican Restaurant next door was very good and
still is. But, we went back, this time in May and, wow! The room was still romantic and quite
spacious, but the A/C was so wierd we had to have someone come and help us figure it out.
When it worked, it was so loud and annoying we finally just shut it down! We didn't sleep much
that night - really noisy outside. It was like being in the middle of a motorcycle convention. In
the early morning, a woman stood below our room shouting and singing "Happy Birthday" to
someone down the street. As rude and thoughtless as people have become, it didn't come
as much of a surprise. We really like Bisbee, but if we ever return, it will not be to San Ramon.
We've never stayed at a place where you never even see the manager. There is no check-in
and you need a code number to access the hallway leading to your room. Bizarre. We are
world travelers and this has to be the craziest experience we've ever had. Even wrote them
a review, but never even got the courtesy of an acknowledgement of receipt. Look for quieter
sections of Bisbee if you choose to stay. The historic hotel (Copper Queen) and restaurant
is next door and might be a big improvement and surprisingly about the same in price.

Room Tip: Find a quieter hotel both in and out! We rated the rooms poor only because of that crazy A/C syste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
1.8 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
762 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Canyon Rose Suites
Canyon Rose Suites
#2 of 11 in Bisbee
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Letson Loft Hotel
Letson Loft Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bisbee
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ramon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ramon

Address: 5 Lowell Ave, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Ramon is a feast for your senses. Our spacious, light and airy accommodations in a fully-restored historic building invite you to relax with cozy bedding, billowy pillows, and fresh-baked cookies! Located in the center of town on Bisbee's infamous Brewery Gulch, just steps from dining, unique shopping, and historical experiences, Hotel San Ramon is an excellent starting point for all the town's goings-on. Wireless internet, cable TV, A/C, heat. Restaurant on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Ramon Hotel
San Ramon Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing