We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We struck gold in Bisbee!”

High Desert Market and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Bisbee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner,with indoor and outdoor seating.We do all our baking on premises, serve generous gourmet salads and sandwiches, quiches, pizzas, desserts and more.Visit our market for gourmet groceries, beers and wines, and unique gifts. We offer wonderful imported cheeses, olives, patés, chocolates and gourmet groceries. Enjoy our fresh organic and locally grown produce, as well as imported and locally produced beers and wines. We also offer table linens and pottery imported from Provence, France, Indonesia, Spain and Mexico (Talavera). Treat yourself with our natural, local, and French soaps and lotions. African baskets from Ghana are part of our full line of baskets and shopping bags from around the world. We also feature local Bisbee-made crafts, San Diego Hats, and more.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We struck gold in Bisbee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We agree with pennstatetraveler. We would add that we had homemade pie and a smoothie that was delicious. With every smoothie they give you a free boost that included Vitamin C. We had pizza and strata both fantastic, well proportioned, and fairly priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    87
    28
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such yummy, interesting food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Celery Apple Curry (cold) soup, Black Bean Veggie Rice soup (hot), Cibatta BLAvocado sandwich, Smoked Chicken Havarti sandwich and soda from the deli.
TIP: You can buy alcohol in the deli but can not take it into the restaurant. They really should have a sign when you walk up to the counter to order.
Paying is a bit interesting. You order and grab a drink from the deli or go to the smoothie/coffee area and then pay when you are done.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DotC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“New Year's Day - a happy discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had heard of a nearby restaurant which was closed on New Year's Day-- which turned out to be good luck for us. We had two delicious pizzas ( a sausage and a spinach+goat cheese) with the best ever crust and tasty toppings ; a grilled pastrami, rated very good- came with some salad; grilled BLT with avocado . Our favorite SanPellegrino limonata drinks . Great looking smoothies being made as we watched and an extensive selection of desserts . You order from the menu or specials board, your food is brought to your table either inside or out--- who knew --al fresco on January 1st!!! You tell the cashier what you ordered and can add something for staff if you choose .
Salads looked good, too . All of us would recommend this spot and would come back.

Helpful?
Thank pennstatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super place to stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Quick service. You have to go to the deli counter, order, get a number an sit down. It was a little confusing as we had never been there but it was super good, they got our order correct and the location is nice. We sat outside on a gorgeous day. Everything was Fresh! After you eat you go into pay. They really rely on honesty which is oddly refreshing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BellsOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Down Home Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in Bisbee, Arizona, at the Copper City Inn (which is another review) and were given a voucher for a continental breakfast at the High Desert Market and Cafe located a short walk up the street. It was a treat. It was early on a weekday morning so it had just opened. The smell of coffee and scones/muffins hit us upon entering. The two women behind the counter were really friendly and helpful in our ordering, offering to heat our muffins and bringing them to us. Nancy was also busy rolling out dough and cutting apples for a few pies--she bakes all the scones and muffins herself. I commented on her use of fresh cut apples rather than filling from a can and she said that she always bakes from scratch. She said someone suggested for Thanksgiving she use pumpkin pie filling from a can but she wouldn't hear of it. Shortly after our arrival, the locals started pouring in for coffee and scones to go--these were working people. I think it's always a good sign when the locals frequent a place and are friendly with the staff. The market also sells assorted Arizona crafts, is known for great take-out lunches and dinners, and is spic&span clean. There are no tablecloths, no cloth napkins, the tables are simple and the decor is multi-colored. It's not fancy, but it is real. One goes there to eat and enjoy the country home ambiance. www.highdesertmarket.net It's located in Historic Old Bisbee across from the Iron Man.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Desert Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to High Desert Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing