We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Copper Queen”
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Copper Queen”
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We were a group of 5 with a 12 year old. Stayed in the courtyard rooms which was so nice and private. Met the owners and enjoyed their hospitality. We had dinner and breakfast at the Winchester and thoroughly enjoyed it. Value for the room, service and food. It is right across from the mining museum, shops other restaurants. This hotel preserves the historic aspect and gives you the modern conveniences. I could tell the owners have painstakingly kept the beautiful antiques and the pool was lovely. This was a wonderful experience for us and our first trip to Bisbee. The Copper Queen is the best place to stay in the entire town. We say when you go through the tunnel into town you step back in to another century. Thank you for the great memory, Copper Queen. We did not do the Ghost tour, but it was fun to read the ghost journal left by guests who had visited. The hotel is immaculate and very well maintained. So much fun.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millerpostcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    237
    123
    60
    55
See reviews for
141
316
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We went to the Copper Queen for ghost hunting and we love old western towns.
We arrived on a night when there was a terrible down pour. The parking lot was a pretty fair distance from the hotel and you can't drive up to the door. The water was up to my mid calf and Im trying to carry luggage to the hotel. I asked the gal at the desk if there was someone that could help us, plus remember this hotel is not cheap you would think they would have some help with luggage, She could offer us no help what so ever. I have arthritis and bursitis in both hips and shoulder so I was miserable with the rain and trying to carry all our luggage. So to say the least I was not happy with the desk clerks attitude and no help.
But they did make us very good sandwiches since the diner was closed. And the room was very comfy.The hotel is beautiful and haunting. My son and friend stayed in the room haunted by the prostitute and had some strange things happen. Overall the stay was nice. They just need better service at check in.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msghosthunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Ca
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2009

The best bartender ever! Would like more items on the dinner menu, food very good. Excellent wine.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handicapper63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

The customer service at this place was the worst I have ever experienced. It is an old inn, so we knew the accommodations would be older. First there was no parking, we had to park being an old bar with drunk people standing around our car. Next the desk staff was rude. Then our toilet broke, then the key broke in the door. The owner had no other accommodations for us, and did not offer us any compensation. Next there was some confusion about their signature ghost hunt, one front desk person told us to show up, then they told us we werent in a room to attend. The desk lady told me I was an "angry little woman" and hung up on me! Then the owner never even apologized. VERY RUDE, and NOT accommodating at all given the circumstances they provided for us. My husband and I considered checking out 3 hours later, but the nearest hotel was 35 min. away. We woke up and checked out at 7am and got the hell out of there. DO NOT make the same mistake we did, and waste time, money and vacation time on this place, you will be very upset!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redhead010680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooksville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

This is a beautiful old hotel in a very central location. The city of Bisbee is one of the most interesting we visited in Arizona. The Main problem us was that it was St. Patricks day and the bar had live music which was O K and stop promtly at 11.00 pm. The Music permeated the whole hotel. Then at 5;00 in the morning they started vacuuming thecentral hall and bar areas for the next two hours. Totally ruining our stay. We could live with the bar noise if we had not been awaken so early. They easily could have cleaned later in the morning and at $123.00 a night this was not a deal. We found out later there are good deals just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leigh_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Over spring break 2009 our family stayed at the Copper Queen hotel. We booked the Teddy Rosevelt Room on the fourth floor in the corner. What a wonderful room - lots of space and a nice size bathroom for an historic hotel. Other family members stayed down the hall in a small, slightly less expensive, room. The second room met our needs.

The hotel was clean and had so much charm. Our beds were WONDERFUL. After nights in other hotels with poor beds, this was a welcome change. The pool was not heated - so, no swimming in March for the kids.

The front desk staff were very nice at this histoic hotel. All other staff, in the bar and cafe, did their jobs. There was live music in the bar, which was very nice. When we went to bed, the room was quit - we couldn't hear the music - so that was good.

I'd like to have had a coffee pot in the room, but they did serve coffee in bar if one was willing to walk down to get it.

Bisbee itself is not for familes. While the hotel was friendly toward our children (ages 6 and 10), the 'artists' were not. What passes for art in many of shops is mostly overpriced crafts. So, take the kids to the Copper Queen Mine tour and stay at the Cooper Queen hotel, but skip the 'art' if you are with kids.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phanstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I was expecting a refubished Victorian style hotel. What I got was a run down inconvient hotel with a small room that was not as nice as a Motel 6. No coffee maker in room,no hair dryer,a 19 inch TV, and a window heating unit that made popping noises.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FellowtravelerElpaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
314 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
505 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
563 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing