We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel”
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed one night on our visit to Bisbee, Arizona. The hotel boasts a great location, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. It is supposedly haunted by several ghosts, none made their appearance to us. The room we stayed in was small with no view ( we chose the Internet special ) however it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJKeywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 762 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel Saturday afternoon. The carpet in the hallway to the room was so worn it was rolling up hunter the suit case. The room was a mix of old and 80's updates, and not very clean. The lights were thick in dust, the towel rack was thick in dust where the towel didn't sit.... but OK...it is a piece of history, so I worked past that. We went to the hotel restaurant for dinner. The service was awful. Twice I had to go get the waitress and remind her that we ordered something and tell her again what it was we had ordered. The food was cold and flavorless. The almond crusted fish was covered in 1/2 inch of breadcrumbs so was dry like eating sawdust. The garlic mashed potatoes were dry with no garlic flavor. The locals said the restaurant is hit or miss, so you never know. We ate in town on Sunday....the Table has fantastic food! On Monday morning, we went downstairs at 10:30 and headed to try breakfast at the hotel restaurant. We figured not much bad can happen to breakfast food. We were told, sorry....we just closed. No where did it post hours or did anyone say at check in that breakfast is served until 10:30. We asked where to go for breakfast. The clerk said," there is a place across the highway past the pit. I don't know of any place else." We were very disappointed. We walked through town by the hotel and found at least half a dozen places that served breakfast with in walking distance. Why would our hotel not tell us this??? They should know what is there....the town is not that big!! We would not stay at the Copper Queen Hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just got home from our trip to Bisbee for my partners birthday. I have wanted to stay at the copper queen since I was 8 years old and never have just because it is the most expensive place in town to book a room. We had reserved a room at another hotel place in town, but after we got there it was a total train wreck of a situation, and with me on the verge of tears that the trip I had planned and saved for 3 months for was just about ruined, mike made an executive decision and said he didn't care what it cost we were staying at the Copper Queen! The front desk clerk was really nice and actually gave us the key to he room they had available and let us go up and check it out before handing over the credit card. we loved the room, and I was excited about the claw foot tub. the owner and staff were just so nice and helpful, and really went above and beyond for us, trying to fix a bad expierience for us, that was in no way there fault, just because it was it a special occasion for us. The only suggestion I would have is that the bathroom in the room is a good size, and large enough to accomadate a mini fridge, it would have been perfect to have a mini fridge for doggie bags from some of he amazing restraunts in town, also some bottled water, we spent a lot on bottled water, so a mini fridge and complementary bottled water for hotel guests would be the only two things I would change. we had a cooler with us that we filled with fresh ice everyday and it worked fine, but it would have been a bit more convienient if there was a fridge.we loved our time there and were really sad to have to leave this morning, but not to worry we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Wife and I stayed 2 nights in the Lily Langtry room. It's the front left corner room on the fourth floor, if you're looking at the hotel. Room has a double queen bed, mini fridge, small dresser with small tv. The bathroom was surprising large and CLEAN! It's out-dated and it's a 111 years old. It is very easy to imagine being a miner splurging after a week in the mines in this room. The beds were very comfortable and the room, oddly enough, didn't seem to get to hot. We did not use the window air conditioner. The only negative are the birds chirping and waking us up as the sun rose. Certainly not something within their control.

Angela's had quick attentive service, great patio seating, and most importantly, terrific food! We had dinner there our first night. I had the 12 oz Ribeye and the wife enjoyed Sauteed Scallops and Shrimp. Absolutely d-lish! For desert, I had the Peach Cobbler which was the best I've ever had. Next morning, wife had eggs benedict and I had a 3 egg omelet. Very yummy. That evening, we stopped by for a quick desert and enjoyed the Chocolate Fudge Cake with Ice Cream. Again, top notch.

We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor. The floors squeak when you walk on them. I do not think our visit wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robtam90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If it were not for the lumpy mattress that sorely needs to be replaced and the frustrating air flow of the air conditioner, I would have given the Copper Queen five stars. We have stayed here several times over the past 30 years and have always found the staff to be helpful and accommodating. This particular room was large, compared the ones we have had in the past, and the bathroom was enormous for a hotel bathroom. The claw foot tub was a sweet reminder of the historical value of this site.
The AC needs some re-working; it was a window unit in the window over the bed; the only other window was in the bathroom. The AC was pretty strong and cool, and you could feel the air flow in the room. However, for whatever reason the air flow never cooled the air right over the bed. It's as if there was an arc of air from the unit to the main part of the room that missed the bed. We did agree that we did not want to be blasted with a direct flow from the AC, but the still air right over the bed was frustrating and warm!
The bar staff was attentive and kindly asked for our patience as the bartender needed to go out back and pick the mint for my husband's mojito. The front porch off the bar is a lovely way to relax!
We love the Copper Queen and will stay again and again. It is a lovely and charming historical site!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Copper Queen is truly the Queen of Bisbee. The food at the Restaurant; Angela’s was quite good. We also visited the saloon; live music a plus and easy on the ears. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a Wonderful time, plenty of activities around town to keep busy. Good shopping. Planning a future trip and the Copper Queen is where we are staying. Keep up the good work. Ed & Jackie

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiemelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had the most amazing time at the Copper Queen Hotel this past weekend. The hotel owners and their staff made our 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration perfect. The food was exceptional. The hospitality was fantastic. Everyone should put the Copper Queen experience on their "bucket" list.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Rose Suites
Canyon Rose Suites
#2 of 11 in Bisbee
172 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing