We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
113
3
0
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
3
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsat homeplace to stayfull kitchenbed and breakfastcommon areasmaking suresoutheast alaskalives up to its namein townthought of everythingquicheb and bwonderful breakfastprepared breakfastthemed bedroomsowners liveentire downstairs
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 119 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

Well what can I add to the great reviews already posted about this place? A great venue with a jaw dropping view out over the water. Leslie and Alan were hugely accommodating and coping well with their new found fame after featuring in a BBC 'life swap' documentary. Great to hear their tales of the filming of this. We stayed in the moose room which was a delight - a comfy bed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was yummy too. Thank you for a great stay, would highly recommend this place to all visitors. PS. Picture shows the view from the back of the house and the boat going past is Alan's - he offers fishing and other sightseeing activities too.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blush1981, Owner at Grand View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dearest Wendy and Chris, the best of the UK. We were thrilled with your visit and thank you for your kindly review. We hope to meet up with you in England one day. Warm regards, Alan and Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

This was our home away from home. If there is a better B&B in Alaska please let me know where . Alan and Leslie Are by far the most accommodating of any host I Have ever come a cross. The set up with rooms on the lower floor ,the moose or the bear allows guest there own time but also small amounts of contacts with the host. The breakfast are to die for with new ones every morning,alway with coffee ,juice and hot food which was just like mum used to make. This may be a small town but this B&B is Hugh success, try your luck and be like us and have a great time in Wrangell

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jgardiner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blush1981, Owner at Grand View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you for your kind words. Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

From the moment Leslie met us at the airport & greeted us like long lost family to the time Alan bid us farewell at the ferry terminal we had the most amazing time. Leslie and Alan have carefully and lovingly created their B&B to the highest of standards. Beautiful themed guest rooms and super comfortable beds as well as huge common areas with access to a full kitchen and also laundry facilities mean you have everything you could want here at Grand View. There are plenty of chairs both inside and outside to relax and enjoy the spectacular view over the Zimovia Strait. On top of this Leslie also prepares a fresh hearty and delicious breakfast each morning. Advice and suggestions both before you arrive and during your stay are an added bonus and greatly appreciated.

Wrangell is not on the main cruise line route and as such is a peaceful little haven in the normally super busy Southeast Alaska. Wrangell has the friendliest people, everyone knows everyone but being a stranger there doesn't mean you feel like an outsider quite the opposite actually, everyone wants to help you and make you feel welcome.

Staying at Grand View was a decision I was certainly very thankful for and I would definitely highly recommend it to others too. BTW Leslie is quite the celebrity having starred in an episode of the BBC reality TV series Life Swap Adventure, (we had fun watching the episode with Leslie during our stay). Do yourself a favour - if you put Wrangell on your Southeast Alaska itinerary then be sure to check out Grand View- you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank NarisaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blush1981, Owner at Grand View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

This is so verykind, thank you!! We really enjoyed your visit as well. Thank you again, Alan and Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

We spent just one night (too short!) With the wonderful, warm and creative hosts, Leslie and Alan. Leslie has thought of everything...every little touch you could want in a small BnB. The bear motif is clear and very nice. The sitting room, spacious and filled with huge cumfy rocking armchairs, boasts an incredible view of the arm of the Inside Passageway part of the Pacific Ocean. We didn't want to leave the sitting room! Alan picked us up at the airport and gave us a tour and ride. Their place is about a mile or so from "downtown" (one street), an easy walk. Not much in town, but it's the pick up spot for the incredible boat trip to the Anan Bear observatory.
Leslie's breakfast is incredible. We just wished we had stayed longer! Here's the view from their backyard.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWashDC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blush1981, Owner at Grand View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

This is not your typical B and B where you feel like you are awkwardly staying in someone's home. The owners live in a completely separate space upstairs and the guests (total of 3 bedrooms/bath) have the entire downstairs to themselves....with a full kitchen to use if you want to cook your own dinners, laundry facilities, quiet reading room and a large living room with TV (plus a TV in each bedroom). Great patio with BBQ and a grand view of the ocean! So many cute decorations inside and out makes the whole place fun to explore. Leslie went above and beyond to accommodate my gluten allergy and was so friendly and willing to do anything to make sure we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphkin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews