We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Privacy”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bisbee Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
omaha, ne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Privacy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed on New Years Eve due to the hotel claims of being haunted. This was my second stay at The Grand Hotel and I enjoyed my first stay. The rooms are above the bar and the bar had a band so we knew there would be the noise from the band-this was no problem. To get to the rooms you have to go up stairs from the outside door next to the bar. Only guests have keys and the guests were to lock the door behind them. We walked around outside several times and found the door constantly unlocked. Also while in our room we heard numerous bar guests come upstairs to look around. Since the doors to the rooms have glass in part of the door you hear everything - we were awaken at 3am to a male guest yelling at his spouse using all kind of profanity and calling her names and what sounded like a slap. By the time I got dressed they quieted down so unable to tell who may have been abusing who. We got NO SLEEP - We DID NOT safe and secure in the room. My suggestion ....DON'T WAIST YOUR MONEY

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taz15421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    90
    22
    22
    16
See reviews for
38
186
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
412 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was my second stay at the Bisbee Grand....and we finally got to see what all of the fuss was about. If you have the option, rent the Captain's Suite....by far the quietest 'rooms' in the house! It was disconcerting taking a bath with a urinal 2 feet from my face....but it's all rustic charm. If you want a brand new hotel, this is NOT the place you will find satisfaction. If you want the historic charm of old hotels then this is definitely the place for you--the skylight and vaulted ceiling took my breath away. The only thing was the constant walking in the room above us. It sounded like someone unpacking their suitcase...all....night....long. It would start up and stop at random points all during the time we were there. Turns out the room above us was unoccupied, but is supposedly haunted. COOL! AWESOME! Next time I'll go right for the jugular and stay in this suite...it's big enough for four adults without issue...or a family.

Room Tip: Captain's Suite is the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahbears_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is an atmospheric place in a very special town for this veteran traveler who was with his girlfriend on their first road trip. Everything was fine and the location was central with zero hassles. Really glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochise, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

After dinner in Bisbee last night, we decided to stay the night rather than make the hour drive back home. We stayed in this hotel and it was well worth the stay. Rooms were clean, quiet, and very comfortable. It is, of course, an old hotel so if you aren't wanting a real old timey experience then you should stay elsewhere. But if you want to do Bisbee up right, this place is perfect. We will never make the drive home after dinner ever again. We have found a friend in the BGH.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "hunter's" room and I this this was the least expensive one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I'm sure there are some that would not like this hotel at all. It's very old but the effort that has been put into making it comfortable is second to none. It's very well loved by those who work here and it's one of the cleanest places we've ever stayed. Because we were there slightly off-season, there were not a lot of places to eat. The bed was comfortable and a full breakfast is provided. We stayed in the Hollywood suite and at peak season we would have had to share the sitting room. It's at street level and was easily accessible for my husband who is disabled.

Room Tip: Street level suites are ADA accessible. You do have to go up a long flight of stairs for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Had a great night at the Grand. Accomodations were fine and clean and the hotel staff is great. We stayed in the captain's room which was really cool and roomy. Love Bisbee and would stay again at the Grand Hotel in a heartbeat.
Stan

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bisbeegrandhotel, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We appreciate your KIND words regarding your stay at our place of lodging. Our staff works hard to provide you with a very pleasant experience while staying at the BGH. We make every effort to capture a "turn of the century atmosphere" that is different from typical lodging offered by big chain hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was overpriced (139$) and run down and needed a deep clean. We stayed in the Hacienda suite. The toilet ran most of the night. We were told that the live bands downstairs would be finished at 11pm. Two more bands took the stage after that time. Then the drunks started running around the hallways carrying on about cell phones and how inebriated they were. Walls are paper thin and you will hear everything! It was after 2am before things settled down enough to sleep. Then the staff started running vacuums outside the room and banging around making coffee before 7am. ALL I really REALLY want right now is to find a quiet place to SLEEP because I have a long drive today - something I was unable to do in this place.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Halophonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bisbeegrandhotel, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience with us. During the weekend that you stayed the Bisbee Grand Hotel had agreed to host the Side Poney Express Battle of the Bands weekend. We had advised guests upon making reservations that there would be noise from the bands and tried to limit the sales of rooms to people visiting Bisbee who would enjoy such entertainment. We supported this venue because it brings a lot of people, music and fun to travelers taking part in this activity. The BGH supports other saloons, cafe's and places of lodging in Bisbee, sometimes, at the expense of a FEW guests who chose not to participate.

Unfortunately, you wrote a review that was tainted because of the NOISE. There was NO vacuum operating in the hallway before 9:00 a.m. and the Hacienda Suite do not have any thinner walls than most hotels, motels, and other places of lodging. Employees make coffee after 7:00 a.m. when their shift begins. The BGH employees takes extra effort to add to their GUESTS a high QUALITY of SERVICE.

Again, we do appreciate your review and are sorry that you did not participate in the evening's fun/entertainment. We did try to inform you that the Battle of the Bands weekend was a SPECIAL weekend for Bisbee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bisbee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bisbee Grand Hotel

Property: Bisbee Grand Hotel
Address: 61 Main St, Bisbee, AZ 85603-9901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bisbee Grand Hotel Bed and Breakfast, located at 61 Main St. in Historic Bisbee, Arizona is an elegant escape back to the turn of the century. Each of our seven suites and six rooms are elegantly appointed with antiques, fine art, and extremely comfortable furniture. No two are alike and there is a theme sure to suit any taste. All rooms have their own private bath. As a part of the ongoing renovations and improvements to the hotel, in July of 2008 Air Conditioning was added throughout the hotel. Constructed in 1906 and restored in 1986 in Old West Victorian style, the bed and breakfast hotel features six suites - The Victorian, The Oriental, The Captain's, The Hacienda, The Western, The Hollywood, and The Garden - in addition to seven guestrooms with their own unique decor. Nestled in the copper-rich Mule Mountains, Bisbee's historic architecture, virtually unchanged since 1910, is a popular attraction and provides the town with a unique Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bisbee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing