We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining in AZ”
Review of Cafe Roka

Cafe Roka
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Bisbee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Unique flavor combinations, vivid colors, opposing textures are featured in original recipes on the entree and starters menu. A carefully chosen wine list and a full bar featuring classic drinks complements the food menu. The vivacious atmosphere in the Art Deco building creates not just a satisfying meal, but a convivial dining experience. Come to celebrate love of good food, a life milestone, or if you are just plain hungry. You will find what is truly one of the great rural restaurants in Arizona. there is live music every Friday and Sunday night. Cafe Roka serves Food to Live For!
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love everything about the place, the staff, the food, the atmosphere, the price is great for what you get

Thank peacefuldragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 530 of 691 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Amazing what they can do with such a small kitchen. Everything was cooked to perfection! Service was excellent. The line of the night was from the bartender " you can bring your gun into a restaurant in Arizona but you can't bring your own bottle of wine". This restaurant is a must if in Bisbee. It is one of those places where the quality exceeds the price!

Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We gotta admit, Arizona is a weird state in some ways. Don't know the genesis of the law that prohibits bringing in a bottle of wine. Doesn't hurt anyone. Too time consuming to go up to the legislature and lobby for the change, although I've thought about it many times. Thanks for your review. Glad you like us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The service was over the top. We were trying to decide on a wine and were treated to an mini wine tasting. The prices were reasonable. I had a rack of lamb and it was the best I have ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DRM_SVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thanks for your review. We try to do a mini tasting for guests when they are undecided about any wines we serve by the glass. It is always a good thing to be able to taste wines next to each other, it helps you decide what you want that evening and may give a bit of an education about why one varietal is so different than another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The ambience - perfect

The food - simply awesome

The service - excellent

The Value - excellent

My gal and I had a short stay in Bisbee and we had gone out for dinner a little late by Bisbee standards. We walked up Main St on a chilly late December eve and found a warm and lively place called Cafe Roka.

We were immediately charmed by the vibe and decor inside. Before we were even served our main course, I made mention on the courteous and attentive service, our drinks were always topped off, and we were always checked on, even while the place was still quite full of patrons.

Every bit of the four course meals we had ( yes four course ), was simply delicious, and the portion sizes were more than ample, we both had take out bags. We were to stuffed with dinner goodness to enjoy a desert, but judging by the tasty ness and quality of the meal, I'm certain their deserts are amazing as well.

If you find yourself in Bisbee, and you have a hankering for delicious vittles, visit Cafe Roka and get stuffed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soulprojector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thanks for your review. Always good for us to hear we're doing what we set out to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

WOW! The historic exterior of this restaurant doesn't prepare you for what lies inside! Contemporary, chic, vibrant, hip, a lot of synergy in the air. The restaurant is larger inside than it appears thanks to a loft area which looks down over the main floor. The bar is situated in the middle of the ground floor, and the evening we were there, all seats at the bar were taken and everyone looked to be having a wonderful time.

We were seated promptly and greeted warmly by our waiter. We were deciding between a couple of wines, and although he shared his knowledge, he brought us samples of both so we could make our decision. A gesture that was greatly appreciated.

The menu is quite extensive, and varied. The New Zealand lamb was absolutely mouthwatering. It was cooked to perfection, and very beautifully presented. Ditto for the roasted duck, which came with a delicious cranberry & wine sauce.

Café Roka is an amazing restaurant and Bisbee residents and tourists are the lucky beneficiaries of the Chef's creativity. Because of the excellent cuisine, service & ambience, reservations are strongly encouraged. You don’t miss dining here when in Bisbee! But leave the kiddies at home - this is best suited for adults.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Well thank you for your great review. Glad you had such a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Roka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing