We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years in Bisbee”
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our second stay at the Copper Queen. That alone should say something about how we feel about this hotel. We were put in the Lillie Langtry room.this time. What a great room in this historic hotel. The only complaint I have is the free breakfast was very weak. I would rather be able to order off a breakfast menu. However, the omelette and Bloody Mary breakfast on New Years Day was a winner! Also, the New Years Eve prime rib dinner was great! We went there with another couple to celebrate the New Year and also used the hotel as our base for visiting the southern Arizona wine country.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 763 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have friends in Douglas and have visited Bisbee but never stayed there or got to walk around on the whole town. We met the friends at the Sonoran Desert Museum then drove to the hotel on our own. I love Bisbee and just had to stay in this grand old hotel.

For ghost hunters, look for Julia Lowell (a lady of negotiable affection); a long-haired, top-hatted and caped gentleman who smokes a cigar (weird costume for the time since most long hairs were cowboys and did not wear top hats); and the sound of a little boy giggling or feel of him touching you or your stuff. Before you go to bed, take photos of where you place everything and then take another when you wake up to see if he moved anything. We set alarms for 2am to go walking around but were too cozy and sleepy so we stayed in bed.

Friday dinner, we went to the Old Bisbee Brewing Tap room. My husband tried out the beer sampler and I had the home-made rootbeer. They only have brats, fries or chips and popcorn for food.

Saturday, we walked to the Bisbee Breakfast Club. Best breakfast in town so it will be a little busy, even at 1pm.
TIP: If you go to, you may want to drive. The walk, though only a mile and a half, is a little unsafe.

For lunch, we walked up to High Desert Cafe and Deli. Such yummy, interesting food!
TIP: You can buy alcohol in the deli but can not take it into the restaurant.

We did not eat dinner at Angela's because there was a private party before dinner so we ate in the Saloon, which serves the same menu and is way more interesting.

Pros:
- The historical documents and photos were fascinating! They had the original blueprints of the hotel framed in the stairwell.
- Front desk staff were very knowledgable.
- The lobby and cozy second floor lounge were great for hanging out, dining or playing board games.
- Not sure if it's just because it was December but it was not over packed so it was really quiet at night.
- It is so close to all of the shops and restaurants.

Cons:
- No room service (though we did not need it)
- A maid accidentally set off the fire alarm cleaning it. We were not super fussed but seems like a safety issue. No other patrons ran out in jammies, freaked out like we did. tsk tsk. Fire alarms are there for a reason, yall.
- The restaurant no longer serves breakfast but there are plenty of breakfast places around town.
- The rooms are pretty small for most people, though ours was perfect for us.
- Some aesthetics could stand to be upgrade/repainted, if you require that sort of thing. We didn't.

Overall, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: • If smoke smell is a problem for you, ask for rooms on north, east or west side. South side might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Copper Queen was once the go-to hotel for movie stars and captains of industry and, if you're a fan of western history or a ghost hunter, it's an obvious choice when in the Bisbee area. I've stayed there twice now and, while I've never been haunted, I've certainly enjoyed the Old West ambiance and the fantastic view from the third story balcony as the sun comes over the desert hills.

As with most old hotels, the rooms can be a little quaint (i.e., cramped) or rather large. It's probably worth asking what you'll be getting if you're concerned. There are some signs of wear starting to show here and there, so hopefully financial problems aren't imminent. If I am hesitant about anything, it's the room rates, which can seem a little high during peak season. But, if you're off-peak or willing to spend a little extra for atmosphere, you won't regret staying at the Copper Queen. It's no surprise that John Wayne loved Bisbee and stayed at this hotel during his frequent visits. For the ghost hunter, don't miss the "haunting diary" on the front desk.

Room Tip: Room sizes and types vary, so perhaps ask to see what you'll be getting. I believe the third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmhouse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the historical Copper Queen . Our room was just down from the one John Wayne stayed in and apparently 2 ghosts wander the hallways. The room was small and clean. It was as I expected an old hotel room to be. The hotel is an old grande lady, but needs to be refreshed. Things are looking a bit frayed around the edges. The staff were courteous and efficient. Location is great for going shopping/mine tours. We like Bisbee and its art scene. Neat place to explore.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avialae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we're into ghosts and this is a haunted hotel. We stayed in an actual haunted room, the Julia Lowell room on the 3rd floor. We loved this hotel. The room was a nice size near the back of the hotel. Not much of a view from our room but we weren't there for that. Didn't eat at their restaurant. It looks nice with the decor, even took a pic of it, but it was pricey for what you get. Plenty of other places to eat in town. We did get many spirit orbs on film in our room which was fun. The price was a bit on the high side, but again we wanted the experience. Good water pressure and the water was hot. The heater worked great. Flat screen tv in cabinet at the foot of the bed. Great red bordello type bedside lamp. Would give 5 stars but only didn't because of the price. $170 with tax. There are cheaper rooms. got to borrow a dvd for the room to watch about 2 different ghost hunter shows that reviewed this hotel for it's ghostly activity. Great bar at the hotel and the female bar tender was awesome. We went in at night for some hot chocolate and she made us a wonderful drink that tasted like the mint girl scout cookies. YUMMY. Very nice xmas decor in the hotel. I liked it.

Room Tip: stay in Julia Lowells room or Billys room if you are into haunted rooms. They have a late check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pezdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We recently took some friends from Chicago would never been outside of Phoenix to the Karschner Caverns and Bisbee. We stayed at the Copper Queen. This quaint and historic hotel is now family run and is slowly being returned to its days of glory. It is a historic marvel. It is period, clean, good beds, period fixtures and tubs. Everything worked and was the service was gracious and impeccable. The owners went out of their way to be gracious. Their restaurant was closed as it was a Sunday night and they directed us across the street to a Mexican restaurant. We have had gourmet quality Mexican in Phoenix but nothing of the caliber of Santiago's. The house specialty is a must. The Bisbee Brewery which they obtained their beer from has been designated the best micro brew in the state. We were directed to the Bisbee Breakfast club for breakfast by the hotel and it was unusual, exceptional and worth the short drive.

Room Tip: If you want history try the John Wayne room, the Teddy Roosevelt room or one of the rooms of the thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were looking for a fun getaway and we found it at the Copper Queen Hotel. The hotel was built in 1900's but it offers clean rooms that most modern hotels don't have. The owners welcome you with friendly smiles and will advise you on where to go to eat if their kitchen is closed durning the week. Karen the bartender is very interesting to talk with. We will be back to enjoy this gem in Bisbee. We stayed in room 402 it was very quite and relaxing. Don't believe all the negative hoopla, experience it yourself. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frannyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Rose Suites
Canyon Rose Suites
#2 of 11 in Bisbee
172 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
326 reviews
0 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing