We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepy Dog Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sleepy Dog Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sleepy Dog Guest House
Ranked #4 of 14 Bisbee B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleepy Dog Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

This aerie perched on a hill above Old Bisbee is a wonderfully cozy place to spend a few days. It is immaculately clean and cheery, alive with colors that feed the soul, and decorated with whimsical and well cared for collections that bring a smile. The bedding is luxurious. The porch is a joy.
Be prepared for a climb! Bisbee is known for its stairs, and you have to climb something like 46 or 47 to get to this house, but it’s well worth the effort.

Room Tip: There's only 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepydog, Owner at The Sleepy Dog Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
It's been our goal to provide a true Bisbee experience~privacy, comfort, quirkiness and quiet~and also the stairs. Of course the stairs mean an incredible view which most guests don't mind climbing because it is so worth it! It really pleases up to know our efforts in interior design are enjoyed as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
59
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

The Sleepy Dog was a great place to stay for a romantic getaway with my wife to celebrate our first anniversary. It's located in Old Bisbee and within walking distance of almost everything. Our stay was great and relaxing. The accomodations are quaint and unique. The porch is perfect to relax with some wine, a novel, and your favorite pooch. Tad was also laid back just like everyone else in Bisbee. We would recommend The Sleepy Dog to any of our friends and hope to come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepydog, Owner at The Sleepy Dog Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
We love to hear that the Sleepy Dog has been part of someone's life in such a great way~we've had marriage proposals, honeymoons and anniversaries celebrated at the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had the most amazing time at the Sleepy Dog. It is tucked away quietly up the hill, but it is still close enough to have an easy walk to the goings-on around town! The place was so adorable and cozy, we didn't want to leave. Our dogs also loved the place, great amount of space for them to run around out back. I can't wait to go back-hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Sleepy Dog is the greatest. I took my fiancee for a mystery birthday weekend and we found everything so relaxing and peaceful, yet just a short walk from artsy Bisbee with many great shops and restaurants. Tad, the owner, is a fine artist and her artistic design eye is seen in every corner of the house. The place is also immaculate. We loved sitting in rocking chairs and watching people come and go on the streets below. This is a true find and a real bargain as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepydog, Owner at The Sleepy Dog Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
It's so satisfying to offer a peaceful, private, quiet place for guests to unwind from city life, and the stresses of reality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Beautiful views from this cozy, clean and charming home. Furnished tastefully and the bed was so comfortable. Tad was so nice and accommodating. It was so relaxing to just be…even with all that Bisbee has to offer. I recommend the Sleepy Dog Guest House to everyone who plans a stay in Bisbee. We had a wonderful time and have already booked our next stay. Parking was easy and we didn't even mind climbing the steps up to the best place to stay in Bisbee!

Room Tip: Views are outstanding from this adorable house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

As an educator, I travel to conferences and stay at various hotels. When traveling for fun, I like to stay at B & B's. Little did I know that down the road from where I live (Tucson), there exists the best little guest house I've ever been to. It even beats all the hotels I've stayed at! Do you want charming comfort and tranquility? The Sleepy Dog Guest House is the perfect place to relax, unwind, refresh...nestled in the serene hills of Old Bisbee. You have all of the comforts of home, away from home. A fully-equiped kitchen, dining room, living area with stalellite TV, free Wi-Fi, a huge bed, a back porch and a grassy back yard for your furry friends to play in. Every morning, I enjoyed sitting on the back porch with my fresh cup of coffee, looking at the historical town below, listening to the birds chirping and embracing the peacefulness. My little fluffy dog enjoyed her stay, as well. She gives it four paws up! I have recommended this guest house to my colleagues and they'll be coming down for a visit. Come and enjoy yourselves, too. It will be an unforgettable treat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoloresDCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We travel full-time for our occupation all over the United States. We would have never guessed that Bisbee, Az would be so amazing. The Sleepy Dog Guest House was a dream come true with a porch that overlooked the city with two rocking chairs and a fenced in back yard for our dogs! We loved the house so much that we did not even leave their for 24 hours. The house and town have such a good energy. Very peacful, very serene nestled high over the city with a short walk to town. You park the car down below and have around 49 steps to the house. You will not regret staying here!!! We searched a lot of different houses and we will always try to stay here! Not to mention the house was decorated so beautifully and kept very well maintained. Great bargain!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aconrad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.1 mi away
School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sleepy Dog Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleepy Dog Guest House

Property: The Sleepy Dog Guest House
Address: 212A Opera Drive, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing