We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for location, look elsewhere...”
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paying for location, look elsewhere...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My much anticipated trip to Bisbee included a stay at the Copper Queen Hotel, rich in history and charm. This is a very beautiful and well kept place. Unfortunately, I will not be recommending this hotel in the future.

Upon check-in, I tried to preview rooms as mentioned by reviewers, however the majority were occupied for the holiday weekend. So the room (206) was not so great with zero view. But looking beyond the age of the hotel (water-pressure problem), there are plenty of things that can be fixed by the owner to improve the quality of this place! I had to get up periodically throughout the night to adjust the window cooling unit. It was unbelievably loud, and startled me every time it kicked on! The mattress felt like a 500lb person had jumped up and down on it!!! I woke up feeling exhausted the next morning.

At check-out, the lady at the front desk didn't even bother to ask how everything was, only quick to ring up the credit card. I spoke up and told her about the incredibly noisy air unit and worn out mattress. She showed very little concern... said she would notify maintenance about the old window unit and have them check the mattress – did absolutely nothing to amend the poor experience. At $150+ this is unacceptable. I'm not sure I would have paid half the price to stay here. I've worked in the hospitality industry, and left feeling upset.

This town is full of wonderful people that would love to have you stay at their place! Go somewhere you won't feel like a number.

Room Tip: Preview first and thoroughly inspect cooling units!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, Owner at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I first would like to thank you for staying at our wonderful historical hotel. I am sorry you encountered a few problems. I wish we would have known about the air conditioner sooner but thank you for bring it to our attention. It had a ball bearing slip and were able to fix it in about 1/2 an hour. Unfortunately, not every room can have a view of the street, we only have 11 rooms with front views because we are shaped in a U formation. Next time let us know you require a front view and if we have the room, you will get it. I checked on the mattress, and it is only 2 yrs. old and still in good condition. We also had a 2 inch foam on the top. I am sorry it was not to your liking. We also talked to Angela about when you checked out and so we are training her better on how to respond. Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    239
    125
    62
    56
See reviews for
143
319
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recently stayed a night at the well-known Copper Queen Hotel. The view of the place was quite pleasant. The exterior of the facility was well kept along with the interior, and for the most case, the staff was very friendly during our check-in. When we asked if we could view the rooms, they were comfortable to accommodate with our request. However, in my opinion, the price we paid for the 1 night we felt was over priced. We did not get a full night of restful sleep due to a couple items: 1) the air conditioning was very loud, and 2) the bed was very uncomfortable. We did put into consideration about the age of the hotel at which some items are much harder to change like, the water pressure of the hotel was weak, but that was understandable. However, air conditioning and a mattress are items that can easily be in their control to fix. Nonetheless, in my opinion, I would highly recommend to review the rooms in more detail prior to selecting, as some rooms may not provide the best bed or an updated air conditioning unit.

Room Tip: As noted above in my blog opinion, please ask to review the rooms prior to selecting and to ensure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlton127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel was built in 1902 and it fits perfectly with the western motif of the entire town. You feel like you're in the old west. It has window style air conditioning and an older style television but it also has squeaky floors, claw bathtubs, and sometimes you have to wait for hot water to appear.My friend and I had different rooms for the same price. He got a smallish room with a window and a large bathroom. I got a larger room with a sitting room plus 3 windows and a small (but adequate) bathroom. There is a lobby on the ground floor and on the second floor. The staff really cared and was straight forward. The owners managed the hotel and were usually present. The location is perfectly central. If I was rating this hotel by the value of the experience to me I'd give it 5 stars. I can understand, however, if someone else rated it lower than my 4 stars.

Room Tip: There is such a variety of room that you might want to call the hotel and describe what you want and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank California9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a mistake we made in staying here. In our room (214), the window air conditioner compressor was so loud, it woke me every time it kicked-in during the night. The shower is so small, I banged my elbows on both opposing walls while washing my hair. There were drawer pulls missing from the drawers on the wardrobe. We had to go down the hallway to access the hotel wifi. We encountered roaches in both our room and in the dining room. The dining room serves little more than bar food. The continental breakfast was a joke: Frosted Flakes, some bad looking yogurt, and cold toaster waffles (the toasters did not get hot enough to warm them through).

This hotel is falling apart and the owners are doing nothing to renovate the facility. At almost $150.00 per night with tax, these folks should be ashamed.Do yourself a favor and do not throw-away your money here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, Owner at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
.I am sorry you feel you made a mistake staying here. I am not ashamed of our beautiful historical hotel. A good 99.9% of people that come here love it and love the fact that we keep it historical. And I do work very hard in this hotel and do not understand where you think it is falling apart, and I spend as much money as I can to keep things updated and fixed. This is not meant to be a modern hotel. I'm sorry the air-conditioner was loud, if we would have known I would have had maintence look at it. All of our rooms have full baths, but some just have showers and others have a tub with a shower. Some even have the clawfoot tub. We have replaced the drawer handles that the previous customers took for a souviner. I checked the wifi and it's working however not all kinds of computers work with it. As far as the dinning room food I wasn't aware that Prime Rib, Baby-back ribs, Chicken Asiago, spaghetti and Lasagne among other sandwiches was bar food. I'll be sure and check on that. Our continental breakfast was not intended to be gourmet but a quick and light breakfast that is free to our guests. We also have a professional that comes in to take care of our bugs and sprays every week. So far I have not heard of any kind of bugs in our rooms. Since we are on the main floor and it is rainy season some might get through our open doors. For this I am truly sorry and would have been glad to have moved you room. I hope I have addressed all your complaints and concerns. I am truly sorry that you didn't understand how historical hotels are. We try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Loved the bar and bartender Karen. She was amazing and mixed our drinks just right. Would definitely visit again when she is there working. Love her!! Great service!!! Also awesome historic place to stay. Great drinks and accommodations!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernsarah6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Southernsarah6,

Thank you for your kind words on Karen and hotel. Karen is a valuable asset to our business and she brings lots of joy to our guests and staff! We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

COOL old place, charming and vintage and just great! Staff is very friendly, rooms are nice, location fabulous, town is fabulous and fun. Thoroughly enjoyable IF you want a charming, OLD hotel! We were told of paranormal activity by the receptionist. However, I was, personally, glad that WE did not experience any. The bar is a great place to relax, both inside and outside on the porch. The keyboardist playing that Thursday night is great-good tunes, nice whiskey voice too. Drinks very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muggie452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Muggie452,

“COOL old place” This is something we have been called on numerous occasions and I am glad we are still considered cool! Our hotel may be old but we still now how to have a good time! Like you said, we are a place with charm and if this is what you are looking for and a nice place to kick your feet up and relax this is the place for you! Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Copper Queen is right in the middle of old historic Bisbee. When you enter the hotel it is like taking a step back in time! The rooms are small but clean and decorated like in Victorian era. The staff is friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargretAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperqueen, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
MargretAr,

Thank you for your kind word! You described us the way we like to be described and in the way we strive to keep our hotel. With being in the middle of Bisbee you are in walking distance from nearly any place you would like to see and enjoy.
Our hotel is 111 years old and this queen is one that demands a lot attention and care and does not like to disappoint anyone. We have a staff that takes great pride in their building and jobs and they do everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We keep YOUR hotel in tip top shape and as clean as we would want our travels to be.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
302 reviews
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing