We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Central Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Girls road trip to Bisbee, stayed at the copper Queen Hotel. Front desk staff was fun with the history and hauntings of the hotel. Beautiful old building, comfortable beds, and nice set up of bathroom with sink in outer area and toilet and tub behind a door, great for gals sharing. Free WiFi and complimentary breakfast was good. No ghostly encounters but played some tricks on the girls anyway. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    233
    119
    59
    54
See reviews for
138
311
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I'm here now (3/27/14). Lovely exterior. Lobby nice. These made me think I was going to have a great experience. "Saloon" and restaurant not so great. Told desk I wanted a room with a view of town or hills. Said they'd fix me up if I didn't mind paying more for one of their special rooms. I got the Teddy Roosevelt Room. It was roomy. TR would've been unimpressed. 4th floor room has windows obscured by stationary drapes, cheap plastic miniblinds you can't raise because of the drapes, and a window unit a.c. The cheap-looking Motel 6 quality bed headboards are so loose they can be moved a foot from the wall at the top without moving an inch at the bottom. Beds seemed to be beaten down mattresses with two pillows about (literally) 3 inches thick. Bath a mishmash of styles, and looked cheap. They say the place is haunted. I will be by the premium price paid for this room, and there's not a ghost of a chance I'd recommend it to you. I'd guess I'd rate it by the number of stars I could see out the tiny space in the window: 2.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BizBbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your response and I sincerely apologize there was a problem with your room. We definitely care about our guests and their concerns. It is our policy to respond to every guest who experiences a problem during their stay and resolve it to his or her satisfaction. In addition, it is our goal to resolve the issue before the guest leaves the hotel. I can assure you I will take the necessary steps to ensure that your concerns are addressed. I will also share your comments with the entire staff to make sure both housekeeping and maintenance departments check all of the furnishings in our rooms daily. I certainly understand your dissatisfaction and will be making changes to this room ASAP. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you this recent stay was an exception.

Steven Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Copper Queen was a perfect fit for a stay in the timeless mining town, now an artist community, of Old Bisbee.

The hotel reflects the history of the area brilliantly through it's architecture and decor.

The service was very good, especially considering that much of Old Bisbee runs on it's own time schedule. The Copper Queen staffs the desk 24/7 (quite rare for this town).

A visit to the saloon proved worthwhile and entertaining. Locals and tourists mingled while a local band played old western favorites. The beer was ice-cold, and food from the restaurant was available.

My room was very small, but clean and comfortable. The shower was the size of a phone booth and water pressure was low, but I expected such, staying in Old Bisbee.

I was on a group bicycle ride during this visit, and the hotel stored our bikes in the conference room.

WiFi came with the room, and was adequate.

Be prepared for significant numbers of old, fat Harley riders gathering at the saloon, restaurant, and all over town. They are harmless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are a boutique hotel and we can always offer our guests a great value and one of the best locations in the city. We have our property staffed 24/7 for our guests convenience as you never know when one might be in need of something.

Our standard rooms are smaller, but as you know, we also have “Specialty” rooms at a slightly higher price. They are larger in size with a chair, and lamp, as well as a micro-fridge.
Here at the Copper Queen Hotel we listen to our guests and your feedback is much appreciated.

Steven Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Let me first caveat this review.....I only stayed a night in in one of the small rooms with a full bed which are on the third floor and the price was $89/night. The room was about the size of a shoe box but I was really not expecting much more. And while the size was not a disappointment the cleanliness was. Additionally, the shower head was broke so the water came out in a dribble and the light over the sink was coming detached from the wall. I am not trying to discourage anyone from staying here as I would certainly come back but would encourage management to pay a little closer attention to detail with cleaning and these minor repairs. To management ...... sorry for the average review but as with everything in life, there is a always room for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alabamatransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your response and I sincerely apologize there was a problem with your room. We definitely care about our guests and their concerns. It is our policy to respond to every guest who experiences a problem during their stay and resolve it to his or her satisfaction. In addition, it is our goal to resolve the issue before the guest leaves the hotel. Upon departure of your stay, you did mention the problems with you room and we immediately took the room out of order are in the process of a total remodel of the bathroom. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you this recent stay was an exception.

Steven Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Copper Queen very much. Our room had a wonderful cottage feel to it, and made you feel truly like we got away. The Saloon was wonderful with a very entertaining duo for Saturday evening and we ordered dinner in the bar and it was delicious. If you like a historic trek (and the Copper mine museum is next door) and definite nostalgia, you will enjoy this hotel very much and we will be planning another trip.
Like much of Bisbee, parking is scarce, so prepare to drop off bags and park somewhere else, or park and carry luggage a block or two.
With all the hype of possible ghosts, while we did not see any apparitions, we could truly feel the hotel had a spirit of over 100 years of history, especially in the lobby 'museum.'

Our only complaint was the continental breakfast Sunday morning which was simply a let down after everything else that was just toast your own waffles n bread, some yogurt and juice. With the price of the room, we simply expected better. We left and found a nice café down the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the Copper Queen Room 307 for two nights. Went with group of friends and all our rooms were different. Some had double, queen & king beds. Some had showers only while other rooms had claw foot bathtubs. Some were tiny rooms and some were large. Our room seemed to be a small room but comfortable with a larger bathroom with claw foot tub/shower. You could hear the bar noise from below until about midnight but not really loud. Oh yeah, and the bed is a double (tight fit when you are use to king beds). No ghosts encountered but I did misplace an earring for a while so I say it was the little boy ghost playing tricks on me. Saturday night was prime rib special at the hotel restaurant and it was great. So was my husband's ribs. If you are looking for good breakfast go outside the hotel. The hotel was built in the 1902 so it has its creaks and uniqueness but we enjoyed that we stayed in a piece of Bisbee's history. Walking distance to practically everything including mine tour, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzSummerrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Copper Queen is as evocative of the Old West as Tombstone, and a lot more authentic. The robber-baron splendor of the lobby was equaled by the charm and attentiveness of the staff. Check out the John Wayne Room on the second floor; Duke stayed there. Rockhounds and geology enthusiasts (I'm one) will love it -- tours of the major diggings and of the horrendously steep residential hillsides, by jeep, leave right from the lobby, and there is an excellent dealer in copper minerals and Native American jewelry in the hotel.

Room Tip: We accepted a room just above the bar, and we loved it; they sang us to sleep. But some people may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tboid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing