We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing tour - not to be missed!”

26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Whittier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC operates daily glacier and wildlife cruises from Whittier into Prince William Sound. We are located just 1.5 hours south of Anchorage. Our glacier cruises can easily be accessed by car, coach and rail service departing from Anchorage. **The 26 Glacier Cruise is our most popular choice! A journey into Prince William Sound is unforgettable. Explore the serenity of Esther Passage, view majestic alpine and tidewater glaciers in College and Harriman Fjord while traveling in luxurious comfort aboard the Klondike Express, the fastest catamaran in Alaska. The Glacier Quest Cruise is a great choice for families with children! Cruise into magnificent Blackstone Bay, home to seven glaciers and Yosemite-scale waterfalls. Watch for playful sea otters, harbor seals, kittiwakes, bears, whales or mountain goats. The Sunset Glacier Cruise is an evening cruise under the midnight sun! Sunset brings a different light to the glaciers of Blackstone Bay. Join us for evening cruise on board a high speed catamaran to explore the land of the midnight sun. June 16 - August 13, 2017 every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday with special departures June 21, July 3rd and 4th, Our cruises include a complimentary hot meal, reserved indoor seating, full-service bar and snacks for purchase, restroom equipped, and no seasickness guarantee. U.S. Forest Service rangers join us on the 26 Glacier Cruise and Glacier Quest Cruise to provide narration. Our Captain and crew provide the narration on our Sunset Glacier Cruise. Our cruises depart from 100 W Camp Road in Whittier, Alaska. **We are located 1.5 hours south of Anchorage. If driving, allow proper timing to enter the tunnel which operates on a schedule for one way traffic. The Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel is North Americas longest shared rail and vehicle tunnel providing access to Whittier on an alternating timed schedule. We recommend taking the 10:30 a.m. tunnel for the 26 Glacier Cruise, the 11:30 a.m. tunnel for the Glacier Quest Cruise and the 6:30 p.m . tunnel for the Sunset Glacier Cruise. More information is available for the Whittier Tunnel and the City of Whittier. **Upon Arrival in Whittier, drive one mile to the Cliffside Marina parking lot where you'll see our ticket office with a red roof and a big yellow triangle. Please be advised that tunnel and parking rates are set by the entities that operate these services and may change prior to next season. **If you are interested in booking one of our glacier and wildlife cruises, please call us or visit our website for online reservations. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Phillips Cruises & Tours, LLC
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
prov31girl
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing tour - not to be missed!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did this tour on our own as a day trip out of Anchorage. The boat is nice and well run, the food is passable and they have bar service as well. The Forest Service employee who narrates the trip is a plus. You need to keep in mind that this is a boating tour, over a vast area in a region that often has inclement weather. Thus, the tour - what you see and where you go - WILL be impacted by the current weather conditions. There is obviously nothing the tour operators can do about wind, waves, fog, rain, etc - all of those conditions are safety hazards and they need to avoid them for YOUR safety. So if you can't bear the idea that your tour may be altered by adverse weather conditions, than don't set yourself up for frustration and do something else. We happened to be blessed with an overcast but otherwise clear (no fog or drizzle) day and we got to see everything - often much closer up than they normally go. The tour was FABULOUS! If you would like to see pictures and have a more detailed idea of what you will see and do on this tour, please check out my blog - I am currently writing up our entire Alaska adventure: [--]

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank prov31girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Director of Sales at 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that you had a FABULOUS experience with Phillips Cruises & Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,187
    249
    46
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chestermere AB
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly perfect day - Amazing”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the train trip from Anchorage to Whittier and seeing the Whales and Eagles anlong the Turnagain Arm, to the beautiful vista on exiting the tunnels near Whittier, the day could not have been better. The 26 Glacier cruise was much more than we expected. All the Glaciers and the wild life were spectacular, Hearing the Glaciers calving and seeing the seals, sea otters, whales and eagles were all made even more enjoyable by the staff and crew of the Klondie Express and the folks of All Alaska Tours,

Well done well worth it. Thank You So Much
O&J Bereska Chestermere, AB

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Orv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip to Alaska”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This cruise is a MUST DO. It will take you closer to the glaciers than any large cruise ship will. You will be able to hear the glacier making noise! We did it back in 2006, someone just asked me about it which prompted me to review. Looks like I'm not the only one who thoroughly enjoyed this cruise. The train ride is also a very nice ad on! Enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JcamToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Alaska trip”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We Highly recommender this Cruise.
The modest price also includes a very nice meal.
The crew members so warm and helpful. They always tried very hard to give everyone a good chance to view the wildlife and the glaciers. It was a very misty day, we saw plenty of sea otters, sea lions and birds. We had a very close look at 2 humpback whales. Don't mention the stunning Glaciers, we stood outside cabin on the top deck, ignored it was drizzling, took thousands of (good quality) photos. We were not alone. I saw a lot of cameras in the rain on the deck.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank mcytang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What an amazing trip!! We caught the minibus from downtown Anchorage and managed to see Beluga Whales before even doing the boat trip! The boat itself was large and spacious. There were a lot of passengers but plenty of indoor/outdoor observation space so enough room to see and take pictures. The ‘free lunch’ was a bit meagre (so a packed lunch might be a good idea) but there were free hot drinks throughout the trip. Commentary was informative and interesting and they pointed out animals and scenic points of interest. We are very into bird-watching and this was one of the only trips we did where they pointed out species of birds which was great. The variety of wildlife we saw was stunning – humpback whales, Dall’s porpoise, black bear (on the shoreline), bald eagles, sea otters and seabirds. And then there was the scenery!! The glaciers were breathtaking and the different shaped icebergs added yet another exciting dimension. Seeing three enormous glaciers tumbling down into the water in the space of 180degrees was a huge highlight. A really great day out – would definitely recommend it and would love to do the trip again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours also viewed

 

Been to 26 Glacier Cruise by Phillips Cruises and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing