We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
111
3
0
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
3
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsat homeplace to stayfull kitchenbed and breakfastcommon areasmaking suresoutheast alaskain townthought of everythingthemed bedroomsowners liveentire downstairslower floorstunning scenerylarge living roomexplore the islandlaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 117 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017

From the moment Leslie met us at the airport & greeted us like long lost family to the time Alan bid us farewell at the ferry terminal we had the most amazing time. Leslie and Alan have carefully and lovingly created their B&B to the highest of standards. Beautiful themed guest rooms and super comfortable beds as well as huge common areas with access to a full kitchen and also laundry facilities mean you have everything you could want here at Grand View. There are plenty of chairs both inside and outside to relax and enjoy the spectacular view over the Zimovia Strait. On top of this Leslie also prepares a fresh hearty and delicious breakfast each morning. Advice and suggestions both before you arrive and during your stay are an added bonus and greatly appreciated.

Wrangell is not on the main cruise line route and as such is a peaceful little haven in the normally super busy Southeast Alaska. Wrangell has the friendliest people, everyone knows everyone but being a stranger there doesn't mean you feel like an outsider quite the opposite actually, everyone wants to help you and make you feel welcome.

Staying at Grand View was a decision I was certainly very thankful for and I would definitely highly recommend it to others too. BTW Leslie is quite the celebrity having starred in an episode of the BBC reality TV series Life Swap Adventure, (we had fun watching the episode with Leslie during our stay). Do yourself a favour - if you put Wrangell on your Southeast Alaska itinerary then be sure to check out Grand View- you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank NarisaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blush1981, Owner at Grand View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

This is so verykind, thank you!! We really enjoyed your visit as well. Thank you again, Alan and Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

We spent just one night (too short!) With the wonderful, warm and creative hosts, Leslie and Alan. Leslie has thought of everything...every little touch you could want in a small BnB. The bear motif is clear and very nice. The sitting room, spacious and filled with huge cumfy rocking armchairs, boasts an incredible view of the arm of the Inside Passageway part of the Pacific Ocean. We didn't want to leave the sitting room! Alan picked us up at the airport and gave us a tour and ride. Their place is about a mile or so from "downtown" (one street), an easy walk. Not much in town, but it's the pick up spot for the incredible boat trip to the Anan Bear observatory.
Leslie's breakfast is incredible. We just wished we had stayed longer! Here's the view from their backyard.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWashDC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blush1981, Owner at Grand View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

This is not your typical B and B where you feel like you are awkwardly staying in someone's home. The owners live in a completely separate space upstairs and the guests (total of 3 bedrooms/bath) have the entire downstairs to themselves....with a full kitchen to use if you want to cook your own dinners, laundry facilities, quiet reading room and a large living room with TV (plus a TV in each bedroom). Great patio with BBQ and a grand view of the ocean! So many cute decorations inside and out makes the whole place fun to explore. Leslie went above and beyond to accommodate my gluten allergy and was so friendly and willing to do anything to make sure we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphkin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

Leslie runs a terrific operation. Firstly the views are incredible. From our bedroom we looked out to the bay and this view could be seen from the breakfast area and the lounge. There is a very high level of comfort from the individually themed bedrooms and bathrooms to the lounge and rest areas. I had the most wonderful sleep in a divine bed!! After a few weeks travelling it was really appreciated. Leslie cooks hearty breakfasts and it was great to have use of the kitchen at night time to cook our own meals. Leslie herself is so accommodating- a force to be reckoned with!! She picked us up and dropped us back at the ferry. We can't recommend this Bed and Breakfast highly enough. Thank you Leslie!!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blush1981, Owner at Grand View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Marilyn, Kevin and Sylvia!! Great guests, great time and good people, thank you so much for the kind words!! You were a real pleasure, truly. Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

This magnificent bed-and-breakfast inn is truly a one-of-a-kind as is owner/operator Leslie Cummings. Gorgeous views are complimented with breakfasts which are skillfully prepared and beautifully presented, then served up with Leslie's lively banter and extensive knowledge of Wrangell's history, lore and politics - plus a likely dissertation or dissent on her favorite sports teams' recent accomplishments or losses if you get her started.

I'm used to B&B's that offer you a basic room with a clean bed and a self-serve continental or very small buffet breakfast. The Grand View offers three really large and excellently appointed Alaska-themed rooms, a huge great room for guests to gather to visit, play games or just enjoy the incredible view of the beach and ocean directly out front, and a fully stocked kitchen for all to enjoy Leslie's breakfasts or prepare their own dinners.

This is "real Alaska" at its best. After my first stay here some three years ago a repeat trip was was a "must do" and I was happy but certainly not surprised to find it even more beautiful and welcoming than before. Thank you again for a fabulous time!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews