We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Welcome”
Review of Stikine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wrangell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stikine Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Wrangell B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We arrived on the ferry at 10pm, & were warmly welcomed. Our room was comfortable & clean, with a lovely view over the harbour & to the snow topped mountains beyond. The staff were friendly & helpful & the restaurant served enormous meals of good quality. Happy with our stay, thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waznjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 69 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Stikine inn saved us with their last room at 3am when our B&B insisted we were not booked in so we found ourselves abandoned on the ferry wharf. Nice spacious room very comfortable beds and close to everything. Very friendly place and friendly town.

Room Tip: Request up stairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rggibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed two nights here and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the restaurant on premises. The Inn is centrally located and the restaurant faces the harbor. The menu is extensive and the quality of the dishes outstanding. The Inn itself is clean and well run. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seacliff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, choose a room with a view of the water as the view on the other side is not great. the restaurant has been expanded and now also has a coffee shop attached and is a very pleasant spot to watch the water. Room was comfortable but they didn't serve breakfast which was a bit of a negative. There are a couple of supermarkets in walking distance

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austrav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

From the ferry terminal it is about a 5 minute walk to the Stikine Inn (which is a large 2 storey building right on the waters edge) to be greated by friendly and helpful proprietors and staff. We chose an ocean view room which is more expensive than those across the corridor but worth it. Some of the rooms have a fridge. The Inn has a restaurant which serves basic but very good meals and these can be eaten inside or out on the sundeck which in the summer sunshine late into the night is a joy. Being on a restrictive diet we needed food not offered on the Inn's breakfast menu. There is a supermarket a short walk away which served the purpose.
We took 2 tours:- to Petersburg and Le Conte Glacier one day and the following day the Stikine River tour. Both are excellent but take your own lunch on the Stikine tour. Water only provided. There is time in Petersburg to buy lunch and see the town.
The local library has free internet.
Our ferry to Juneau didn't leave until 11.45pm and the Inn's proprietors were happy for us to wait in the Inn's lounge but we didn't need to because a southbound ferry (which have about an hour's turnaround) arrived and departed before ours was due to arrive so we waited at the ferry terminal waiting room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandpat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My first visit to Wrangell was on a cruise ship in the fall of 2004. My son and I walked the town for about 2 hours. I fell in love with this wonderful corner of small town Alaska. We stopped at the Stikine Inn and were frankly not impressed. Bill and Cheryl had not yet begun their renovation of the inn. When we arrived at Wrangell Airport we were greeted by Oggie, who drove the Inn's van. He was gracious, if a little quiet. We quickly came to love Oggie and found that he has a great sense of humor.
We had a friend from Fairbanks fly down and stay with us. We picked the Stik Inn, as the locals call it, because they had large rooms with 2 beds. Even though the room was very nice, I would have enjoyed the view of the harbor more than the view of the Post Office! But we were on a budget and spent plenty of time in the restaurant enjoying the wonderful food and the view.
We spent too much of Cheryl's time talking about innkeeping and the many projects that they had already completed around the inn. She is the most gracious hostess and we ended up swapping recipes before we left. I made their Halibut Pizza as a first course for a dinner party after we returned to Southern California. I received emails from all of our guests raving about that pizza. Kudos to Jake, the chef, who came up with a real winner with that dish.
We changed to a B&B for our final 3 nights, which we also enjoyed, but walked to the Stikine for dinner most nights. We can't wait to go back to see what Bill and Cheryl have done over the winter.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photolover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The staff was very polite and courteous with always a smile and energy. The Inn has their own van that can pick you up at the small airline terminal a short distance from downtown. The room was of good size and comfortable with a very nice bed. My room had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. Standard Tube TV 27" with a pretty good choice of cable channels to select from. With the exception of new carpet most of the other furnishing are outdated and worn, the bathroom needs a complete remodel and the locks on the door are of inexpensive type and need to be replaced. RM #52 had a beautiful view, but I did not get much of a chance to enjoy it since I was there on business. No complimentary "High Speed Internet" offered which is quickly becoming the standard in the industry.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wclaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stikine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stikine Inn

Address: 107 Front Street, PO Box 662, Wrangell, AK 99929
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wrangell
Price Range: $115 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stikine Inn in Wrangell Alaska is your one stop Alaskan Getaway.Easily accessible by a full sized Alaskan Air 737. Another option is the drive-aboard Alaska Marine Highway ferry system that sails from Bellingham, WA on a two day journey through the beautiful inside passage, or a more direct route via Prince Rupert, BC, Canada which takes you on a beautiful journey through British Columbia...See MoreGeneral InformationThe Stikine Inn is open year round, offering shuttle pickup from the airport and ferry terminal (weather permitting in the winter).-Waterfront and economical street side lodging including a large family suite with kitchenette, a water front short term executive suite with a kitchenette and a long term executive suite with a full kitchen.-Seasonal water front restaurant serving lunch and dinner, always offering fresh local Halibut in addition to Serving fresh local seafood when in season and the best burgers and steaks in Southeast Alaska. Choose from our lounge, our dining room or weather permitting, our water front patio.-Modern Lounge offering espresso and pastries in the morning, and a full bar after 10am. With cocktails designed by our resident mixologist, Alaskan Brewery Draft Selections including their "Rough Draft" series and seasonal beers. In addition to this, we have an extensive wine list that will meet all budgets.-Adjacent to the Wrangell City Dock, and Summer Float where all the action takes place including all departures for jet boat tours and charter fishing. The Stikine Inn's location is the most convenient in Wrangell!-Located 1-Block from the AMHS ferry dock, less than a mile from the Alaska Airlines Terminal and we'll pick you up from both with our courtesy van. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stikine Inn Wrangell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing