We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than A Good Night's Sleep”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calumet and Arizona Guest House
Ranked #9 of 13 Bisbee B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“More Than A Good Night's Sleep”
Reviewed April 26, 2006

History speaks in this meticulously restored home that was originally built by the Calumet abd Arizona Mining Company. The elegance of this Southwestern style architectural design by Henry Trost is matched by the good beds, fresh coffee, and a breakfast menu that is varied and enticing. The owners and staff are friendly and very knowledgeable about the community and events occuring at the time of your visit. They are happy to assist you in making dinner reservations, can direct you to shops, attractions and know the best route to adventure into surrounding areas. My stay there was very pleasant and it will be my choice of Bed and Breakfast on my return to Bisbee.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
28
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

We have stayed in many B&B's over the years, and do not understand the glowing reviews for this one. The major appeal of the Calument is that it looks like the best place to stay compared to other accomodations in Bisbee. It is located about two miles above the Old Town, which I think is an advantage with respect to views and air quality. The bedrooms are large and there is a nice outdoor area with tables and chairs. Breakfast is generous. However, this is the first B&B I've been to that did not offer a cold beverage in the afternoon nor have coffee ready for early risers. The decor was not to my taste--a mix of Victoriana kitsch and family cast-offs. I hope the bunny decorations were temporary for easter because it was kinda creepy---stuffed bunnies, robotic bunnies, bunny candles, bunny bric-a-brac were strewn all over the common rooms.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2006

We had high expectations for this B&B and perhaps our disappointment reflected a difference in tastes. We actually found the decoration in the inn to be way overdone. Knick-knacks everywhere, including some tasteless bunnies to emphasize the coming of Easter. The shower in the bathroom also was very difficult to operate, initially only shooting out scalding water, and then refusing to turn off when needed (with water almost overflowing the bathtub). With all this said, there were some positivies, including the comradery of the other guests at the breakfast table and a very nicely cooked breakfast (made to order, with the hostesses coming around several times to see if we needed more of anything). The prices were reasonable. I don't think we'll go back, but this probably just reflects that we prefer a little less stimulus in terms of decor of the B&Bs at which we stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 15, 2006

My stay was absolutely lovely in every aspect, 60 days of home cooking and comfort to include friendly staff, kitties and puppies too. Rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. Everything I asked for was available; to include the jazzuci tub,lovely piano, even holiday treats! This B&B is worth the trip for even a short stay,or an extended trip. The drive to Bisbee was lovely too.A fun place to stay and lots to see in the area.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2006

We especially enjoyed the made to order breakfasts, plus homemade jams, muffins. Joy Timbers, our hostess, was extremely knowledgeable about the area and gave us some excellent sightseeing advice, made reservations for a mine tour, etc. The home is warm and very comfortable. This historical home which has been expertly and lovingly restored is an excellent value in Bisbee.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie60120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 15, 2006

I stayed at the Calumet and Arizona Guest House for several days and found it to be the best in the area. Very clean, the best breakfast, great host, great service, etc. Plan to return as often as possible, as well as recommending it to all.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 15, 2006

The Calumet and Arizona Guest House is located in southeastern Arizona at the corner of Cole'n'Powell in a quiet neighbrhood in Bisbee, Arizona. Bisbee itself is a rejuvinated mining town built up and down the canyon and hillsides.

To visit the 'Calumet' is like taking a step back in history with modern ameneties. The house was formerly a mine executive home and it has been lovingly restored and furnished by the owners.

My room was clean, well furnished and comfortable. I could hibernate or join other guests in the parlor and dining room. Breakfast was order ordered from a small menu and cooked to order by the owner, Joy. Joy also makes also makes the jams and jellies. I understand Pyracantha Jelly is one of the favorites. The food was delicious and plentiful.

Joy is a gracious hostess and put us all at ease. She is a fount of information about Bisbee and the surrounding area. She can explain and give directions to the underground mine tour, the Lavender open pit mine, the mining museum, Tombstone, bird watching at Ramsey Canyon, Karchner Caverns, Fort Huachucha, and Old Mexico. She knows the best places to eat and shop.

I am not a photographer, but I sometimes go to the web site calumetaz and relive my stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bisbee hotels
2.9 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
745 reviews
2.8 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
4.0 mi away
School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
2.9 mi away
Oliver House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Castle Rock
The Inn at Castle Rock
#6 of 13 in Bisbee
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calumet and Arizona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calumet and Arizona Guest House

Property: Calumet and Arizona Guest House
Address: 608 Powell St, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1435
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing