We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Bisbee”
Review of Jonquil Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jonquil Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Phoenix
1 review
“Best choice in Bisbee”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I travelled with a group of motorcyclists, and we occupied all 7 rooms. Everyone was satisfied with the accommodations, and the central courtyard was a great place to relax . The location was up the hill away from the noise of downtown, yet close enough to walk there. Everyone agreed that the food market down the hill (with a motel credit per person/day) had a great selection of freshly prepared breakfasts/sandwiches/dinners , lots of other unique store items, and great service We ate there every day for breakfast and dinner. The motel staff were very friendly and provided great information for exploring Bisbee and the Chiricahua Mountains to the East. I will stay at the Jonquil if I'm in Bisbee again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry_f6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
49
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed in #3 and it was perfect for the two of us. We were able to walk to everything on the main road, which is almost everything folks come to see in Bisbee. There are places to sit outside both in front and behind the hotel. The beautiful mural, by Rose Johnson, covering one entire side of the hotel sets the tone for both the hotel and the town....fun, friendly and romantic.

The complimentary breakfast at the market had excellent fresh baked goods and coffee/juice. They also have a fine selection of beverages (wine, beer, etc.) along with other items. At night we walked to/fr the Roka for dinner which had a great jazz trio on Friday night (dined there twice).

If you need to be entertained by "ghosts" or patio bands you might enjoy one of the other locations in the middle of town. If you want a nice clean (excellent linens by the way) place to stay at a great price with a wonderful on-site owner, the Jonquil Hotel is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed in Rm. #7 .. except for not having a coffeemaker, micro, etc., it was perfect for us. These amenities are coming soon, said Roxanne ! The bed was extremely comfortable. Their is a noise issue since the Jonquil is right on the main road, but not so much to be totally upsetting. Nice grassy area in back also - hopefully we can return one of these days ! Not a lot of areas to take our dog walking, but we did find the cemetery to be a good spot for that !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucsonh
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2009

My new husband and I decided to go to Bisbee on our honeymoon. We didn't have a lot of money, but figured we could afford a cheap hotel for a couple of days. My parents surprised me with paying for our two night stay and they chose the Jonquil. I'm so glad they did!

My husband called to make the reservations and only mentioned that it was our honeymoon. Three days later we showed up to the hotel and they had the room all set up, with Champagne and chocolates. The room decor was victorian and beautiful. The Sheets and duvet were some of the softest i have ever felt. They had a flat screen hd tv set also with all the channels. It had a nice bathroom with a large shower. Just behind the hotel within four or five feet there is a lovely little park and sitting area. The staff was so helpful and friendly, it really showed what small town america is about.

After staying for two amazing days we had to leave. Upon arriving home, we discovered that my husband had left his keys in the room. We live 150 miles away from bisbee and figured we would just have to chalk it up to a loss, but about a week later we recieved the keys we left in the mail along with a hand written thank you note and well wishes on our marraige! We were also given a vouture for 10% off our next stay!

The next time we go to Bisbee, the Jonquil will be the place we will stay!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchamp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

I stayed with my girlfriend in Room #4. I've stayed in Bisbee before and have loved the character and beauty of the places I've stayed----oftentimes though what is sacrificed is comfort and affordability. Not at the Jonquil! A continental breakfast was offered at a local food market which had delicious muffins, scones, and pastries. The room was cozy and the bed was comfortable. The room also had a fascinating tiled sink and a nice shower. We had an excellent stay!

  • Liked — The owners were very helpful. They allowed us a late check-in.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wfassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Stayed in room number one during the blues festival weekend. The bed,sheets, and towels are top notch. The bathroom is exceptionally clean. During a break from the weekend events, enjoyed watching collage football on the flat screen TV, while a nice breeze came through the screened door. If you are able bodied the downtown is a ten to fifteen minute walk or a one minute drive. Bisbee itself is a nice break from the everyday city hustle.

If you are a light, early to bed or late sleeper avoid rooms one and seven. They are about five feet off of the main road, in and out of town, large trucks and motorcycles would ruin your rest. A needed improvement is the lock on the rooms entrance door. It is of very low security. No greater then a keyed bedroom door.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

After passing through Bisbee i wanted to check it out. So when i had family visiting me we decided to make the trip and stay the night. I looked over a few other hotels in the area but kept coming back to Jonquil because of it's great looking pictures and the great reviews (and it wasn't haunted a big plus). It was perfect! We stayed in room 7 (because of the separate bed rooms) and loved it! Not only was the room great but the staff were so friendly. We even were able to check in earlier than planned! The motel a walk from downtown but it is very do able. But it is up a hill so you may want to park downtown. A small breakfast is included at the market (juice and a pastry) which has a lot of nice things and good food in it. Over all the motel is great and i would go back in a heart beat.

  • Liked — Staff friendlyness and pice
  • Disliked — No internet connection
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gittelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.5 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
23.3 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
561 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonquil Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonquil Motel

Property: Jonquil Motel
Address: 317 Tombstone Canyon, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming park-like setting,and home-stylehospitality are sure to make your stay at The Jonquil a perfect getaway. Offering 7 comfortably-appointed rooms at reasonable rates,this landmark property is one of Bisbee's best values. We are located in the heart of Bisbee's Historic District.Our rooms are non-smoking and equipped with TV/HBO,Free Wireless Internet, and convenient private parking.Children OK. Pet Friendly. No Smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jonquil Hotel Bisbee
Jonquil Motel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing