We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the otters on icebergs”

26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours in Whittier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC operates daily glacier and wildlife cruises from Whittier into Prince William Sound. We are located just 1.5 hours south of Anchorage. Our glacier cruises can easily be accessed by car, coach and rail service departing from Anchorage. **The 26 Glacier Cruise is our most popular choice! A journey into Prince William Sound is unforgettable. Explore the serenity of Esther Passage, view majestic alpine and tidewater glaciers in College and Harriman Fjord while traveling in luxurious comfort aboard the Klondike Express, the fastest catamaran in Alaska. The Glacier Quest Cruise is a great choice for families with children! Cruise into magnificent Blackstone Bay, home to seven glaciers and Yosemite-scale waterfalls. Watch for playful sea otters, harbor seals, kittiwakes, bears, whales or mountain goats. The Sunset Glacier Cruise is an evening cruise under the midnight sun! Sunset brings a different light to the glaciers of Blackstone Bay. Join us for evening cruise on board a high speed catamaran to explore the land of the midnight sun. June 16 - August 13, 2017 every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday with special departures June 21, July 3rd and 4th, Our cruises include a complimentary hot meal, reserved indoor seating, full-service bar and snacks for purchase, restroom equipped, and no seasickness guarantee. U.S. Forest Service rangers join us on the 26 Glacier Cruise and Glacier Quest Cruise to provide narration. Our Captain and crew provide the narration on our Sunset Glacier Cruise. Our cruises depart from 100 W Camp Road in Whittier, Alaska. **We are located 1.5 hours south of Anchorage. If driving, allow proper timing to enter the tunnel which operates on a schedule for one way traffic. The Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel is North Americas longest shared rail and vehicle tunnel providing access to Whittier on an alternating timed schedule. We recommend taking the 10:30 a.m. tunnel for the 26 Glacier Cruise, the 11:30 a.m. tunnel for the Glacier Quest Cruise and the 6:30 p.m . tunnel for the Sunset Glacier Cruise. More information is available for the Whittier Tunnel and the City of Whittier. **Upon Arrival in Whittier, drive one mile to the Cliffside Marina parking lot where you'll see our ticket office with a red roof and a big yellow triangle. Please be advised that tunnel and parking rates are set by the entities that operate these services and may change prior to next season. **If you are interested in booking one of our glacier and wildlife cruises, please call us or visit our website for online reservations. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Seward, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the otters on icebergs”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic tour, even in terrible weather. The boat has good visibility from all sides, is very comfortable, and moves twice the speed of other tour boats, which lets you see an amazing amount in five hours. The crew is clearly dedicated to doing the little things to make sure everyone has a good time. Bring binoculars, and get a margarita!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DannySeavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for joining us on the 26 Glacier Cruise. I'm glad you were able to enjoy a day in Prince William Sound and see some amazing sights in your own backyard. Hope to see you on board again next summer. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,257
    262
    48
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Prince William Sound - Unbelievable Beauty”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went into Whittier a day early before our Princess Cruise, and we were so glad we did. The 26 Glacier Cruise was the perfect way to end our land based adventures to Denali and Talkeetna. The first part of our glacier tour was rain and fog which was disappointing, but the weather improved so we were able to enjoy the incredible beauty of this unspoiled area of Alaska. The captain and crew worked hard to ensure that we enjoyed the tour. There are assigned seats so it is very important to get a 2nd level, window table overlooking the bow. Weather permitting; there are great open viewing areas on the 3rd level and on the bow. Plan your trip to enjoy the best that Alaska has to offer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeMNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and sharing some pictures of what you saw - even on a day with rain and fog present. We hope you had a great trip through Alaska and hope you'll send your friends and family up to visit us next summer. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Better than I'd expected”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from this cruise, as it had been a bit pricey, and you needed to divert to Whittier for it (which involves a lengthy drive from Anchorage and waiting for the tunnel to open). After doing this cruise, I am very happy I did it. I admit that to begin with I was a little bored as the weather was very overcast and rainy, and there was not much to see. But when we reached the glacier - wow! It was worth the cost involved. I never imagined that we would be so close to it, guaranteeing that you would have awesome photos. It wasn't just one glacier we saw either, it was several. And we even saw quite a lot of marine life too. The staff on the cruise were fantastic, whether it was the wait and bar staff, the people sailing the boat, or the lady who provided really interesting commentary. They were so caring and helpful. The only downside is the food which isn't exactly health conscious, but I imagine the staff are doing the best they can with the resources they have. I would certainly recommend this cruise if you would like to see glaciers up close and personal. We couldn't afford to do an Alaskan cruise on a cruise ship so we chose this as an alternative. I am glad we did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations! Our crew on board is terrific and we hear praise for them every day. The glaciers are so impressive and it certainly is amazing to view them so close from our catamarans that you can actually hear the ice as it moves and shifts before calving. Thanks again for sharing your comments and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery; glacier up CLOSE”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were blessed with good weather by Whittier standards (not pouring rain) and got up VERY close to several glaciers including Harriman. We saw the Stellar Sea Lion colony, a few otters here and there, a couple of eagles, seals on floating ice, and so many glaciers we lost count. The boat is large and rides very smooth. When it's moving along at nearly 40 MPH, it is very windy out on the decks but you get the best views from outside. Lunch was good and there's a bar on board for other snacks and beverages. The only downside was that they packed us in (assigned seats) -- 6 to a booth for the most part, until we had left the harbor and were allowed to move to any open seats. I imagine at peak season with no empty seats, you might feel like a sardine if you want to stay seated inside. So bring all the right attire to be outside most of the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Great picture of Barry Arm with Cascade, Barry and Coxe Glaciers! Thank you for sharing the photos and your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Klondike Express - Too Big!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked this tour based on their Glacier Quest tour to Blackstone Glacier which we did last year. Unfortunately, the Klondike Express is too large of a tour boat. With 300 passengers this requires center seats and tables were the choice are the tables along the windows. Seats were assigned. Other than that there were no complaints.

As we were to take our cruise following the tour they held our luggage and did not need to return to our parked car. Cruise ship and Phillips Cruises are adjacent with each other. We returned just as a train load of cruise ship passengers were arriving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We reserve seats based on the date guests book the cruise. Booths by the window seat 6 guests and booths in the center seat 4. Regardless of where the seating is assigned, our large picture windows allow all guests to get a panoramic view from any point inside the vessel. We also have plenty of outdoor viewing areas and our Captain does an excellent job pivoting the boat slowly so all guests get a chance to see everything along the way. Hope to see you again next summer. Both cruises will run May 1 - Sept 30.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours also viewed

 

Been to 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing