We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”
Review of Cafe Roka

Cafe Roka
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Bisbee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unique flavor combinations, vivid colors and complimentary textures combine with a carefully chosen wine list, and a vivacious atmosphere to create not just a satisfying meal, but a convivial dining experience. Come for the live music every Friday night, come to celebrate a life milestone or come for a love of good food, come to find out what is truly one of the great rural restaurants in Arizona.
Clarksville, TN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Everyone kept raving about Cafe Roka since we moved to the area, so we finally went. We were able to get a table with no reservation very quickly, which was great. The atmosphere of the restaurant is really nice and the bartender made excellent retro drinks, best Manhattan we've had in a long time. But, the food was not even okay. It was way overpriced and very overcooked. How long do you have to cook duck to make it that dry? There is a very limited menu, so I would think everything is cooked to order, but it didn't seem to be. Even the cake for dessert was dry. I question what people consider great food around here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girlhelopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Well we're glad you enjoyed the drinks, especially me since I'm the bartender, and our building. But there is one thing that is puzzling. Why didn't you tell us your duck was dry? Your dessert dry? Your server should have come by and asked how your dinner was, if they didn't that is their mistake. If you said it was good and it wasn't, then that is your mistake. We just don't know if something is wrong unless you tell us. We do cook everything from scratch. Our chef/owner does not send dishes out of the kitchen that he thinks are not right. He simply doesn't do it, it is not our policy. Until a diner tells us something is wrong we don't know. As with the review below, please tell us-or any restaurant-that your food is unsatisfactory. We'll do something about it. If you walk out the door, and don't tell anyone it wasn't good, then write a review like yours, we have had no chance to correct our mistake, didn't know we did anything wrong until you tell the world. We end up with a public rebuke and you are out money for food you didn't like. That is not satisfying for anybody. Come on back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    96
    30
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience food so-so”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were looking forward to the dining experience here, my partner had eaten here before and had really enjoyed it. Now; not so much. Staff were excellent, nice restaurant and the food was fine until the main courses arrived. My partner did not finish even half of his, my steak was excellent but the reduction it was in had the distinct flavor of old boiled cabbage water with locally grown vegetables swimming in it. Dreadfully disappointing. The range of deserts didn't interest us one bit so I cannot review them!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Drummersmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hmmm, reviews like this puzzle me. Trying to figure out what went wrong...The reduction refers to a sauce that is slow cooked until reduced and concentrated, in this case a rosemary/zinfandel sauce that is served with our 10 oz Top sirloiin strip steak. Usually flavorful and rich, and not thin and watery. This is the first time that anyone has said our reduction sauce tastes like boiled cabbage water. Not that it didn't for this particular diner, but...Am not sure what her dining partner had that was only partly finished, it was left unsaid. So perhaps you can see why this is puzzling. The bottom line for us is that this diner did not have a good experience for whatever reason and we don't like that. We say to her/him, and as to the review above this one; if you are in our restaurant or any other restaurant, and do not like what you are eating-for whatever reason-please tell your server, the host, or the manager. Then we can do something about it. If you walk out having a disappointing dinner without telling anyone we can't do anything about it. And we end up with reviews like this which is not helpful to us in improving what we are doing. So please, if you are unhappy with your dinner, tell someone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place in a Small Town”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

There are some nice restaurants in Bisbee but this has to be THE restaurant. Everything was wonderful-- fresh, well presented, and tasty. Prices were quite reasonable. Met several people in town and it was the favorite restaurant of everyone.
It was full on a Thursday night so make reservations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
thanks for taking the time to write a review We are fortunate to have the most valuable advertising in the world; WOM, word of mouth. Thanks for taking the advice and trying us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and Great ambience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Upon the recommendation of the staff of The Gardens at Mile High Ranch, we decided to eat at Cafe Roka. We did not have reservations, but our timing was just right. No waiting. Our waiter was very personable. Our food was beautifully prepared and extremely delicious. The restaurant quickly filled to capacity within the hour. The pricing is $$$. but well worth every penny. We would definitely go there again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackieeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are fortunate to be recommended by many of the lodging establishments in Bisbee. We, like them, put a lot of effort into providing a good experience for guests. Our art deco 1905 building does provide a different soothing dining atmosphere than many restaurants for sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in the middle of the desert.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A little expensive, but for the quality of the food it is right on the money (if not a bit less extravagant than you would pay in a bigger city). A must for any foodie passing through this area!

Helpful?
Thank tayolr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for your review. Glad you thought the food was worth the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Roka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing