We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointed”
Review of Copper City Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper City Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Bisbee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Rather disappointed”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I have heard that it's hard to get a good night's sleep at many of the hotels in Bisbee because of the street noise, especially on weekends. So i sought a quiet place to stay for my boyfriend and I. The Copper City Inn seemed to fit the bill, and based on all the rave reviews, my boyfriend and I decided to stay here for our 1 night in Bisbee. Location was fine, no complaints there. Our Room (The Coulter room) was very well maintained and clean. Lovely bedding, and comfy bed. Loved the headboard too! As others have mentioned, the free wine was a great touch and much appreciated. I have no complaints with the room itself. It was great. My big problem was with the lack of privacy. The Coulter room is right next to the Louis room. The doors to each room are only inches apart. They share a common wall and the walls are PAPER thin. This is bad. We could hear every single word of conversation that came out of our neighbor's mouths as if they had been right there in our room with us. I was very bummed out about the noise level here. When we first walked into our room, our neighbors were blasting their tv. It was so loud in our room that my boyfriend and i could barely talk. Every little sneeze, cough, spoken word, was heard crystal clear through these walls. It made our stay very uncomfortable not only from the perspective of having to put up with our neighbor's noise, but from the perspective that i felt like i had to whisper to my boyfriend so they wouldn't hear OUR conversations. I was a little surprised also to see that our balcony was also lacking in privacy. There are 3 pots of small plants that separate your balcony from your neighbors. I was about to head outside on the balcony until i saw the feet of our neighbor laying out in the sun on their side. I basically would have been sitting right next to her had i gone out there myself. Wonderful if you love making friends with strangers, but crummy if you just want a peaceful moment of solitude. =/ If you are a light sleeper, or care about your privacy, the downstairs Warren Suite would probably be your best bet. I imagine that is more private and less noisy. And lastly, an oddity i have to mention: I swear i heard footsteps ALL night long coming from somewhere. I couldn't understand it for the life of me. I kept waking up and hearing it and wondering "who on earth is walking back and forth all this time, at this hour..." Also kept hearing a ball dropping and rolling repeatedly throughout the night. I had many crazy intense ghost nightmares in my sleep due to these noises. They say this building is not haunted, but i do not know what the heck i was hearing!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofufingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
We do appreciate your comments. We really are sorry that you sleep was so disturbed. One of the wonderful things about traveling is that quality of sleep is sometimes better than home. This is the second review in the past several months that mentioned poor sleep, but lauded the quality of our rooms, amenities, and location. It is the 6th complaint in 6 years of operation. There is nothing more frustrating for an Inn owner to hear complaints about building structure. Our building is 7 years old, good construction and our walls are double soundproofed with a foot of heavy insulation between rooms. We can't do much more there.

However we will soon, put complimentary ear plugs in each room, as well as a white noise generator. That will help with sleep. We urge guests in our vitals info in every room, to be careful and considerate of those next door or above or below them and to speak to one another if there is a problem with noise. If excessive noise, we ask that we be notified and we'll deal with it. As owners though what we can't and won't do is regulate, to any great extent, the habits of guests. Occasionally there is a clash in lifestyles e.g. early to bed/late to bed, constant loud tv/no tv, light sleeper/zonker, loud talkers/quiet. We cannot adequately deal with these differences because it unfolds during a visit and is usually not apparent till after a stay. We ask to be notified if there is excessive noise past 11 pm. And we hope that guests can be responsive to each other during waking hours.

Ghosts? We have none. No foul deeds has been done in our building, with the exception of a few incidents of sleep disruption. This was the first report of phantom activity. Don't know the source of footsteps that you heard. Perhaps it was wishful dreaming that we were coming up the steps to quiet the people next to you.

Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    40
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
189
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
32547
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2011

chose this property at this last minute when decided to stay in Bisbee, rather than farther north. Seemed like a good deal from the internet evals, so we followed intructions and booked on-line. Ditto all the previous evals, except the one complaining of the noise.
We had quiet, comfortable, good night's sleep. And there was/were guest(s?) next door because that room was booked when we booked.
Coffee on the balcony overlooking the main street in the morning. Neat.
Bottle of red was a nice touch.
Would stay again, but out-of -the-way for Floridians to double back.
If one warning, carrying suitcases to room might be difficult for some up narrow inside staircase to top story rooms. But we did it (late 60's).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llhhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Ranch, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My wife and I did an overnight stay in Bisbee while vacationing in the Phoenix area. On the internet his place looked like the best place to stay, considering location and value. We were right. Very clean, quiet and comfortable. The porch was nice as well as the complimentary wine, continental breakfast and easy parking. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thanks for your review. We always appreciate comments about how well (or not well) we are doing. It is a pleasure to share Bisbee with other people because it is a unique town with interesting attributes and so unlike other locations in Arizona. Most people, like yourself and other reviewers, appreciate Bisbee for the special place it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Copper City Inn for just one evening (we wanted to stay longer, but there were no vacancies). We parked directly in front of the inn without any problem. We were emailed a code in order to open the main door and then another code to enter our room. This was extremely convenient, since it made it possible to leave our car with our suitcases and just walk straight into our room. We stayed in the Louie de Bisbee room. The room is relatively small, but had all the necessities and was very pretty. It had a small sink and refrigerator which allowed us to buy some soda at a nearby store and keep it cold. The bathroom was large and comfortable with a huge closet if you were staying for a longer length of time.The best part of the room was the balcony. It opened to the street and there were some very pretty views. We were happy to see two bottles of wine (a red and a white). One is complimentary (I guess they charge you if drink both). We chose the white and it was very nice; we enjoyed some as we looked out from the balcony. They have a small collection of DVD's on the landing of the first floor and we borrowed one and watched it that evening while we finished the wine. The next morning, my husband took the breakfast vouchers to the market up the street while I got ready. He returned with juice, coffee, a bagel, and a scone. We ate that on the balcony and enjoyed the view. The location is perfect. We walked up and down the street looking at shops. If you walk out of the inn and head to the right, you will come to a great pizza place called The Screaming Banshee-you should try it!! We also did the mine tour which was definitely worth it. Later on we took a Lavendar Jeep tour and that was also worth the price (about $44 a person). Copper City Inn is just a perfect little place at a wonderful location. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you for your complete review. We appreciate it that you took the time to tell others about our inn.
Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

It has taken me a few months to decide whether to write this review as the Inn gets such good reviews and mine unfortunately is bad.

We stayed for just one night in Dec 2010, let me start with the positives, ideal location, able to walk into town and have dinner and a few beers and walk back, I would say only a 5minute walk to the centre, lovely quaint town, nice balcony on which to sit and people watch, complimentary bottle of wine which we enjoyed on the balcony in the afternoon sun, laundry facilities.

Now unfortunately the bad, we didn't have a wink of sleep all night, the neighbours in the room next door were clomping arond like a herd of elephants till all hours of the morning and they also had the tv blaring til 4am.................... The soundproofing is not so good at the inn. Also the room was on the small side, we couldn't even have our 2 cases open on the floor space available. We had the Louis de Bisbee room.

I had been really looking forward to our stay here and Bisbee is a gorgeous little town, unfortunately the lack of sleep ruined it for us, especially as we had 6 hours plus of driving to do the next day and needed to be alert!

On check out the next day got a peep at the Warren suite downstairs which was huge in comparison to our tiny room, my reservation on booking this were we to come to Bisbee again would be the noise from the rooms above though.

Overall would probably not stay again as I couldn't cahnce getting no sleep

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europe-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Noise leakage is a vexing problem for all lodging owners. While we have had very few complaints in the past 6 years, we do know that the habits of some guests can clash with other guests (early to bed/late to bed). Occasionally a guest will fall asleep and the TV will remain on disturbing other guests; it seems that this is what happened in this case. When there has been an infrequent problem, our guests ask the offending party to please be considerate with their level of noise and this generally resolves the issue. We have considered, and may, offer complimentary earplugs which may alleviate this problem for light sleepers. Our walls are double insulated with a 1 foot space with insulation between rooms. Our rooms are not tiny. They are 12x12, a little bigger than average. There are large (5'x 3') mirrored closets in our large in-room bathrooms with two luggage racks. It is more than ample space to store suitcases, as well as hang apparel. They are accessible but out of the way, which is the way we designed the Inn. I'm unclear about why our guests in question did not use these. As in any lodging accommodation, you pay for space; an unavoidable fact of travel. We have kept our Inn affordable, but still offer a level of comfort and number of quality amenities that surpass other places in our price range. We always want our guests to have a relaxed and enjoyable visit at the Inn and in Bisbee and we are very sorry that these folks did not have that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Nice rooms, well decorated and comfortable - our family will definitely stay here again. Located right in the heart of downtown Old Bisbee, close enough to everything. A nice, short walk to restaurants, shops and galleries - a must stay. If you can opt for the larger rooms with the kitchen, nice for families - they are very roomy, well decorated, comfortable and are a nice retreat from the riggers of traveling in the SW.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
When we receive reviews like yours, it is gratifying because we have achieved our goal of providing a relaxed and enjoyable experience at our Inn and in Bisbee. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it.
Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This was our third stay here and we always look forward to it. The complimentary 2 bottles of wine (one red and one white) are a nice touch. New visitors to Bisbee rapidly discover one of the best features is the off street parking. Guests have been known to have to drag their luggage some distance when staying at other facilities. The rooms are very tastefully done and we always enjoy a happy hour on the balcony just people watching in this quaint artist colony type community. It is only a short walk to the Cafe Roka which is one of the top places to eat in Bisbee.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiosnowbird99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Owner at Copper City Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
We certainly welcome accolades! And your review is that. It is such a nice town to visit and relax, we really try to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We appreciate that you have repeatedly chose Copper City Inn when returning to Bisbee.
Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
314 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper City Inn

Property: Copper City Inn
Address: 99 Main St, P.O. Box 1313, Bisbee, AZ 85603-9901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet end of the Bisbee historic district, and steps away from restaurants, shopping, and museums, the3 rooms of the Inn are safely accessed via digital codes. Distinctly differently decorated rooms-Art Deco, Mission, European- have premium queen beds, excellent reading light, desks, chairs, refrigerators. Large in-room bathrooms have hair dryers magnifying mirrors, quality body care products, and thick fluffy towels. Each room has a large balcony overlooking the canyon and street scene. There is free wireless access, flat screen TV with DVD, complimentary bottles of wine and bottled water, organic coffee, free voucher for off-site continental breakfast, and off street parking directly in front of the Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing