We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovering My Own Petroglyphs”
Review of Petroglyph Beach

Ranked #7 of 16 things to do in Wrangell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach features petroglyphs, carved symbols in rocks by ancient Native inhabitants.
Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Discovering My Own Petroglyphs”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

First, go at low tide. Luckily someone told us this before we went! It's very cook because there's no "trail" and no real direction. There's a small deck with some information on the petroglyphs, then you walk down onto the beach/rock area and hunt to find them for yourselves. It took us a while, but when we started finding them, it was like we were the first to discover thousands of year old petroglyphs. Cool feeling!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JSI2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    31
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, F.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ancient communication”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I walked from our hotel to the rocky beach in search of the elusive petroglyph. There is a very nice board walk and stairs take you to the beach. We spent about an hour and a half and found several petroglyphs and one Geological Survey plaque. It is a very enjoyable way to get close to history and the ancient Native people who worked to place the "signposts" there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SunCitySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
437 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Worth a quick visit”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped here as part of a Wrangell City Highlights tour (highly recommended, by the way). Our tour guide explained that the petroglyphs on the deck are reproductions so that you can make rubbings. There are also some signs explaining what you'll find. The real petroglyphs are on rocks on the beach, and she pointed them out to us by pouring water on them - they are worth seeing - when do you normally get the chance to see such ancient art right on a beach?

Some notes: when we visited there were tons of annoying little flies buzzing about us on the beach, so you may want to come prepared (we were not). Also, there are two of the nicest, cleanest, most well-appointed port-a-potties you'll ever encounter up by the entrance to the observation deck. And, as someone else has noted, there is a very enthusiastic black dog that belongs to one of the houses nearby and he is very insistent that you throw a stick for him. Unless you want to spend your entire visit here throwing a stick for the dog (perhaps you might), don't do it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
295 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“a chance to discover...”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

for yourself some interesting historical artifacts -- maybe 1/2 mile walk from ferry terminal (or short mile from downtown) a boardwalk will guide you down to beach and exploration awaits!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasaan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

There are ancient rock carvings that will blow you away! Ancient peoples carved that rock art, and I want to know the meanings of the carvings, and who did the work.

Helpful?
1 Thank Super8KetchikanGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petroglyph Beach also viewed

 

Been to Petroglyph Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing