We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Copper Queen in Bisbee is a must!”
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying at Copper Queen in Bisbee is a must!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Staying at the Copper Queen was the highlight of our trip to Bisbee. The ambience and charm of the hotel was great. Our only complaint was that we were there on Tues. and Weds. and the dining room was closed which was disappointing. The bar did have some food offers that were quite good, but there was no breakfast. A continental breakfast was provided that was very inadequate and we found another place in town to eat. However, our room was charming, bed was comfy and staff very friendly. Would definitely come back, just not on the days when dining room was closed!

Room Tip: The specialty rooms are the best, more roomy and bigger beds, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budndonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    241
    126
    62
    57
See reviews for
144
321
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romeo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Very historic building lots of history surrounds this building, stayed I room 504 has little court yard so my wife could smoke , decorated nice only draw back is the bath room could use a good scrubbing to get rid of mold, the people were friendly and helpful thanks Dan

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

You find signs to the hotel on the main street, park in a two hour parking spot and take a nice climb up to the hotel to ask where you can park more than two hours. (Understandably parking is at a premium) Personnel at the Guest Desk are very friendly and helpful. We found a parking spot and came with luggage, and check in was a breeze. Elevator ride to our "third level floor" was smooth and the room was found to be very comfortable. The nostalgic ambiance was neat to stroll through and gather in all the history. We woke the next morning, refreshed after a great nights sleep. The one thing that caught my attention was the quietness, no noise from people walking above you, or TV noise from next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent one night here. It was a special night for my 44th Birthday. I have always loved Bisbee, and chose the Copper Queen for the history (GHOST!). Julia's room was not available, so we had a unhaunted room. It was very nice and clean, and the bed was comfy. I do wish that a coffee maker and a blow dryer had been in the room. The common areas were beautiful, and another plus is that it is walking distance to Old Bisbee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I love old buildings. This hotel has been maintained with care. The room was small BUT old hotel rooms were! Clean and the staff was friendly. A great location in old Bisbee. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and found the food and service to be excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRM_SVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Well, My wife and I stayed in the Julia Lowell room. I realize the expense is from the fact the room is suppose to be haunted but they could at least put a small coffee maker in the bathroom. My suggestion to the owners is to put furniture that would be more to the era of this haunted spirit in order for her to be more comfortable....and then maybe she would make a showing. I spoke out to this spirit in order to convince it to manifest...I also awoke at 3AM to wander the halls with video camera...nothing. The restraunt was closed and it would have been nice ,when I made the reservation, to be informed of that ahead of time. The staff was very friendly. The town has alot of antique shops and stairs...everywhere...so if your not in shape....you may be taking breaks when out walking around. The bar was cozy and bartender was nice. OH, and they need to get rid of that ugly, hanging wall fixture in the room...it has bare wires and electrical tape on the plug.

Room Tip: research and ask questions about what is included in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is grand in all it's historic spendor. It's certainly worth taking a visit to, even if you do not stay there.

My beloved travel partner and I have a love for staying in historic buildings, in cities and towns that actually have quite eventful pasts.
Bisbee Arizona has just that, as it was once a thriving mining town.

The Copper Queen is the oldest still operating hotel in the area, if not the entire state of Arizona, as you could imagine, the building has its own energy and lots of vibe. You can just feel the history as soon as you walk into the lobby.

We both also love to seek out "paranormal" places, and as anyone who has watched those Paranormal Investigator shows knows, The Copper Queen has been cited as one of the most "haunted places" in Arizona.

There are a few rooms that are reported to have frequent paranormal activities, one in particular, room 315, The Julia Lowell Room. Julia was a lady of the night who more or less called The Copper Queen home, until her death, which happened inside the hotel. Needless to say, my gal and I choose to stay in her room for a night.

Because I think anyone interested in Bisbee and the paranormal should stay for a night or two, I will not tell you details of our haunting stay....

Definitely pay a visit to the Copper Queen, and do a little research on the town and the hotel, before you go.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulprojector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Letson Loft Hotel
Letson Loft Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bisbee
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
514 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
577 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing