We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting!”
Review of Queen Mine Tours

Queen Mine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
419 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We took the mine tour this morning and thought it was very interesting. We donned yellow slickers, hard hats, a belt, and a battery operated light, straddled a "train" and went deep into the mine, where we learned a lot about the workings of the mine and about the miners. Our guide was great and talked to us as if we were rookie miners learning the ropes, which we found very effective. We came away with a whole new appreciation of the job. It's 47 degrees in the mine, so dress warmly, especially if you're from Southern California as we are (anything under 55 degrees is close to freezing to us.) Once inside the mine, you'll stand for several minutes for the demonstrations of the equipment, and you'll walk a few hundred feet, then you get back on the train. It all takes about an hour that goes by quickly since it's such a unique experience. We never walked on any stairs at all, but watch your footing for the short walk inside as the ground is a bit uneven.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    105
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Probably not so suitable with preschoolers, which is a shame as they would enjoy the train ride”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My 3yo loved going into the mine on the mine train but I would warn parents of similar youngsters that you need to take into account the location of the talking parts of the tour by the ex-miner presenter. The first stop was in a cave where the single entry/ exit was down 2 flights of stairs. There isn’t anywhere to escape to with a noisy/ tantruming child. There was a second stop on the tour but I stayed behind with my son on the train – we were offered to be taken back but he enjoyed the train ride and his miner’s kit with torch so much that he did really not want to leave. I almost wish they would run a special tour for this age group who just want to get a feel for the mine – but then I don’t know whether they would have sufficient demand for this. In the gift shop, they sell pieces of hematite (shiny silver cube-ish stones kept in a barrel) which make EXCELLENT fridge magnets, way better than any other tourist tat magnets that can hardly hold anything up.

P/s: If you do have children of a similar age visiting, I would recommend the yard of the Bisbee Mining & Historical Museum outside the Queen Hotel where they can play in ex-mine trains.

Pp/s: This is the same as the #1 attraction in Bisbee. You need to get on the train tour to access the Queen Mine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience....”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went on the Queen Mine Tour reluctantly at the recommendation of friends and must say that we thoroughly enjoyed it.

It was both an educational and entertaining experience highlighted by enthusiastic ex-miner guides, a ride deep in to the mine with several historically informative stops in to the inner workings of the mine from the 1800's onwards and an enlightenment in to geothermal cooling with mine temperatures averaging 47 degrees fahrenheit even during Arizona's summer heat.

A unique attraction and experience not to be missed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very inteteresting tour”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

You get to go down into the mine and see what it would have been like. The temp is a cool 47 degrees. We enjoyed this very much.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MargretAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Queen Mine Tour Rocks !”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an educational glimpse into Bisbee's mining past as you take a train ride into the cool underground tour at the Queen Mine. History and memories of the hard working miner can be seen and felt everywhere. The mine can be as cool as 45 degrees so bring a sweater and long pants. 'Be prepared to capture photos of your family and friends wearing their hard hats, lamps and slickers. The perfect way to start an adventurous day in this unique copper mining camp.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank azuriterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queen Mine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing