We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great atmosphere”

Screaming Banshee Pizza
Ranked #9 of 51 Restaurants in Bisbee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We sat at the bar and had the Screaming Banshee pizza. Excellent. Watching one of the workers throw the unbaked crust in the air was neat. He has done that a time or two! While watching the workers prepare the food, we noted that one of the female workers did not wear gloves when handling the lettuce.
I would be a little skittish eating the fresh vegetables. Aside from that, I would go there again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackieeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    99
    45
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good menu, aloof employees”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our Inn caretaker. Screaming Banshee looks great, has nice ambiance, and a great menu but I found the food and service lacking. We ordered a pizza, bread and roasted garlic appetizer, and a small house salad with added chicken. We ended with a piece of cheesecake. The presentation of the food was great - imagine a plate of toasted bread and roasted garlic artfully drizzled with reduced balsamic and dots of pesto. The only issue I had was that it was small and not much pesto to dip in. The salad was ok. The chicken was dry and overcooked, but the mesclun, sunflower seeds and vinaigrette were balanced nicely. The pizza was lackluster - the crust was hard and yet soggy from too much sauce. The cheesecake was like eating butter - so thick!! I found the service lacking - our waiter and bar staff were aloof and the kitchen staff kept shouting out the orders in a loud, annoying way. I think next time, we'll get it to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Horrible. Will never eat there again!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Walked in to place a to go order because of the many great reviews. Our pizza was ready in 5 minutes (when all the reviews stated that it took at least 10-15 min). The bartender who placed my order and myself were surprised at how fast it came out. We took it back to our place, wondering in the car why the bottom of the box was not scolding hot. The pizza barely warm and obviously had been sitting for a long time before it was given to us. Don't waste your money on a restaurant who chooses to serve an old/cold pizza to anyone even if it is a take out order. There are plenty of great restaurants in Bisbee that would never do that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niloofar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Tried this, since we saw it in Az. Highways as one of the Top 25, and we have to agree. This pizza is very good, and very reasonable. Pizza, coke, and beer for under $20....and the atmosphere is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Slower service for a salad and breadsticks, waiter himself is awesome...”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were recommended to try this place by two different people during our stay. We opted to sit outside and enjoy the evening in September. Gareth, our waiter was a complete hoot and I fell 'in love' immediately. We had the 'Fancy' Salad, which was great, but what would have made it fabulous would have been to have a piece of bread to soak up all the nice vinaigrette with. Bread sticks were average--the sauce they are served with is pleasantly herbed with a good herbal kick to them. Banana's Foster needs work...there was too much brandy and not enough butter to make it creamy...or maybe all of the brandy hadn't burned off, but there was a definite overpowering brandy flavor which turned it off for us. Also, the bananas were to the point of being overripe; again, another turn off for the dish. Waiter...two giant snaps up for him. Gareth is the most awesome person to chat with...he's the kind of person I would love to just have a beer with and hang. It's decent; there is definite *WOW* potential...just needs some tweaking somewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannahbears_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Screaming Banshee Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Screaming Banshee Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing