We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
$337
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trail Lake Lodge(Moose Pass)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
143
132
41
9
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
132
41
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprince william soundglacier cruiseplace to stayocean viewin house restaurantking bedjacuzzi tubgreat roomone night staycomfortable roomsfishing boatsno air conditioningbald eagleshalibutwhistleralaskatownhouse
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 340 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Todd (the owner) a real nice , helpful gentleman owns the only hotel in Whittier. A very off the trail town (one way tunnel 2 1/2 miles through a mountain shared by a train). Very clean and nicely done sleep/ eat business. Very comfortable rooms and very good food. There's about 187 people in town that all live in the same building (not his) . I suggest the 26 glacier boat ride also- total beauty.

Room Tip: suite is very large ( 2 floors) and comfortable !!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We stayed at the Inn at Whittier for 2 nights in Sept. Great location if you are on the train or meeting someone on a cruise ship. The Inn is clean and nice, but we expected more. There is no Fridge or Microwave in the room. The TV looks to be from 1995, meaning no HD. They only gave us 1 key for 2 people. The parking lot is a mess with big pot holes.The bed made a lot of noise. Other than those complaints the room was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edbishop55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Amazing hotel and perfect location. We made it to Whittier last week and also had been there 3 years back. I must say that I wish I had few more days at the hotel to relax. It has an amazing view and perfect location to be in harmony with nature. I could not have asked for better!!

Room Tip: Amazing hotel in a very small town in the heart of nature- Alaska
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweety0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Staying at the Inn at Whittier was better than I expected. We arrived on the train and our room wasn't yet ready so we decided to have lunch in the dining room. While we were eating Todd (manager) came in and said that our room was ready and that he had taken our luggage up to the room already. We did not expect that at all. The room was very comfortable. If you are staying here it is worth it to get an ocean view room. The bed was very comfortable and made for a good nights sleep. Angela in the dining room was very nice and always gave us good service. When we left to go over to the cruise terminal to board our Princess Cruise ship it was raining like crazy. Todd went the extra mile and took our luggage over to baggage drop off for us. He offered to drive us one at a time but we decided to brave the elements and walk the 5 minutes to the terminal.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view are the best
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grove911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

At 7:30 pm on the 20 August 2017, my wife and I drove through the Anton Anderson Memorial Tunnel and entered Whittier, Alaska! We had arrived for our 4-night at the Inn At Whittier! We had a great room on the third floor overlooking Passage Canal. The view was breathtaking! The room was clean and well maintained. Very spacious room with king bed, table w/chairs, sofa, and other furniture and still lots of room! Clean and nicely arranged bathroom with shower stall and jacuzzi tub! The staff were very friendly and helpful from the minute we checked in until we left. The bar and restaurant were beautifully finished with high ceilings and wood throughout and plenty of window seating to enjoy Passage Canal and boats entering and leaving the harbor! We had to great days fishing with Crazy Rays and a third day to enjoy Whittier, the museum, gift shops and a walk down the trail to shotgun cove! Great 4-nights and 3-days at The Inn At Whittier! Thank you!
Craig and Diane
Silt, Colorado

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank craigvardaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews