We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Delight!!! The Shady Dell”
Review of Shady Dell RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shady Dell RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Delight!!! The Shady Dell”
Reviewed March 11, 2007

My boyfriend and I just got back from our trip to Bisbee and the Shady Dell! It was such a wonderful place and the charm is in its quirky and nostalgic setting! Please disregard the terrible review----it is everything it proclaims to be on its website (and more) and if you are looking for a different experience with great little touches--this is a sure bet.

The royal mansion trailer was our home for one night and we wished we had booked another night. When we arrived, 50's music was playing on the radio in the trailer and it was unlocked, waiting for us. When does that happen nowadays? Anyway, the beautiful wood, and 50's books, pictures and records warmed our hearts. We slept comfortbaly on the bed and enjoyed breakfast at Dot's in the morning.

Highly recommend. It's the kind of place you will always remember!

  • Liked — that it was different and unique but absolutely charming.
  • Disliked — that we didn;t stay longer!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachq45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    32
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
74
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tempe, az
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Shady Dell last weekend and had a blast. We stayed in the 1951 Mansion which was 33' long and my 6' 3'' boyfriend was able to stand upright almost all the way through. The full sized bed was a little short for him, but it was only one night. The Mansion also had a bathroom which was a nice feature since not all trailers do. We watched Jailhouse Rock on the black and white TV, played the Casper board game that we found and enjoyed listening to old records.
We also had breakfast at Dot's which is great and super cheap. Breakfast for two under $10!
Make sure to bring a camera and if you have the black-and-white feature use it - it makes for some great "period looking" photos. And talk to other people staying there so you can see the other trailers, each one has it's own charm.
If you're coming south from Tucson be aware of the roundabout you need to go through to get there. We messed up the first round through and missed it all together.
The Shady Dell is an experience you'll never forget.

  • Liked — the unique themed trailers
  • Disliked — small bed
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trippin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2007

Hands down the most unique and interesting place you could possibly stay! I spent a night there almost 4 years ago, and still tell the stories to this day. The attention to detail in the trailers is truly a thing of awe. It really is like stepping back in time. Even the black and white tvs play classic movies (from a vcr that's hidden away in the closet so as not to spoil the illusion!). And the cookies in the cookie jars are an awesomely homey touch. Be sure to check out Dot's Diner while you're there. This is the real deal! I've stayed in a lot of fun and kitschy places, but this is the best. Can't wait to go back one day.

Stayed March 2003
Helpful?
3 Thank openroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayton, california
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2006

Happy Days meets Trailer Park! This is one retro experience from the 50's that you need to experience. We stayed in a 1950, 21 foot Spartan trailer (think Airstream) that was filled with authentic 50's artifacts...even a yearbook from 1950 Bisbee, along with a (working) percolator coffee pot, an old cookie jar, a black & white TV with old videos to watch, tins of pepper, a tube of Fixodent. . . even the bedspread and the curtains were 50's. We chose this particular trailer because my 6'2" husband and I don't sleep very well in a double bed. This Spartan has another "daybed" which allowed us a good night's sleep. The "facilities" (toilets & showers) are in a separate building, just like any trailer park, and are well maintained. Our trailer was in good condition, but rather dusty. It was a very fun experience, but I wouldn't want to stay for more than one night. Go with an adventurous attitude!!

Helpful?
4 Thank sequoia grove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2006

After seeing the Shady Dell on a television special, my husband and I knew that we had to make the trip out to visit. (Imagine the strange looks we got from all of our friends and family when we told them we were going to Bisbee during our Christmas vacation!)

We spent one night in the Manor and one night in the Tiki Bus, and wish we could have stayed even longer. We enjoyed all of the little authentic touches in both units (antique toiletries, vintage swizzle sticks) and everything was comfortable and clean. I could go on and on about the fun we had watching old movies on the black and white tvs, cooking dinner while listening to old records, and drinking mai tais in the cold just to say we took advantage of our outrigger bar.

Ken (the manager) was great and even shipped back some personal belongings we had left behind by mistake. You can tell he loves what he does and where he lives.

Don't miss Dot's Diner for a breakfast or lunch! I had my first experience with grits here, and they were delicious.

We look forward to having the opportunity to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2005

It is not in a pretty location. It's down the hill from Bisbee which is a fantastic hippee town. Management is very relaxed and consists of one nice guy. Dot's restaurant wasn't open so we went up to Bisbee. However, the trailers are really fun and romantic. It's an experience worth having. We couldn't find the guy when we were ready to leave (6am), so we left the payment in the trailer. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2005

We loved our stay here, in spite of a few shortcomings. The trailers are lovingly restored (which is an expensive undertaking) and decorated with great period items, from dishes, to reading materials, to music, to videos to watch on vintage TVs. Clean linens, towels, nothing to complain about in that department. But the web images of the place must be done in a powerful version of Photoshop that adjusts for ambiance, scale, and location. The setting is actually quite cramped and shabby-looking, near a major hwy interchange, school and cemetery with absolutely no charm about it. The management style can only be described as good-willed hippie neglect. We had to hunt down someone when our door jammed and again when we wished to check out and PAY. It's kind of a "like it or lump it" place, but if you like old trailers, you will not be disappointed. We esp loved the Dean Martin music that was playing when we opened up our Spartanette. We loved cooking dinner in our little kitchen and listening to 45s!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
1.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
750 reviews
1.6 mi away
Letson Loft Hotel
Letson Loft Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bisbee
224 reviews
24.0 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
2.7 mi away
School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Dell RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Dell RV Park

Property: Shady Dell RV Park
Address: 1 Old Douglas Rd, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1021
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inexpensive and fun, the Shady Dell features off-beat and comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shady Dell Rv Park Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing