We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner very friendly, food very good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of R & R Pizza Express

R & R Pizza Express
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Benson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: R&R Pizza - Benson is a free standing building on the corner of Huachuca and 5th st. With lots of parking including truck and bus parking in the lot across Huachuca or on the street. We have an occupancy rating of over 200 people, including a game room and a private party room,for birthdays or meetings.
Benson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owner very friendly, food very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I have just recently moved to Benson, and we are big buffet eaters. Of the three buffets in Benson we have eaten at, R&R is by far our favorite. We both worked at domino's pizza for years so know a thing or two about pizza. The ONLY way you are going to get better pizza here in Benson is to make it yourself at home, and only if you know what you are doing! If they do not have something on the buffet all you have to do is ask and they will make it for you. And I strongly suggest you try the dessert pizza it is quite nice.

Having been there several times I have had an opportunity to chat with the owner, who in my opinion is very level headed and quite a hard worker. It is very refreshing to know that he actually works in his store and cares about his customers experience. In a day and age where we are bombarded with corporate places to eat filled with people that do not care about the food quality, we should all feel very lucky to have such a wonderful place to go to eat.

On a separate note I have noticed a few, not many, complaints about the food. Here is a piece of advice from someone who has worked in food service for years. If you have a problem with the food you have been served the time to complain is right away! When the owner comes over and asks you how your food is and you are not happy, DO NOT say "oh its pretty good" then come online and complain. What you should do is say "I am not happy with this because..." that way your order can be fixed and then you can come online and let us know how your issue was resolved!

Thanks to all the people that work so hard to give us such a great pizza in such a small little town!

Brian & Jolene Conn

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianAndJolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank your for the very thorough review.
I have been personally running this restaurant in Benson for 18+ years now and I really do care about every aspect of it.
We have worked long and hard to have great food, service and atmosphere and be a great place to work as well.
Thanks again for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff is amazing and very helpful. Nice game room that my daughter likes to play at and keeps her occupied. Great boneless wings with no greasing and a salad bar with variety.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmorganaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank for your feedback. We strive for perfection in every aspect our friends dining experience. Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't eat pizza anywhere else.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in Willcox for a few months and didn't hear about this place until later in our stay. We would not have eaten pizza anywhere else if we'd known about it.
Pizza is amazing, bread sticks are to die for, and wings are almost as amazing as the pizza.
We had the buffet and they had a good variety of pizza.
The interior does not look new, modern or fancy; but it's comfortable and clean.
Highly recommended!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review.
We are so glad you had a great experience with us.
We are also glad that our place did not look fancy or new. Fact its the place is very new. We moved in just a few months ago after a total remodel of this old building that actually used to be the Benson Post Office. So it sounds like we achieved exactly what we were looking for. A new place that is clean and workable, but looks more like an old building with the brick work and barn lumber. We are hoping you get the feel of an old west train station when you are here.
Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best staff!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

After reading all the following reviews, we decided to give it a try. I was surprise as soon as we walk in, The staff today greet us with such a wonderful friendly greeting, they seem to be busy and still we got our food hot and fast, they don't joke around when they say it will be done in 15min. We have been in other restaurants in town, but the majority of there staff are rude and
unprofessional. I can tell R&R has a very good environment, seems like the manager is very on top of things. Again service is one of the things we look for. The food was excellent, chicken wings are awesome, is worth coming back again, They take request of pizza on buffet and they were very happy to see us enjoy what we ask for. Thank you r&r staff!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hilbert01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review.
I like my staff quite a bit too!
I am also glad to hear you made a request for a favorite on the buffet. We are the only restaurant I have ever eaten at where the customers can choose what they want on a buffet, and we are more than happy to do it. After all we are here to make you happy and satisfy your appetite. So we welcome requests. We offer 3 different crusts, 3 sauces, and so many toppings the possible combinations are mind boggling, but we are game to try them all for you.
Come prepared with ideas and we will be happy to create a new favorite, just for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just had buffet for lunch. great as usual.
This place has great food in a nice family atmosphere and the stafg is always friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twotwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion.
We are so glad you had a wonderful experience and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R & R Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to R & R Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing