We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation and services”
Review of Copper City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Copper City Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Bisbee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my first stay at the Copper City Inn. Inn is located proximate to the main street and all atractions in town center. I had no need to move my car until I was departing for home! Fabulous as Bisbee is a great town to walk increasing opportunity to interact with residents and visitors alike. Highly recommend the Copper City Inn.

Room Tip: lower level room is best for extended stays. all rooms offer excellent comfort and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsl1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. Bisbee is truly a walker's paradise. I often suggest to our guests that they take any of the many stairs and just explore the backways and paths of Old Bisbee. We have some fantastic gardens as well as very interesting renovations that have been done to some of the old miner's shacks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 254 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

A friend of mine recommended the Copper City Inn when I told her we were planning a trip to the Bisbee area in May. I am so grateful for that recommendation, we booked the Warren Suite and it could not have been more comfortable and beautiful. It is a second floor suite with a wonderful balcony overlooking one of the main streets. We loved watching the coming and going of the locals and tourists while sipping (complimentary) wine on our balcony. The suite was decorated in mission style furnishings and had a full kitchen, the feeling of privacy and relaxation took us over from the first moment we entered the room. I would plan a trip around the availability of this suite!

Room Tip: The Warren Suite is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillMC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Well thank you very much. We appreciate it that you took the time to tell us why you liked the Warren suite. We have tried to create a relaxing space to inhabit when you are away from home. Glad you took advantage of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our room in this inn near the heart of Old Bisbee was a great overnight treat for us. The location is very convenient while still being 'tucked away' enough to ensure privacy. Décor was nice and everything worked fine. We would recommend this place and will stay there again in the future, and the breakfast voucher at the High Desert Café up the road is a nice touch.

Room Tip: As you would expect for an inn located in a town built on hills, there are stairs leading up from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Historic Old Bisbee...there are two other main districts in Bisbee-Warren and San Jose as well as other smaller areas which all were former mining camps when the mine was operative...is located at the juncture of two canyons. Businesses are on the floor of the canyons and homes are built into the sides of the canyon. There are few lodging establishments in the downtown area that do not have stairs. And parking. Only one place has an elevator. That said, most places are easily accessible and are within the visitor's comfort zone. The geography of Bisbee has determined some very spectacular-architecturally speaking-buildings and homes, as well as the streets and stairways used to access them. Bisbee is an authentic place which is why it resonates with so many people that have visited. It's the real thing and a living tribute to the people who have gone before us who now live here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here March 19, 2013.

The Colter room in which we stayed was very nice, and more than adequately equipped with appliances and amenities. It had a large balcony overlooking Main Street. There was an unusual amount of storage space. (But more about that later.) I would rate the room itself quite highly.

However, I can't say the same for the rest of the "Inn".

First, accessing the room required climbing multiple flights of steep and hazardous stairs. We are not as young as we used to be, and this was a significant (and I believe, unadvertised) problem. As a result, we were only able to bring the absolutely minimum amount of luggage up to the room. (And the excellent storage space I mentioned earlier would really only be of use if one had a Sherpa guide to carry things up!)

Second, there was no innkeeper, or any other staff, on premises. One of the charms of a B&B (which this is clearly advertised as being) is interaction with the owners, etc., which was totally absent. We were given a phone number to call in emergencies, which we never used because there weren't any. But I honestly don't know if the number would have reached a person nearby, or even in Bisbee!

Third, not only was no breakfast served (the second B of B&B), but there was no public space whatsoever at the property. Hence, no opportunity existed to interact with other guests. That is another normal charm of an Inn.

I actually flirted with giving this place a rating of "1". But the nice room elevated it above terrible. However, we would never return, and would not recommend it, particularly for anyone who is not young and an active climber.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank BobL1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

While we appreciate your nice comments about the room you stayed in, we're disappointed about your overall remarks about our Inn.

We do not advertise anywhere that we are a B&B. Perhaps you got that idea from Trip Advisor which says that we are the #1 B&B in Bisbee. (TA does not have a category just for Inns.)
Our website, from which you booked your stay, makes it very clear we are not a B&B. We have never had the physical space to be a true B&B, with an onsite breakfast, nor did we want to be a B&B; that's not the kind of business we wanted to operate. We offer amenities for our guests that include a voucher for an off site continental breakfast with good breakfast pastries at a wonderful cafe. There are several B&B's in Bisbee that offer the kind of experience you obviously wanted.

We have diligently shown any potential guest exactly what they are getting when staying at our Inn. Our marketing material tells exactly what our potential guests get during their stay. Our website has a short video that shows each room as it appears when you rent it, and it also shows there are two flights of stairs (not multiple) to access most of our rooms. I'm not sure how we could do that more clearly.

There is a public space on the deck at the rear of our Inn with table and chairs and accessible for all guests.

We don't reside at the Inn. Again, that is not the kind of business we wanted. We have a wonderful room cleaner who is on premises everyday. As owners we live 10 minutes away. There are explicit instructions about what to do about any problem. I do understand that this kind of set up is disconcerting for some people. However the vast majority of our guests seem to appreciate the ease of coming and going without checking in with anyone.

And finally, It pays to read clearly about any lodging place you book and the area you are visiting. (Bisbee is in the mountains. There are few lodging establishments in the historic district that do not have stairs.) If you had done this, you would not have had the disappointing experience you so obviously had and we wouldn't be stuck with a bad review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got off to a nervous start because I forgot the copy of the confirmation email with the lock combinations on it, but fortunately was able to retrieve the information from home and all was well. Its a little different from the usual to do all arrangements online and then not to have any visible staff at the property, but it worked out fine, and Fred and Anita made it clear from information in the room that they could be reached easily if needed. As it turned out we didn't need a thing - they had thought of everything including the bottle of wine! We even used the laundry machines, as we were in the midst of a several-day road trip. Breakfast at the nearby High Desert Market worked well, though we readily succumbed to tasty offerings beyond what was covered by the voucher. Still very modestly priced for good organic food.

The main drag in Bisbee tends to have a high concentration of motorcycles, but the street noise was not excessive. It was Sunday and Monday nights when we were there, so we wondered whether the night club directly across the street would have been a source of late night noise earlier in the weekend. We were in the Coulter room on the 2nd floor, which probably would help limit noise.

Our only regret was that we did not reserve the big room downstairs, or which we got a glimpse just before we left. Next time!

Don from Vermont

Room Tip: Go for the big room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddewees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

As you pointed out, we have digital locks rather than keyed locks and we make every effort to ensure that guests have their codes before they come, however we are only a phone call away (physically 5 minutes) in case folks forget their info. You're right we don't live on premises, (a subject I'll discuss in the next review "Not Recommended".) however we are a short distance away and we are at the Inn daily. We have had no problems in 8 years of operation. We do have laundry facilities available for guests because you never know when you need something clean when you travel. (See comments on Great B&B about the nightclub) Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We loved the neat, cozy and scenic stay at Fred and Anita's rooms. They were nicely furnished with special room amenities and extras, such as a voucher for complimentary breakfast at a nearby bakery. The service was friendly. They gave great directions to the location. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pretty town. We definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Cheree is a gem of a room cleaner and a wonderful person. We purposely decided not to have keyed locks and it has been a good decision. You get your room codes with your reservation and you're in when you arrive as you noted.

The Bisbee Royale (the blue building across the street) is not a nightclub. They do have music on Wednesday night but low key and not loud, in fact I couldn't hear it from the Inn. The Royale shows movies on Fri and Sat. The 'marquee' is located on their wall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked on line and received directions and combinations to get in--all easily done and comfortable. The Inn is right in town and accessible to restaurants, shops, etc. we felt fortunate that the night club across the street was closed for Sun/Mon, so don't know if that might be noisy at night. We had a very nice little balcony from which to look over Bisbee's busy-ness while sipping complimentary wine (an excellent touch!) and the natural foods cafe for which we had breakfast vouchers was a nice walk down the road and excellent. As we left, Cheree, the caretaker, showed us the very large room below us, which was truly beautiful! We'll remember the Copper City Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. The Bisbee Royale, the big blue building across the street from our Inn, is not really a night club. They have acoustic music a couple nights a week, and shows films on Friday and Saturday. They also have a very nice pub and good food. There is no noise problem and we have never had a complaint from any of our guests. Thanks for pointing out our balcony, wine and the excellent High Desert Market where you redeemed your voucher for a continental breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bisbee hotels
0.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Rose Suites
Canyon Rose Suites
#2 of 11 in Bisbee
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Letson Loft Hotel
Letson Loft Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bisbee
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Oliver House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper City Inn

Address: 99 Main St, P.O. Box 1313, Bisbee, AZ 85603-9901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range: $110 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet end of the Bisbee historic district, and steps away from restaurants, shopping, and museums, the3 rooms of the Inn are safely accessed via digital codes. Distinctly differently decorated rooms-Art Deco, Mission, European- have premium queen beds, excellent reading light, desks, chairs, refrigerators. Large in-room bathrooms have hair dryers magnifying mirrors, quality body care products, and thick fluffy towels. Each room has a large balcony overlooking the canyon and street scene. There is free wireless access, flat screen TV with DVD, complimentary bottles of wine and bottled water, organic coffee, free voucher for off-site continental breakfast, and off street parking directly in front of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Barbados so you can book your Copper City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing