We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and very nice place to stay.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benson
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and very nice place to stay.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here one night during the week. I had checked online and was pleasantly surprised when the rate I received from the front desk was 15% cheaper! The room was very clean, nice mattresses, great pillows, the only issue was the sheets. They had pilling on them, and seemed worn. The breakfast the next morning was the usual fare, and as others have stated, the service was exceptional. I even commented that the main reason we stayed here was the great reviews the service had received. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenM201108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank your positive review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the issues you had with the bedding. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    68
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
84
90
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I spent one night in this hotel and both of us commented that it looked new. The room was tastefully decorated with Western decor....the bathroom was modern with a counter top that looked like granite. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. In the dining room the next morning, the hostess was constantly replenishing the food and cleaning the serving tables and equipment. I asked the front desk clerk if the hotel was new and she smiled and said, "it's 16 years old". I told her it appeared to be new and she replied that they have a great staff who work hard to take care of it. If you are in the area, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your your recent stay at our hotel.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and myself stopped for 2 nights to see Kartchner Caverns and do a little rock hounding in the area.
We reserved early through Hotels.com, and we thought the hotel was a good value. It had a nice appearance inside and out and the staff were all helpful and friendly. It is in a convenient location 10 minutes down the road from the State Park, and just a few minutes drive to the Benson business area. The room was fairly roomy and the king bed was very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor, but that wasn't a problem since there is an elevator to use when hauling luggage, and an open stairway to use when you just want to make a quick trip up or down.
Breakfast was good and featured the usual things- waffles, danishes, eggs, yogurt, cereal, etc. The only issue I had was with the WiFi. One night it was good, and one night it was so slow I couldn't do much on line.
Overall, we would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and so fat it was good. Breakfast was very good. We used to stay here when it was still Holiday Inn Express ,then changed to Desert Rose , now called Comfort Inn. So far it didn't changed that much just the management. It is still good. Employees were nice and asked us if needed anything . Don't mind coming back here to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you are finding your experience with our hotel has not change over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

For me there is no other choice when I travel to Benson to visit my Dad who retired here for the past 20 years ! The hotel used to be called the Desert Rose Inn but the change to a chain based hotel hasn't changed the warm comfortable atmosphere and the staff are super polite ( south-western style ) !
The hotel is located close enough to local attractions such as Kartchner Caverns, the artsy town of Bisbee, and the cowboy town of Tombstone. The scenic drive thru southern Arizona to these attractions is awe inspiring .....the vastness and beauty is half he fun !

Room Tip: Pick the 2nd floor looking south towards mountains .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No_beach_whale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank your feedback regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn, Benson. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very clean, reasonable rates, good breakfast, friendly staff. We stayed there over the Thanksgiving Holiday visiting with our grandson and wife. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Had a great time sightseeing. Tombstone was okay, very commercialize. Went wine tasting which was a lot of fun. Saw the old town of Bisbee which is a must see! Just a great trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

December 1, 2013

Mr. Dean Penrose
General Manager
The Comfort Inn
630 S. Village Loop
Benson, Arizona 85602

Dear Mr. Penrose,

Re: 11/25/2013, Room # 234

Good morning!!!!

My "back" story is: I was in the hotel business for 30 years of which 25 was as General Manager for brands from Holiday Inn to Wyndham with a stop or two along the way managing a Courtyard by Marriott and a Radisson.

Enough about me.

I would be remiss if I did not share my thoughts on our brief one night stay. You, the management team and ownership are to be commended. I found the entire property well kept and extremely clean. As a guy who renovated almost every hotel I managed I must also say that last upgrade was done tastefully.

The young lady on the desk the at 6:30AM on the 26th as well as the female associate that maintained the breakfast room were quite friendly and did a super job exceeding our expectations.

As a regular who shares my feedback on Tripadvisor.com you can look forward to me adding my thoughts to whatever already exists on file for your operation.

Please take a moment and share my feedback with corporate and ownership so they can see that your combined efforts are not going unnoticed.

Have a Happy Holiday Season and prosperous New Year.

Regards,


Bill R. - CHA
Smithville, Texas 78957

Room Tip: If our room was run of house you will have no problem getting a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean P, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benson
23.1 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Benson
Super 8 Benson
#5 of 5 in Benson
126 reviews
23.2 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Benson
516 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Benson
Days Inn Benson
#3 of 5 in Benson
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 630 S Village Loop, Benson, AZ 85602-6762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Benson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes from Kartchner Caverns State Park at the junction of Interstate 10, State Route 90, and 1 mile from State Route 80, we are central to Tucson, Tombstone, Bisbee, and Sierra Vista / Fort Huachuca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Benson
Benson Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Benson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing