We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Horribly by Manager and staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Tucson
2 reviews
“Treated Horribly by Manager and staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

Bisbee is a cute little town with a historic Copper Mine and some good restaurants. We visited the Copper Queen Hotel, was met with an unfriendly staff, when we tried to talk to the manager, he was beyond rude to us. Hope the owner reads this and learns his staff chased away tourists just trying to see what Bisbee is all about.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredgrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    233
    119
    59
    54
See reviews for
138
311
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Copper Queen on my birthday weekend! The staff was helpful and courteous and the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bed (king) mattress was just perfect! We really enjoyed the history of the area and it was obvious that the Copper Queen was THE place to stay at the center of activity during the copper boom. Like a step back in time with all the current day amenities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possumbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

stayed there a few times now.the only place i ask for on our travels around the usa.the people there are just amazing.i did 18 thousand miles around the usa last year.bisbee and the crowd at the copper queen will always be my special memory

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

I took my 12 & 10 year old grandsons to Bisbee and we stayed in the hotel in "Billie's Room". We participated in the ghost hunt. My boys had so much fun with the freedom to run and roam about the entire 4th floor of the hotel. The Winchester Restaurant and Copper Queen wine was exceptional. All great for young children or an adult get away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lildebphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH DAKOTA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We had an awesome stay at the Copper Queen..the staff was wonderful, especially the owners..they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Rooms were clean and comfy, we didn't experience any ghostly activity though..Would stay here again in a heartbeat...

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

Having travelled to the historic old copper mining town of Bisbee, Arizona, located between Benson and Douglas, SE of Tucson, on several occasions over the past five years, we have been captured by its old west charm and a town that's been converted to more of an eclectic artist colony. Each time we went, I would always leave saying that I want to stay at the historic Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1902, during the heyday of copper mining in Bisbee.

For our 24th wedding anniversay, my wife and I spent two nights at the hotel and it was everything we'd hoped it would be. Located in the southernmost mile high city in the U.S., the weather in Bisbee was perfect. During the summer months, when Phoenix/Tucson can get up into the 110 degree plus range, Bisbee stays much cooler. Dan & Connie, the friendly owners of the hotel, have done a great job of enhancing the ambiance of the hotel, particularly with the specialty rooms. John Wayne frequented the hotel in the past and we stayed in his room, which they have fixed up with old photos, along with some classic John Wayne movie CDs if you have a hankering for watching. The Winchester restaurant was nice -- I had an awesome omelet for breakfast and we had a nice steak and ribs for dinner. The prices are reasonable and we were really surprised at how good the "house" bottle of Copper Queen Hotel merlot was.........it's bottled by Rutherford and I'm still kicking myself for not bringing more than an empty bottle home as a keepsake.

If you have a couple of days, be sure to take the tour of the Copper Queen mine....a dark train ride into the middle of a mountain......a jeep tour of the local area that shows you some quirky houses, the old brewery row (used to be 57 bars operating 24/7/365 during the heydey of the early 1900's, the old brothel buildings, etc.........visit the Bisbee Historic and Mining Museum........great art and shopping.

If you haven't visited Bisbee......you've missed out on a fun couple of days of going back in time.......and if you want the true feel of the Old West, take the opportunity to stay at the historic Copper Queen Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We held a small wedding reception there last July and then spent the night. Had a great time. Fabulous food and service with charming, comfortable accomodations. The staff went out of its way to make our small gathering a big success, so much so that we're going back this July to celebrate the year.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RancherDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing