We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kartchner Caverns State Park

Kartchner Caverns State Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Benson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful park. The ranger who led the tour was very informative and freindly. We didn't feel rushed like you do with some tours. The caverns are really interesting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    169
    42
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went with our kids and grandkids and were truly impressed with the tour and the beauty of the caverns. This is one place that is truly worth driving to from Tucson.

Helpful?
Thank visitthemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go... seriously”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are anywhere in the Tucson or Sierra Vista area and you haven't been, GO! This is the coolest cave I have ever been seen. It is sealed to prevent the cave from dieing and you need reservations (before you show up) so that they groups can be of a 'responsible' size, but you will not be disappointed that you got to see this. The whole walk-way is paved too for those worried about having to climb over a bunch of rocks.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tayolr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Arizona
Level Contributor
211 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A little high priced to look at rocks.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

22 bucks a head for a one hour tour through a cave. They spend alot of time telling you what you can't bring, can't touch, etc. It was cool to see but not worth the money. No cameras allowed either - If I could go back in time, I would pass on this one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WeOwnAFatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Formations, A Little Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Kartchner Caverns was an interesting experience. I've never seen any cave formations before, so this active cave was totally cool to see. It is 99 percent humidity inside the caverns and about 69 degrees, so you do start to feel sticky near the end of the tour. I liked how informed our tour guide was and how he was able to teach us all about the discovery of the caverns. It was $22.50 per person, though it did include parking. That seemed a bit much for what you actually get. I think, as it stands, the tour is worth about $15-$17. I agree with other reviewers that they should've given us a complimentary (or included in admission) postcard, since you can't take cameras in. My husband, who has visited Carlsbad Caverns in New Mexico viewed it less favorably, since Kartchner is far smaller. I still enjoyed it and I liked that because this center was opened in 1999, it felt modern and every guide and staff member instilled how valuable the caverns are and how vital it is that they are preserved. Remember, you can't bring anything with you inside the caverns (no purses, bags, cameras, binoculars allowed). Also make reservations beforehand. You could drive out there and not be able to get in (thankfully our hotel staff told us about the reservations, so we were able to arrange it then). During summer and holidays, we were told tours sell out well in advance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nichole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kartchner Caverns State Park also viewed

 

Been to Kartchner Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing