We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wrangell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Wrangell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I arrived exhausted from our flight from Orlando, but Leslie quickly had us in good repair. A beautiful view, a clean and cozy room, a hostess who offered tons of helpful information (sprinkled with humor), delicious breakfasts, and we were more than content. Having coffee on the patio overlooking the Zimovia Strait, watching the tide roll in and out, chatting, or just admiring the hummingbirds helped us feel more relaxed than we had in ages. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived in Wrangell a few days before a cruise out of Ketchikan, badly needing a place to relax after some hectic weeks at home. Grandview was perfect. Leslie picked us up at the airport, provided us with a short tour of the town on the way in, and we were led into a living room with four picture windows facing out onto the strait, with snow-capped mountains across the strait and off in the distance. Even better, our room (the Moose Room), just off the living room, had the same view. The house is newly remodeled and everything is sparkling clean. Flowers bloom all over in the yard and in planters. Wi-Fi is free and excellent and we had a plasma-screen TV in our room.

In addition to the expansive living room, guests can gather on the back porch to watch the eagles, the blue heron and the occasional deer that come by. Guests were frequently out on all-day excursions so it never felt crowded. There are also shelves full of books on the history and attractions in the area. An unusual but welcome feature is the well-equipped kitchen, which guests are free to use if they want to prepare lunch or dinner with their own food, or reheat restaurant leftovers.. We picked up supplies at City Market in town and did that several times. There are also coin-operated laundry facilities available for guests' use. Breakfasts were always wonderful and generous- selections during our stay included rhubarb cobbler from rhubarb she'd just picked, broccoli quiche and french toast.

Grandview is about a half-hour's walk from town- there are some interesting spots along the way and you get a good flavor of Wrangell, but you may want to bring a car or a bike if that much walking back and forth doesn’t appeal to you.

Leslie grew up in Wrangell and knows nearly everyone and everything. She delights in getting to know her guests and making sure they get to know Wrangell. One tour guide came to pick up a couple of guests; Leslie invited him in and they chatted before going off on the tour. When I told her what company we were using for our Stikine River tour, she called and arranged for them to pick us up rather than us having to meet them at the City Docks. A former governor and his family were on the tour with us. You guessed it- she knows them, too.

We highly recommend the Grand View- heck, I'd come back just to visit with Leslie again!

Room Tip: The Moose Room has a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Had a wonderful time staying with Leslie and Alan. They make you feel at home comfortable, but you don't have to do anything!! Leslies' breakfasts are to die for with her Sour dough pancakes!! The French toast is without rival. What a beautiful setting and a wonderful couple to carry a dream into the future. Keep up the good work.

Nancy

Room Tip: The Moose Room is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have stayed at other B&B's elsewhere and in Wrangell. This is hands down the best. The bedrooms are spacious. The common area is huge and has an unbelievable view. Many B&B's nowadays throw a couple stale rolls and some moldy fruit at you and call it a "continental breakfast". Here, Breakfast is cooked each morning and served hot and was delicious each morning. One morning it was an egg casserole with pancakes and sausage. The next morning was a quiche. Lots of sliced fresh fruit, juice, and coffee each morning. Kitchen if full sized and we cooked our own dinner two of the three nights we were there. We will stay here whenever we come to Wrangell.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the Moose Room has the view of the waterways and islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I can't say enough about how Leslie took care of us. Starting with the unbelievable weather she order up for us in April. Beautiful sunsets on the beach with a big fire going. Great walks into town which is about 20 minutes. The decor of this B & B is beautiful. Even the shower curtain was flannel on the outside. The breakfast was wonderful and plenty of it for a day of site seeing. Large kitchen for you to cook dinner or lunch. We stayed 3 days but we could of stayed a lot longer. The Grand View lives up to its name and so much more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George-and-Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in many B&Bs during our 3 month trip to Alaska so we know the difference between good, great, and wonderful. The Grandview has got to be one of the best B&Bs in Alaska.

We stayed there for 3 nights. Leslie was a fantastic hostess - friendly, a great cook, and a font of local knowledge. She was born and raised in Wrangell so if she does not know about it, it does not exist.

Our room was very large and comfortable with a large bathroom. The place has a comfortable common area with couches, artifacts, books, and lots of good stuff. The location is wonderful - the name Grandview tells it all. The large windows overlook the water and the sunsets are great to watch.

If you visit Wrangell and stay at any place other than the Grand View, you are making a major mistake.

Room Tip: Aks for the room that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Leslie was an amazing host, and the house itself is stunning. Massive windows provide big views of water and mountains from comfy reclining chairs. It is about 20 minutes walk into Wrangell, along the waterfront. Leslie cooked us big fresh breakfasts each morning, these were the best B&B breakfasts I think I've had! The rooms were spacious and very clean. Lots of space to barbecue or cook your own meals if you wish. Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 927, Mile 1.9 Zimovia Highway, Wrangell, AK 99929-0927
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wrangell
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a fully equipped kitchen for the guests use as well as a Weber propane grill on the patio. There is a small wet bar area with a mini fridge as well as a large refridgerator in the kitchen. We have a laundry facility for guests use, an ice machine and we try our best to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand View Bed And Breakfast Wrangell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing