We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haunted hotel extravaganza”
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Reviewed November 4, 2007

our stay at the copper queen was otherworldly, we got the last room available, room 306 a tiny closet of a room with only a full size bed, when we arrived to the room the door was wide open and there were two chocolate chip cookies on the night stand. all through the night there were strange white lights around the doors and the window, the sound of a player piano was heard until around 3 am. there were the sounds of doors slamming and drawers opening and closing all night.. also the ghosts of two of the resident hotel haunters made their presence felt in our room, the smell of a cigar and the smell of perfume surrounded us and the coup de gras, during the night , my wife and I were both nudged or pushed while we tried in vain to sleep. only after turning on the television to light up the room could we sleep. it was truely a frightening experiance.
A great visit for those who enjoy Haunted Arizona Hotels.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 14xena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 753 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2007

The room we rented was listed as having 2 queen size beds, but they were full size although very comfortable. The room was clean and a decent size, but the street noise, passers by, not cars, was annoying when you are trying to sleep. The street noise did not die down until around 2 am and then it was very quiet. The shower did not work well, but I managed fine. The other downside is that there is no parking anywhere near the hotel, so it is a rigourous hike with your luggage.

It's an older hotel with a nice ambience, but the price was unreasonable for the services you get.

Im glad that I stayed there as it was convenient, because it's centrally located in old Bisbee and fun to stay in an old hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AzTraveler1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

First impressions of the hotel are excellent with an elevated central locaition amongst a lot of fine architecture.There are tables and hanging baskets on the small verandah,but the inside feels a cool refuge from the blazing sun.Remove your sunglasses,though ,as it is dark and you will trip on the stairs.The unfit will find a surprisingly fast elevator for its vintage.
My room was in the attic floor and quite small with only a minimal window and limited headroom in the corners,so that there was no proper wardrobe.A larger room would be preferable if both tall and careless.The bathroom needed a little attention.Previous guests had neglected to open the window,resultaing in condensation stains on the blind,which also was decorated with dead flies ,allowed in by the defective window screen.
The corridors and public spaces were well kept.The restauranrt was spacious and cool.Breakfast was excellent,but I was surprised at the small nunber of diners.Dinner had a good menu and service was efficient.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

I must confess that I was a little bit reluctant to make a re-servation at the Copper Queen Hotel because of a few negative reviews, however, I am glad that I proceeded to make the re- servation because my stay was ANYTHING but negative. I found
that the ambiance was exactly what my wife and I was in search of. We wanted to find a place that would be an ESCAPE from the PAID polite type of atmosphere that you get in a resort type of lodging.

Bisbee is a fun place to visit and I have had the pleasure of staying in Bisbee twice within the last three years. The first time I stayed at the Bisbee Grand Hotel which I felt was a great exper-
ience because the suites were lovely and the employees were fun to be around.

My wife and I like to experience different places so we chose the Copper Queen Hotel, again, despite the negative comments. We found the rooms to be quaint and charming. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We had one of our best meals that we can remember when we ate at their restaurant and the saloon was a good experience, too. The owner of the Copper Queen Hotel, last evening, July 24, 2007 took time out of her very busy evening to have a nice conversation with my wife and I when we dined out on their terrace over looking Old Bisbee..

I love traveling to small historic towns and staying in historic hotels. I compare the Copper Queen Hotel to one of my favorite places to stay and that is the Georagetown Hotel near Placerville, California. No, I don't expect my stay at these hotels to be absolutely perfect, but, what I do expect out of these hotels is to have my stay to take me back to a turn of the century atmos-
phere when life was something more than valet parking and bell boys with their hands extending out searching for tips just to open doors.

YES! My wife and I will, again, return to Bisbee and we will either stay at the Copper Queen Hotel or the Bisbee Grand Hotel be- cause both hotels are exciting and certainly represent what we are looking for when we take a trip from our normal busy life style in the big cities. We want to let our hair down and escape from the pressures of the corporate world and that is exactly why we travel to small towns like Bisbee, Arizona. I would recommend both hotels as a place to stay because either hotel has great charm and allows me to release the stress of living in the big cities and traveling and staying in hotels where the amenities may be more commercial, but, their atmospheres are cold and the employees are PAID polites.

Bill & Val Clippings

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank clippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We really enjoyed our one night stay. My boys are 7 & 5 years old and they want to come back again annually for Memorial Day weekend. We have found our new Tradition with lost of History. The Hotel was very comfortable, the staff very helpful and the food was good. The Hotel has a very nice size pool that is solar heated and it was nice to sit back and relax with a beer watching my kids having a great time. Thank you to everyone at the Copper Queen Hotel. Next time we will venture out and do some tours!!

Stayed: May 2007
Thank ONeill4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

My 9 year old and I stayed at the Copper Queen, and enjoyed the stay.

Front Desk Staff: Although not very friendly, the man there was professional and answered my questions well. I've heard of parking issues, but he told me of a public parking lot just a few yards from the hotel, and had no problems there.

Hotel: Such charm and ambiance. Beautiful building, and was furnished nicely throughout all the floors. Had a very antique feeling about it. The carpet needs cleaning.

Room: We had the King Bed room, directly over the saloon which didn't bother either of us, although you could hear the live music if you listened for it. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable with nice linens. The air conditioner was quiet and digitally controlled the temp. Cable TV with lots of channels, and remote control worked fine.

Restaurant: Excellent! I love this restaurant. They start you off with a fancy schmancy complimentary appetizer which was wonderful, and the food was very good and plentiful. Kids menu was also alot of food, which is rare.

They offered a warning about the room being over the bar.
They had fresh homemade cookies in the room.
They gave you a comp'd breakfast in the restaurant, and it was for the full meal. Not just donuts, either, whatever you order, as long as its one entree. It said free coffee only, but they did not charge either of us for the orange juice.

I would stay again, but the price would make me try other well recommended hotels there.

Price: Its a little high priced for the size of the room,

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We just had one very chilly night in Bisbee. Someone in Sierra Vista heard we were going to Bisbee and recommended the Copper Queen. Our AAA guidebook gave it a good rating, we called and got a queen room for about $135. Fine room, comfy and pleasant. We had dinner in the hotel dining room...buffalo burgers that were great, the very best bread pudding either of us have ever had, and the next morning the coffee was so good we bought three bags from them and will continue ordering it by mail. All together, it was certainly one of the most pleasant evenings on our five-week road trip.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cubstink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Rose Suites
Canyon Rose Suites
#2 of 11 in Bisbee
169 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Letson Loft Hotel
Letson Loft Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bisbee
225 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing