We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay, most helpful host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wrangell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zimovia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Wrangell B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Barb, the owner was helpful on the phone, even before we arrived. We were to arrive by ferry at 5:15 a.m and she gave us the name of a restaurant that would be open at 5:30 a.m - plus gave us directions to other interesting places we could visit that morning. She made special arrangements to have our room ready as early as possible. When we arrived she was a wealth of information about the many in-town and wilderness activities and destinations. Her enthusiasm and her willingness to share useful information truly helped to make our 6 day stay in Wrangell an outstanding experience. The room was clean, comfortable, inviting, quiet and very private. The outdoor patio and surrounding gardens were lush, peaceful and beautiful. The food for breakfast was delicious and healthy. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this B&B to others.

Room Tip: We had a room with a private entrance that opened up to a lovely, secluded patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

Having spent a night here two years ago before a trip to the Anan Bay Cabin, it was my first choice again this time. Unfortunately, both of her B&B rooms were full. But she volunteered to put us up in a room in her house. We had a private bathroom and used her garage to sort out all our luggage (what to pack to the cabin, etc).

Thoroughly enjoyed the time here. Barb was incredibly accommodating, picked us up at the airport, drove us into town more than once, gave us a short tour of the town, etc. I could not have asked for more.

She prepared a nice continental breakfast for us in the morning, even though we wanted an early start to get various errands done (mostly shopping).

Not sure when I will be back in Wrangell, but this will be my first choice for lodging again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Our stay was wonderful!! Barb went out of her way to make this our best vacation ever. She even picked up some of our friends who weren't even staying there. The room was smaller than we are use to, but it just goes to show that size is not everything. We spent most of our time out except for lunch and dinner. She got up to drive us to the airport at 6:30am b/c the only taxi in town did not answer. The food was great and I was able to cook in our room for 4 people. We never ate out! The grocery store delivered right to our door. We plan another trip to Wrangall in the next five years, and as long as Zimovia is open, that is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WeLuvAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

The Zimovia B&B offers two beautifully appointed and very clean rooms on the ground floor of a fair-sized family house. Guests can also make use of the BBQ and nicely landscaped garden, as well as the garage in which to store their luggage. Both the Garnet and Aquarium room are tastefully done up and both come with TVs and glasswork made by the owner, Barb.
The rooms' kitchenettes are well equipped and the Garnet room even comes with a sauna (yet both are priced the same--at US$ 101 (fall 2008)--why, when the latter is obviously more in demand?). The other disadvantage with the Aquarium Room is that guests wishing to reach the other room, have to pass right outside your window, on a noisy, gravel path.
Barb is hospitable and will meet you at the airport (and probably show you around Wrangell too). Breakfast consists of freshly baked pastries supplemented with a generous assortment of juices, cereals and fruit.
The drawbacks include the location (up a steep gravel road on the edge of town) and the small size of the rooms/bathrooms. The fact that both rooms are linked by a wooden door also means that privacy isn't guaranteed. We were also disappointed on the second leg of our trip, when we agreed to change to the sauna-less room to accommodate long-term guests (who, not surprisingly, wanted the sauna), only to find that they weren't actually occupying the room on the night we were there and, then, to top it off, we were asked to check out early, even though we had been promised the possibility of staying late. In fairness, Barb did offer us her rooms upstairs, but we would have liked to take a shower and if we had known in advance, we would have stayed elsewhere (and will do so next time).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patripoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zimovia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zimovia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 319 Weber Street, PO Box 1424, Wrangell, AK 99929
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wrangell
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private entrances,kitchenettes,bathrooms. Free wireless access & satellite t.v. Continental breakfast with homemade pastries. Conveniently located 4 blocks from downtown & walking distance to everywhere. Located in a beautiful wooded & garden setting. Kids & pets welcome. $105/night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zimovia Bed & Breakfast Wrangell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing