We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, we were sad to leave!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wrangell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Wrangell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay, we were sad to leave!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for five nights during our vacation to Alaska, had a fantastic time and were sad to leave! Our hostess, Leslie made us feel welcome and very comfortable. This bed and breakfast is literally right on the beach and we enjoyed beach combing and even had a bonfire one evening. The main common room features many comfy recliners from which to enjoy the gorgeous views of the channel, wildlife (we saw seals and bald eagles) and mountains. The breakfasts were fantastic (think fresh fruit, cinnamon rolls, french toast, sourdough pancakes, eggs, sausage, juice, fresh coffee, just to name a few)! Leslie also saw to the small details such as ample hangers in the closet, drawer space and locally made hand soaps to use in the bathroom. We were very appreciative of the comfortable and clean beds and bedding and our attractive room with a decorative Alaska feel. The only down side is that its about a two mile walk to town and hiking trails so if you are bringing children, transportation is a must or you can use the local taxi service. As another possible option, a local business and restaurant we frequented during our stay were kind enough to pick us up and drop us off several times. Just to give an example of how Leslie goes the extra mile, she dropped us off at the airport and must have gone back to the B & B and found a pair of pants I had forgotten because she drove all the way back to the airport and gave my pants to another passenger who in turn, gave them to me. We really enjoyed our time here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew15something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    3
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
37
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Traveled with my husband and young daughter to Wrangell for two days in July. Stayed at The Grand View B&B and couldn't have asked for a nicer place or nicer hostess. Leslie greeted us with a hug and made us feel very welcome, right at home. We stayed in the Bear Room. It was wonderfully decorated and impeccably clean, very comfortable.The entire home is just beautiful and has an outstanding view. Great, hot breakfast in the mornings and the sourdough pancakes were awesome! Really enjoyed visiting with Leslie too. You can tell she is passionate about what she does and is very good at it. A real pleasure to stay there and we look forward to staying there again next time we visit Wrangell!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCoastMom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Leslie is such a sweet hostess. When she met us at the ferry, we felt like we had just met a long lost friend. We each received a warm welcome hug, including our 17 year old son and his 2 buddies. When we arrived at her home we were so, so impressed. Due to scheduling issues with our Alaska vacation, we had to stay at 2 other bed n breakfasts prior to staying at the Grandview. There is no comparison. The Grandview is abosolutely a beautiful place to stay! The view is like no other. At this place, bed a breakfast means BED and BREAKFAST! She is an amazing cook and you will get fed unlike anywhere else in Wrangell! The sour dough pancakes are totally amazing! Thank you Leslie!! You kept the boys going. Leslie knows everyone in Wrangell and helped us with connections for great fishing and sight-seeing tours and things to do in Wrangell. For going to a small island and having no real plans for what to do, Leslie MADE OUR VACATION! We could go on and on and on. If you want a great place to stay, a great atmosphere, at a great location, book EARLY. We wish we could have stayed there the entire time. Thank you Leslie! The Nebraska gang! Go Big Red!

Room Tip: We stayed at 3 other BnBs in the area. No others compared to the Grandview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimKonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were greeted with a hug from Leslie as she met us off the ferry.
The accommodation was lovely, very well equipped for all our needs, furnished beautifully and a lovely comfy bed.
The view is spectacular and stays with me (says Rich who has it on his cap)
The breakfasts were very good with lots of variety and her attention to us was appreciated as were the lifts to and from the ferry.
Thanks for a lovely stay Leslie ( I gave Harry a smooch from you, when you see BO give him one from me, lol Helen)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R00tsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

In my first visit to Alaska I was fortunate to have been directed to Leslie's B&B. Not only is the place comfortable and immaculately clean, it has the most amazing views. But the best is the hospitality that makes you feel at home. By the time that you've had a couple of Leslie's breakfasts, a three course meal that changes every day, you are convinced you are in the best place in town! Leslie has a real pride of place and is quick to fill you in what you need to know to get around. It was a pleasure staying there and I hope I can go back.
Susana Macarron

Room Tip: While theBear room has the view, I did not mind sleeping in the other rooms. The Common Room is all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The gorgeous view from the living room window, while drinking my morning coffee, was truly spectacular and could only be bested by the graciousness of our hosts Alan and Leslie. Leslie took great care of us and went well beyond what any other bed and breakfast has ever done for us. Leslie and Alan tried hard to accommodate our every need. Their efforts are greatly appreciated. We would highly recommend them to anyone. Rooms were immaculate, large and nicely decorated. Overall, a very nice facility. Our stay at Grand View was one of the high points making our trip to Wrangell unforgetable.

Room Tip: I liked all the rooms. Western room has the view. North room has an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markj639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdrey, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at Grand View twice now and love every minute of it! We felt very relaxed and comfortable while every detail was taken care of for us. Rides to and from the airport, great breakfasts, lots of hospitality, beautiful rooms, wonderful views. Our first visit we stayed for 10 days and enjoyed a delicious and different breakfast each day. Leslie was willing to get up early to make our breakfast so that we could make our adventures on time or have a late breakfast if we wanted to sleep in. I have never stayed anywhere any cleaner and more welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyM992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grand View Bed and Breakfast
Address: P.O. Box 927, Mile 1.9 Zimovia Highway, Wrangell, AK 99929-0927
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wrangell
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a fully equipped kitchen for the guests use as well as a Weber propane grill on the patio. There is a small wet bar area with a mini fridge as well as a large refridgerator in the kitchen. We have a laundry facility for guests use, an ice machine and we try our best to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand View Bed And Breakfast Wrangell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing