We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
111
3
0
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
3
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsat homeplace to stayfull kitchenbed and breakfastcommon areasmaking suresoutheast alaskain townthought of everythingthemed bedroomsowners liveentire downstairslower floorstunning scenerylarge living roomexplore the islandlaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 117 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

This is probably the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The views were stunning, the hostess was truly brilliant and she went out of her way to accommodate us, even sourcing British Brand teabags for me as I am not a coffee drinker. The rooms are themed as Bear, Moose and Alaska and each of them are beautifully decorated. We had full use of the kitchen, lounge and library facilities so, on the whole, our short stay was better than staying at home as we were so comfortable. Our hostess was one of the stars of a recent BBC programme called 'Life Swap Adventure' in which a Nottingham woman swapped lives with our Alaskan lady - she was thrilled that her 'fame' had spread and we knew about her before our arrival. Be ready for lots of hugs if you stay here.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely excellent service with great people. The views are incomparable to any places I have seen. Wake up to stunning scenery and great food by friendly people. This is a must if you are traveling to Wrangell Alaska.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017

We can't say enough great things about Grand View B&B and the wonderful hostess, Leslie! We are Alaskans who decided on a bit of a whim to visit Wrangell and stay at the Grand View - and we are so glad we did - we loved it! Right on the beach, the views are spectacular - you could just sit and watch the water and the birds/wildlife all day, taking in the sea air. The B&B itself is also wonderful - comfortable, impeccibly clean (and I'm fussy about that - I mean it was spotless), well-furnished, with everything you need (including wifi, which isn't a given in Alaska) - and all the common areas (plus the Moose Room where we stayed) face the beach/water. It's about a 1/2-hour walk to town (flat and easy - with the benefit of being quieter than a hotel in town), or you can get rides, or rent a car if you want to do some independent exploring of the island. Leslie was the best hostess we could have wished for - kind, generous, making us feel right at home and making sure we had everything we needed, offering local advice (and great stories), and made the best breakfasts. We miss her and the Grand View already, and we will be back!

And for those wondering about Wrangell - it has a true authentic Alaskan charm and laid-back, quiet vibe. You won't find the lines of stores open at 8pm selling cheap non-Alaskan-made trinkets, but what you will find is a true alaskan experience, landscapes, nature and wildlife (and fishing if that's your thing), adventure (if you want it), relaxation (if that's what you want), great beach-combing, an incredible history, one of the best Alaskan museums we've been to, and friendly down-to-earth people. Leave your fancy clothes at home and enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moose Room, with the amazing views - you can watch the water/beach from bed!
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WigginsBennettAK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

This was a beautiful place to stay for a few days. The host provided a unique historical tour of the BnB that was really interesting for my coworkers and I. The beds were comfy and the kitchen was awesome to have. It was a great stay.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Everything about the Grand View was incredible. The location was stellar- just far enough out of town to have some space & the beach to ourselves, but it was still an easy walk into town: two miles on a flat, well-lit bike path, or you could choose to walk through City Park and wind through one of the harbors. The views are unbelievable and the atmosphere very relaxing. You can't beat the car rental price at Grand View anywhere- it was fun to have a car to explore the island. I also appreciated having a full kitchen available to us. Leslie was a gracious and accommodating host who made our business trip so easy and pleasant. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Moose Room has the best view.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnieG98404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews